Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History imaginatively brought to life
A much bigger book than expected but covering a complex time period in the beginning of the Mesopotamian civilisation. This book needs to be read in sequence following the others by Sam Barone, "Dawn of Empire" and "Empire Riring", two much shorter books. All are excellent reads, the first two perhaps being more exiting, contaning more smaller conflicts, than the this...
Published on 19 Feb. 2010 by A Dawson

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars double dip
Why sue a different title as it is conflict of interest. for unsuspecitng customer you pay twice. Not nice.
Published on 8 Sept. 2010 by johnt


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History imaginatively brought to life, 19 Feb. 2010
By 
A Dawson (Notts, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conflict of Empires (Eskkar Saga) (Paperback)
A much bigger book than expected but covering a complex time period in the beginning of the Mesopotamian civilisation. This book needs to be read in sequence following the others by Sam Barone, "Dawn of Empire" and "Empire Riring", two much shorter books. All are excellent reads, the first two perhaps being more exiting, contaning more smaller conflicts, than the this third one. "Conflict of Empires" explains in much more detail how mining, sailing the Tigris, intelligence gathering, and preparations for war were accomplished, and gives a good insight into the ingenuity of these Bronze Age people.
The last third of the book, when war actually starts, moves at a fast pace and makes the book difficult to put down. If you like sword, spear, and bow warfare you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conflict of Empires, 16 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conflict of Empires (Eskkar Saga) (Paperback)
What a brilliant book. fast paced, never boring, full of little snippets of information, the lead up to the final battle scene is intense and enjoyable because it creates the background to the story.

If you like Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden, Wilber Smith, Clive Cussler you will love these books. if you havent read any of them yet get all three at one go and prepare yourself for reading them by doing all the housework and switching off the phones, lay in a supply of food 'coz you aint gonna wanna move from the chair

If you had read the first two in the series, then this one will be the cream on the cake, buy buy buy yo will not be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Also known as Conquest of Empire, 19 April 2011
Great book, but unfortunately already had it under another name...Sam Barone's Quest for Honour also has the title of Conquest of Empire. I found this out when I opened the first page and discovered a very familiar map.
This cover is different, the blurb on the back is different, but the contents are the same.

So if you have Conquest of Empire don't but this!!!

If you haven't got Conquest... brilliant book...you should buy it.

This is the third book in the series, but each of his books stands well alone. Each with a good plot, engaging characters and lifelike scenarios...you can believe you are there amongst the characters, with human heros, ordinary folk and believable villians. Set in ancient times when the first civilisations were emerging and slowly setting up the requirements for easy, safe and innovative lives. Furthering their defences from marauders or invaders and even pre-emptive strikes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great installment - Could not put it down, 19 April 2010
By 
chuckles "barnie884" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Conflict of Empires (Eskkar Saga) (Paperback)
Well, I was waiting not very patiently for the 3rd instalment of Eskkar and Trella, so as soon as it arrived I jumped straight it...... finishing in about 1 week.
Akkad has now grown into it's own mini Empire, and as history dictates, someone else will be envious of your achievements and want to expand their own horizons.... in this case it is the larger empire of Sumer to the South.
With war inevitable, this is the story of 2 empires building for a huge clash, the winner of which will control the region.... can our plucky heroes pull off another unlikely victory, or is the dream over?
With a superb readable style, fast flowing style, Sam Barone hits the nail on the head with this historical fiction novel and is up there with Iggulden and Cornwell. Set well before the Romans, this is a story of a primitive culture learning and becoming the societies and cities we all know so well.
My only criticism is probably again the balance between the sex scenes and battle scenes.... sometimes it seems that he spends more time and detail on these than the battle scenes.... maybe I am used to the detail of the battles like Cornwell, but this is only a tiny criticism - overall 5 out of 5.... shame I will need to wait another 6 months+ for the next instalment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just bought it, great follow up!, 5 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Conflict of Empires (Eskkar Saga) (Paperback)
Both of Sam Barone's previous books are fun to read, historical fiction. This one doesn't disappoint. They take place before there was much recorded history so who knows if they are historically accurate? But, based on what historians and anthropologists do think they know, it is a very believable story.

Lots of action and political intrigue as the main characters exhibit wisdom and leadership skills that would be wholly appropriate today. In fact, I'm certain we would all be better off if these folks ran our government instead of the jokers we've elected.

If you are one of those people that hates to wait 2 years for the next Wilbur Smith book, pick up one or both of these books in the mean time. I'm not saying that Barone is as famous and widely read as Smith yet, but if you liked Sunbird or any of the Taita / River God / Quest series, you'll definitely enjoy these books. They take place in roughly the same time frame and across the desert from Egypt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Action Pack Story, 3 Jun. 2010
By 
I. Langton "Book Kilburn" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Conflict of Empires (Eskkar Saga) (Paperback)
Another great story from this author i was looking for a book to take on holiday with me and i was very glad i picked this one. This was a good follow up to the two previous books in this series i hope there will be more.

Historical fiction at its very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three in a row, 30 Aug. 2010
By 
P. Brooks "Peter Brooks" (Manchester, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conflict of Empires (Eskkar Saga) (Paperback)
The Third Instalment of Mr Barone's epic set in the Cradle of Civilisation in what is now present day Iraq, it's refreshing in its detail of how Eskar and Trella ready Akkad for the feared conflict with Sumeria - some may find the detail boring or ponderous, but "boring" things like logistics tend to be the things that mean the difference between life and death. Looking forward to number four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Barone - an outstanding story teller, 22 Nov. 2010
By 
Roger "Cruisin-Geezer" (SWINDON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I came to 'Conflict of Empires' after reading the two excellent prequels - I was not disappointed. This third in the series builds on the thrilling foundations of the previous two novels, which I agree should be read first in order to give a full continuity of the context and characters. I'm not sure that 'Conflict of Empires' or the revised 'Quest for Honour' are the most accurately descriptive of titles - perhaps 'Quest for Survival' would be nearer the crux of the story. However, this is knit-picking! I'm not one for dishing out 5 stars that easily, but this is my certain judgement of Barone's first three books in the Eskkar Saga. He paints a clear and believable picture of on era on the edge of pre-history and develops a three-dimensional understanding, not only of the central characters, but of a multitude of the supporting cast as well. I feel as though I know them all quite intimately.

Of course, with little known of the true development of the earliest bronze age civilisations, the author gives himself plenty of scope for applying his imagination without inviting too much historical critique, but he does so with integrity in building such plausible and admirable people and story line. I hope we can look forward to many more adventures for Eskkar, Trilla, their family and comrades. Already Barone has established a saga as compelling as those built by O'Brien, Cornwell, Stockwin, Scarrow and Iggulden. I can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 6 April 2010
This review is from: Conflict of Empires (Eskkar Saga) (Paperback)
I have read an awful lot of historical fiction over recent years - Cornwell, Iggulden, Scarrow and many more of varying standard, but Sam Barone's three Empire novels are undoubtedly up there with the best of them for me. I have no idea whether they are historically accurate or not (although judging by the author's note at the end, the nit-picking on historical details by some reviewers have clearly got to him). What the books, and this one in particular, are are thoroughly entertaining reads. Barone avoids the temptation to provide an all action adventure at the expense of credible story-telling and instead changes tempo regularly. Leading up to the big battles, several chapters are devoted to the comings and goings of relatively minor characters - spies, traders, miners and craftsmen as well as soldiers - and in a lesser writer this may have become quite tedious, but with Barone, the book never ceases to be a page turner. Perhaps the contrast between the good guys and the bad guys is too black and white (by making out the Sumerian leaders to be land hungry, incestuous patricides he removes most of the moral ambiguity from Eskaar's actions), but I'm not particularly bothered about that - this is a rip roaring historical novel, and fully deserving of full marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 3 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Conflict of Empires (Eskkar Saga) (Paperback)
This and the two earlier books in the series are ripping good yarns, the story moves along at a pace and the books are very hard to put down any fan of Iggulden Scarrow or even Gemmell likes the story to flow and these do. Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conflict of Empires (Eskkar Saga)
Conflict of Empires (Eskkar Saga) by Sam Barone (Paperback - 4 Feb. 2010)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews