Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
196
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 2 April 2009
When I got to the end of `8th Confession' I thought to myself - what was the point? From start to finish pretty much nothing happens - Lindsey Boxer and Richie Conklin, with the help of Claire, are on the case where rich figures from San Francisco are being murdered by snake bites while at the same time they are juggling another case which has been brought about by demanding Cindy, where a homeless man who is thought of as a saint in the area has been viciously killed. Yuki is also in the courtroom trying to convict a teenage rich girl who has bludgeoned her father to death and left her mother in an extremely bad state, whilst out of the courtroom she is falling in love with the man of her dreams. It sounds like there is a lot of stuff going on, but there isn't.

Both of Boxer and Conklin's case are wrapped up really easily and how they didn't spot who the killer was earlier is beyond me, as is Yuki's case which falls flat with a effortless conclusion halfway through, obviously just leading it to the love interest which actually could have happened without the whole court case anyway. None of the characters evolve at all, they just become more annoying than ever (especially Cindy and surprisingly Jacobi who I actually used to like in the previous books). Lindsey and Conkiln's forbidden love is equally as irritating and unnecessary as ever.

It's such a shame that this is so poor as after the appalling 6th Target, 7th Heaven bought the series back up to scratch, being possibly the best of them all, but this has again bought the series back down again as this is just a real waste of time. I'm not sure whether this is because of the high number of books that James Patterson has supposedly written each year (it's becoming about one a month recently) and it is affecting the quality as he is running out of ideas (as you'd expect) or what, but overall this book is just completely pointless and although it is an easy enough and fairly enjoyable read, it really wouldn't matter at all if you missed this one, even if you are a massive fan of the series. I'd buy Patterson's excellent Run For Your Life instead.
11 comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2009
The Woman's Murder Club series has had it's ups and downs. Different people will differ in opinions on which are the bad though. For me, 4th Of July was the worst but I've really enjoyed the past three books. I had been really looking forward to this one but it didn't live up to expectations. The plot about the 'saint' homeless man was dull and the rich and famous people being killed wasn't much better.

This book also finally sees Lindsay Boxer choosing between the men in her, boyfriend Joe and partner Richie Conklin. I'm not going to give away what happened though. It was something that needed to be resolved but I don't think the way it was done was really the best way. Or even a particularly good way. Not many of the personal relationships in this book follow the past few books very well at all.

The storyline with Yuki and her new man is good, with a surprising twist near the end which leaves lots of open threads for the next book. Claire is hardly seen at all. There are a few short scenes with her working with Lindsay, but when with the girls, she's just there, she doesn't say much and there isn't much shown between Lindsay and Claire which, with everything going on in Lindsay's personal life, doesn't make much sense. Claire has always been the person Lindsay goes too, but apparently not now. I've never really liked Cindy, she's annoyed me and is worse than ever in this book, and there is a lot of her too. Richie Conklin is another matter. His character seems to have switched from the nice guy he is, to someone totally different and willing to screw his partner over, again something that doesn't come close to fitting with previous books.

I fully admit to being obsessive about books and their characters and yes I realise that people change and everything. But the changes aren't done well here. There is no quality to this book. There are phrases used by the characters that they've never used in 7 books, and they don't come out well now. This the whole book feels, for lack of a better word, wrong. It seems more like a book that was written because it had to be rather than because they had a good idea for it. It feels kind of like it's too young for what it is. Even half the descriptions of the main characters are written with language not used before, and again, it doesn't fit.

I think what happened here was a result of quantity = quality. Mr. Patterson churns out books at a great rate and even with other writers involved, this must cost on quality, and that is exactly what happened here. Hopefully the next one will be better, but I won't be looking for it with any expectations.
33 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 March 2009
James Petterson has been writing a series of books which are part of the 'Womens Murder Club' series.They involve four women who have all featured heavily in previous books. They are Lindsay, Cindy, Yuki and Claire.

The story for the 8th Confession focuses on two main threads. The first is a murder of a "saintly" homeless man and Cindy who is a journalist finds her senses telling her to keep on at this, and she is convinced there is a story there. The other thread features the serial murders of the rich society movers and shakers in the strangest manner. It appears they have all been killed by a snake bite. Lindsay and her partner Rich Conklin need to investigate the murders to find who is behind these strange killings. Yuki meanwhile is juggling her job as an attorney and falling for what she thinks is the man of her dreams.

I read this book just as quickly as other James Patterson books and found the pace pretty good but think that is down to the writing style as opposed to anything else. HoweverI have to say I still felt thatit was still a dissapointment. The plot just didn't seem to be there. It seemed to lack any substance and the four main characters that have featured in this series seem to have all changed personalities. What I loved about this series of books is that with each book you read you learn a little more about each of them. With this book, not only was the storyline lacking but so were the characters of the four women that us fans have come to know and love.

Usually the girls are brought together and fight together. This time round, you get glimpses of them all and only Lindsay and Cindy really stands out as being part of the plot line. Yuki and Claire barely get a mention. I am beginning to wonder if James Patterson has lost his touch with this series or if he is churning them out far too quickly?
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2010
Could not fault this book. Please dont beleive all this bad review on this. Why they have to dis this book i cant understand? an absolutely amazing book, i couldnt put it down i read it from cover to cover in one night. truely brilliant Cant wait for the next one.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
An explosive start to this one when a school bus rips the heart out of the city centre. Are there terrorists at work in the city?
Tenacious Cindy gets involved in a human interest story when a street vagrant is brutally killed and the City does not seem to care. At the other end of the social food chain Lindsay and Conklin are ordered to drop their other cases and focus on the unexplained deaths of high profile people. Even the brilliant Claire is struggling to find a cause of death and what if anything have the recent spate of deaths have to do with previous high profile cases in the 1980's. Tensions are running high and Lindsay and Cindy's relationship becomes strained on a professional and personal level. Lindsay remains conflicted about her emotions towards the two significant men in her life and finally realises she must make a decision one way or another. There are winners and losers in love so who finds it and who loses it only time will tell. I love the way Mr Patterson and Co writer mix high octane crime chasing with the characters personal lives. There's realism in his books and I'm loving reading this series in order it's a great long playing series. Read, Enjoy, Can't wait to see what happens next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 7 October 2014
I was not expecting much from this story - recent Patterson offerings have tended to be rather unmemorable at best. Indeed it starts out rather weakly I thought, the redeeming feature being that chapters are short which is one of this author's trademarks, and the large typeface mean that despite the high page count, this is actually quite a short book.

This tale revolves around two cases. A street dweller has been killed and, at first sight it appears he is something of a saint. At the same time someone is doing away with rich socialites, although it is not clear how they are being killed. As a bit of romantic side interest various relationships are shaping up.

I read through this within a few hours and ultimately enjoyed it rather more than I had initially expected. It does get better as it progresses. To be sure it is not the sort of book where you are going to remember the plot a few months down the line, but as a light holiday read it works. Incidentally this is co authored, as are many of Patterson's books. Although, naturally, he gets top billing I strongly suspect that the co-author did most of the work as, in particular, I thought the handling of the relationships had a woman's touch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
Another easy to read book in the Women's Murder Club series.
It's interesting but, to be honest, it's much like the others in the series.
I bought the Kindle version - cheap, therefore I was very happy with my purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2009
How on earth did this book end up in print? I would have to rate as one of the worst reads I have ever come across. Characters are weak, plot completely unbelieveable, dialogue cliched, a generally poor read.

The only good thing about it was finishing and I only did that because I had nothing else to read...
44 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
Clever idea for a series with career women doing the detecting. Think the series is dwindling just a little but this story, in Patterson's indomitable style, was good enough to keep me page-turning throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
I absolutely love James Patterson. His books are awesome. Once a start reading one of his books I literally finish it in 2-3 days as I can't put it down. I would recommend him to everyone who loves to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.