Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun novel
The rest of the reviews for this story seem to be for the CD reading, but my review is of the original book. Whilst the adventures of Paul and Steve have appeared for many decades, this is very definitely about the seventies incarnations of our heroes, specifically the Francis Matthews/Roz Drinkwater TV versions. Steve drives around in a Hillman Imp (just like the TV...
Published on 8 May 2009 by Bookmole

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Abridged too Far?
The character Paul Temple is a new one to me but he seems to have agppd pedigree since he first appeared on radio in 1938.
Paul Temple and his wife Steve were created by a fellow Hullensian (a native from Hull) Francis Durbridge born on 25th November 1912..

Its clear from the outset that this is an abridged reading by Anthony Head (of Buffy, Merlin and...
Published 22 months ago by Glenn Cook


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Abridged too Far?, 30 Nov 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Kelby Affair (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
The character Paul Temple is a new one to me but he seems to have agppd pedigree since he first appeared on radio in 1938.
Paul Temple and his wife Steve were created by a fellow Hullensian (a native from Hull) Francis Durbridge born on 25th November 1912..

Its clear from the outset that this is an abridged reading by Anthony Head (of Buffy, Merlin and Little Britain fame) but the BBC logo and past experience suggested that this would be a full cast radio drama but this is not the case.

The simple reason is the actual original 24 radio shows featuring Paul Temple have all been lost apart from just 10.
This is a shame because I really believe the drama and excitement has been lost when compared to a full cast drama.

So we are left with the reading by Anthony Head. He is a good narrator and reads well but I must admit when I listened to this abridged version I did get lost a couple of times.

Abridge(d) too far??
I wonder?

The story is of its time and the adjective gentle seems apt.
For a review of the actual story fellow reviewers have done a better job. The story has no excitement or the drama of say Dick Barton.

I played this 2 CD 2hour 15 set in the car for two one hour journeys and it passed the time well if not wonderfully.

I would seek out the ten remaining Paul Temple radio dramas should they exist but not the readings.

However if you are a fan of Anthony Head you will enjoy them a whole lot more than this listener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun novel, 8 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The rest of the reviews for this story seem to be for the CD reading, but my review is of the original book. Whilst the adventures of Paul and Steve have appeared for many decades, this is very definitely about the seventies incarnations of our heroes, specifically the Francis Matthews/Roz Drinkwater TV versions. Steve drives around in a Hillman Imp (just like the TV show) and works as a graphic designer/artist. The whole feel of the book is very much of its time (which is twenty years later than what most people feel is the classic 50s era).

Although it isn't a towering work of crime fiction, this is an enjoyable little detective story. It isn't terribly long,but it is pretty well told, with some nice flashes of acid wit. If you have an hour or so to spare, you might enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Temple & The Kelby Affair", 17 Aug 2010
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Kelby Affair (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
Stories from the old "steam radio" days - great memories of the pre-television era. Highly recommended if you like a good detective story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Temple, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Doreen G. Parker "cruk" (nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Kelby Affair (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
Talk about nostalgia - used to listen to these series on the radio. Love them, they are great, and already having a number of these from the same seller, and know they are good, willbe looking for more in the future - so will refrain from writing any more reviews on these. Thank you Doreen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Paul Temple, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Kelby Affair (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
Although this Cd did not disappoint and is very well read by Anthony Head, It was over too soon. Do wish I could have got the unabridged version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good story., 30 Sep 2013
By 
J. Chadwick "louella" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Kelby Affair (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
Durbridge is an exellent writer. Keeps the story flowing so you want to keep listening to see what happens next. What more could you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Temple, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Kelby Affair (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
Great deliver, I have just finished listen to this and found it as good as my other's, thank's so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Kelby Affair (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
5 stars as the item was exactly what I was expecting. It was well packaged and the arrival time was fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another gem for Paul Temple fans, 26 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Kelby Affair (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
I've only been introduced to the Paul Temple stories within the last 5 years by my father, who remembers the cinema's clearing when the original productions were broadcast on the radio in the 1950's. The reading by Anthony Head is superb and the story aimiable if not the most complicated of Temple stories. If you're a fan of Paul and Steve, you'll love it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paul Temple, 13 Mar 2007
By 
M. G. Hatfield "trekle5" (North Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Kelby Affair (BBC Audiobooks) (Audio CD)
This Paul Temple case see Temple back in Britain and the whole story rotates round a diary which one of Paul friends wants to publish the story isn't the best but fans will enjoy and people new to the series may find it off putting I think if these stories are to be released they should be dramatised I will say this Temple story isn't great again but if you are collecting this is your next buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paul Temple and the Kelby Affair (BBC Audiobooks)
Paul Temple and the Kelby Affair (BBC Audiobooks) by Francis Durbridge (Audio CD - 5 Feb 2007)
Used & New from: £1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews