Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book
I so wish James Patterson would write more of these books. I loved Sunday's at Tiffany's, Sam's Letters to Jennifer and Sam's diary for Nicholas and this was just as good.
This is about a mother/grandmother who lost her husband to a heart attack the previous year and gets three wedding proposals (chance would be a fine thing). She decides to get married on...
Published on 19 Oct. 2011 by Paula Woods

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I'm afraid this book did not live up to expectations. Having read numerous James Patterson thrillers, I was hugely anticipating something exciting to occur throughout the novel, and kinda realised when I'd read three quarters of the book that the chances of this were getting slimmer and slimmer. The bride -Gaby is re-marrying following the death of her husband three years...
Published on 12 Jan. 2012 by educate_yourself


‹ Previous | 17 8 912 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Family story, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not really my cup of tea but it wasn't bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as usual it's great. Not had a bad one yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great Read, 25 July 2014
This review is from: The Christmas Wedding (Paperback)
This is a lovely book. Really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different., 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fun and unusual take on a wedding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant best of James Patterson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little light fun at Christmastime, 30 Dec. 2011
By 
H. Eaton "Helena Eaton" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Christmas Wedding (Hardcover)
This is no great literary work. It's a fun, light, hope-filled page-turner. Yes, the characters are 2-dimensional, there is no real depth to the story, but if you can leave your cynical self to oneside for a couple of hours, you will enjoy this book.

It's about a widowed lady who has received 3 proposals of marriage - from 3 very close friends. She contacts all her grown-up children instructing them to come home for Christmas Eve when she will be married. No one - not even the groom - will know the identity of the successful suitor until just before the wedding.

So it's not a great premise, but the story is very well told and the pages really do turn themselves. Reading this book over the festive season really did add to my Christmas spirit so I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jingle (Wedding) Bells, 12 Dec. 2011
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Christmas Wedding (Hardcover)
It's been 3 years since the death of Gaby's husband and 3 years since the whole of the family were together, so this Christmas she decides to get married - only no one except her knows who the groom is going to be (not even the grooms themselves).

It's a fairly farfetched story when it comes to three men agreeing and playing along to Gaby's idea where she'll choose her husband at the actual wedding (who would ever go along with this really!?) but it is a Christmas story at the end of the day and is one that warms the heart on these cold nights and provides a good feeling of family love at the holiday season.

It's not the best Christmas book ever but is far from the worst too. The writing style is the same as Patterson's dozens of thriller novels, with short chapters and is extremely easy to read - I finished this is just two short sittings. The side stories from Gaby's grown up children and partners are actually more entertaining and interesting than the wedding story I thought but when you put them all together it makes a pretty decent read.

Worth picking up if you've got a spare afternoon to relax and want to get into the Christmas spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice easy read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 912 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Christmas Wedding
The Christmas Wedding by James Patterson (Hardcover - 24 Nov. 2011)
£12.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews