Customer Reviews


186 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As always a great read from James Patterson
I have yet to find a James Patterson book that is not worth a five star raiting. His works always hold your attention and provide the reader with a stimulating read.
Published 19 months ago by john muir

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I WAS NOT EXPECTING HALF A STORY
Decent enough story but very disappointed to find the story was only half told.It really is not acceptable that we have to buy 2 books to get the full story. James Patterson books are not what they were, and now it appears they are milking it for maximum profit.
Published 23 months ago by manx


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I WAS NOT EXPECTING HALF A STORY, 10 Aug 2012
This review is from: I, Michael Bennett: (Michael Bennett 5) (Hardcover)
Decent enough story but very disappointed to find the story was only half told.It really is not acceptable that we have to buy 2 books to get the full story. James Patterson books are not what they were, and now it appears they are milking it for maximum profit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cheated, 29 Jan 2013
this is the first james patterson that i have read for some time,i stopped reading his books because although his books make good reading the print is large,the chapters come along at regular intervals leading to a lot of blank pages and so the books do not take long to read, and as it turns out this book is very much the same,but the ending left me feeling cheated and very much annoyed, i have no intentions of buying another book to find out what happens,
plus i had read enough about michael bennets annoying large family of children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I, Micheal Bennett, 9 Jan 2013
I have read many James Patterson books. The way the story ended was not acceptable and found the book to be a waste of money. I actually rang the publishers to complain. Stupidly, I will buy the next book (if there is one) to complete the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some folks must be easily pleased...., 29 Dec 2012
This review is from: I, Michael Bennett (Paperback)
"I, Michael Bennett". Complete waste of money. Poor plot. NO ending to the story, - author thinks readers are daft, or maybe he's just too lazy to provide a proper ending? Then again, maybe he's thinking of the money he will make for a sequel? Not from me, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing !!, 10 Feb 2013
Until recently I have been a big fan of James Patterson and have read most of his books.

I have always thought that the books he "co-authors" are not as good as the ones written solo. Not sure why he does this..must be a contractural / money thing ?.

I was very disappointed with this book. A sudden ending with a general "to be continued" theme. the story is not complete !!. Obviously a marketing ploy (money & greed) to keep you in suspense until he gets around to writing another book. Hope he can remember where he left off when he finally gets around to writing it!....bit like a soap on TV, and wait until next week ?. Not for me, I expect a book to finish and the story at the end, and not "to be continued" at a later date. or when he gets round to it. Disappointing !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as previous Bennett books, 8 Dec 2012
By 
alex harvie (Munich, Germany Germany) - See all my reviews
I am a James Patterson fan but this book is a bit disappointing. It is if it is not even written by him. Did Michael Ledwidge have more of a say? Basically it is just not as good as previous Bennett books and to only tell half the story, leaves you feeling totally cheated. The plot really does not hang together well and some parts are just too far fetched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As always a great read from James Patterson, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have yet to find a James Patterson book that is not worth a five star raiting. His works always hold your attention and provide the reader with a stimulating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
can't wait for the next one, gripped me all the way through. James Patterson always a good read and will keep on reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Routine Patterson, 7 Jun 2012
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I, Michael Bennett: (Michael Bennett 5) (Hardcover)
The story revolves around widowed Detective Inspector Michael Bennett with 20 years police experience originally with the 'drug-riddled' Manhattan culture. He has ten children aged between 7 an 16 years of age, mostly adopted. Six girls and four boys, a mix of Spanish, Asian, Black and White, supervised by a fellow devoted nanny Mary Catherine of similar Irish origin.

The target of his investigation is a ruthless killer and billionaire who was the most notorious and violent drug kingpin in the Mexican cartel system, Manuel 'the Sun King' Perrine. With the aid of his schoolfriend and now partner, Hughie McDonough, the meticulously planned arrest of Perrine is with informants' help that he is returning to New York City. Things go wrong. Hughie is assassinated by Perrine's mistress, Marietta. Bennett is set on nailing Perrine who is eventually apprehended.

Perrine is in prison awaiting trial but with threats and bribes continues to operate and control. There follows a series of events that threaten Bennett's family and associates. Court room murders with hired assassins, witness manipulation and withdrawal under threat, police corruption and attempts on Bennett's family through rival drug gangs (some of his children are shot) directed by Perrine himself add to the narrative. Bennett has a cabin in Newburgh 60 miles north of NY city near Orange Lake where his family camp out but are still under threat. Perrine is not finished. Events lead to his escape that stretch the imagination, but add to the story. His extermination of people who have 'crossed' him run through the novel.

The ending is awaited with interest but not totally unexpected. A cliff-hanger, however leads to a 'what happens next' and clearly points to a sequel. I found suspense and interest in the book but not many twists or guess work to do. Patterson's stamp is there but as always with co-authors the reader is never sure of who writes what.
Maintains interest throughout, however. Await follow-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Story not finished, 12 Aug 2013
I was very very disappointed to find the story not finished,I had no idea when I bought this book and do not even know where to find ending?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I, Michael Bennett: (Michael Bennett 5)
I, Michael Bennett: (Michael Bennett 5) by James Patterson (Hardcover - 7 Jun 2012)
7.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews