Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent cross-over and a fantastic thriller
GENESIS by Karin Slaughter is a cross-over of her two series - the first being her most known Grant County series starring Sara Linton, the other being the more recent series featuring Will Trent and Faith Mitchell. The story is based in Atlanta where Sara has moved to since the death of her husband three and a half years ago. Women have been kidnapped and brutally...
Published on 15 July 2009 by Dr Evil

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonably good thriller
A woman runs out of the woods and is knocked down by a passing car. When the cars occupants get out of the vehicle to help the woman, they discover that she has a lot more injuries, than from being hit by the car. Georgia Bureau of Investigation agent, Will Trent arrives at the scene, and he uncovers a man made chamber in the woods, were the woman hed been held captive...
Published on 1 April 2010 by J.Flood


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent cross-over and a fantastic thriller, 15 July 2009
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
GENESIS by Karin Slaughter is a cross-over of her two series - the first being her most known Grant County series starring Sara Linton, the other being the more recent series featuring Will Trent and Faith Mitchell. The story is based in Atlanta where Sara has moved to since the death of her husband three and a half years ago. Women have been kidnapped and brutally tortured before being found either in critical condition or dead. Will and Faith are on the case with the help of Sara to find one of the most vicious and sadistic serial killers that they have ever came across. Two women have been found so far but two more that they know of are now missing so it is a race against time to find them.

If you're a fan of either or both of Slaughter's series (like myself) then there is no doubt at all that you are going to love this book. It is more focussed on Will and Faith than Sara (she isn't in it as much as in the Grant County books) so if you are familiar with TRIPTYCH and FRACTURED it helps but is not essential. The relationship between Will and Faith feels very natural and realistic with regards to how they speak and act around one another, however their relationship with Sara does feel a little forced at times. The case is very graphic and can be quite dark and disturbing for the most part (think in the style of SILENCE OF THE LAMBS). There's quite a few suspects that could be the killer so it will keep you guessing and changing your mind the whole way through. It also gives us small chapters now and again from the perspective of the victims which tells us their fears and emotional trauma that they are going through, which just adds to the disturbing content. As well as the shocking case that the characters are all dealing with, it also touches on a lot of other matters such as Sara's grief for Jeffery (which is quite heartbreaking at times), Will's dyslexia and Faith's pregnancy and newly discovered diabetes.

Overall this is a very enjoyable novel - one of Slaughter's best I may add - and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for an exciting and thought-provoking thriller. It's not essential to have read Slaughter's previous books (in both series) but does help and definitely makes you feel more for the main characters if you are familiar with them. I look forward to where she goes with her series now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonably good thriller, 1 April 2010
By 
J.Flood (Dublin,Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Genesis (Paperback)
A woman runs out of the woods and is knocked down by a passing car. When the cars occupants get out of the vehicle to help the woman, they discover that she has a lot more injuries, than from being hit by the car. Georgia Bureau of Investigation agent, Will Trent arrives at the scene, and he uncovers a man made chamber in the woods, were the woman hed been held captive. It appears, she is not the only person to have been kept in the chamber.

I thought this novel got off to a great start, and was riveting for the first 100 pages or so, as the scene is set. However, like it's predecessor, Fractured, I thought the pace of the story slowed down considerably in the middle part of the book, as Will and his partner Faith piece together their case, with the help of Dr. Sara Linton, (who readers may be familiar with from the 'Grant County' series of novels by this author).

The story does pick up though, towards the end and I thought it was a fairly good book, but very gruesome in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crazy, unbelievable detectives., 2 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Genesis (Georgia) (Paperback)
Most writers give their detectives a quirk, to make them memorable or seem a bit interesting. This book teams a pair of early middle aged detectives, neither of whom would normally even get a decent job in law enforcement, let alone the State Bureau of Investigation.

First - the male detective. He is unnaturally tall, wears a three piece suit and drives a Porsche. He is virtually illiterate and is dyslexic. He cannot tell his left from his right and cannot understand directions. He is an orphan who married a girl from his orphanage. She turns up once every six months for a day of torrid sex before disappearing again. He has a mobile phone that is falling to pieces. It's held together by duct tape and bits of wire. He is almost colour blind and has to set his screens to strange colour combinations so that he has more of a chance of deciphering messages. But as a good point, he is strong and very brave.

The female detective was a teenage mother who is suffering from an insulin deficiency that causes her to faint, go crazy, lose control and be unable to think clearly. She is also pregnant and has brief affairs with very unsuitable partners. Being diabetic you would think she would always have a handy supply of insulin with her. Not so! With their confused private lives, it is unthinkable that this pair of detectives could catch the very clever serial killer who abducts and tortures women victims. They stumble upon the solution in the end, rather than deduce the culprit.

Now this is a cracking read - an enjoyable book. You just have to seriously suspend reality to believe this pair of detectives could find the thief of a library book, let alone the brilliant serial abductor of women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must read' for all Karen Slaughter fans!, 6 May 2010
By 
E. Heckingbottom "elaineheck143" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Genesis (Georgia) (Paperback)
Set 3 years after the death of Jeffrey Tolliver and soon after the end of `Fractured', this intriguing book finally brings together the characters that have appeared in Karin Slaughter's other books; making it a `must read' for all her fans!

A naked woman runs into the road in front of a car, and it soon becomes clear that she has been the victim of a twisted and violent person. She has been tortured in ways that are unimaginable. She is rushed to Atlanta's Grady hospital, where she is treated by Sara Linton - only recovering consciousness for long enough to reveal her name - Anna.

Coincidentally, Sara has just finished treating Special Agent Faith Mitchell (`Triptych' and `Fractured'), who was brought in by her partner, Will Trent after fainting. Will quickly responds to the situation and sets off to find out what has happened. Before long, he stumbles on a torture chamber underground and with it comes the realisation that she was not alone. There was another victim too!
There is plenty of evidence that these women were prey to a sick, sadistic killer and, when two other women go missing, it is clear that they don't have long to solve the crime. Faith and Will work hard to solve the mystery, and Sara joins, providing invaluable information in many places.

Twists and turns finally lead us to the murderer - and a huge surprise.

An enjoyable book that brings the key characters from her other books together for the first time, this book is well worth adding to your holiday reading pile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in favour, 7 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
I have purchased and read every book that Karin Slaughter has written She started off just great but after the first few books I was feeling 'let down' and had decided not to buy any more of her books as I felt they were becoming just like any other Amazon offered Genesis at a special discounted price so I half heartedly decided to give the author one more try I am so pleased that I did I enjoyed this book much more than the ones that preceded it though I do not think she will ever be able to recapture the originality of the first few
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slaughter virgin enjoyed this gruesome thriller with personality, 1 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
Unlike other reviewers I hadn't read previous Karin Slaughter books (although I definitely will from now), and didn't feel disadvantaged at meeting the already established trio of Sara, Will and Faith for the first time in this fast-paced search for a serial killer. So much is standard American sub-genre, but Slaughter adds value with decent characterisation, not only of the detective duo Will and Faith and medic Sara as they struggle with their own defects along with the hunt for a maniac, but also some of the unusual victims. The plotting is slick (although I also found the ending a tad hastily contrived) and exciting. A good read for fans of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slaughter back on form, 9 July 2009
By 
R. Hollingdale (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
After reading the last few Grant County books I was feeling that they had lost their edge, while the Will Trent books where much better. This book brings the main characters from the two series together and is Slaughter back to her best.
The story follows Will Trent trying to find a kidnapper/murderer and when one of the victim's ends up in Sara's hospital she becomes some what involved in the case.
My only comment would be that the ending was too fast; it seemed to hand the killer on a plate with no real detective work being done. Having said that though it was a really enjoyable book and is worth giving a read whether you are a follower of the other books or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected surprise, 20 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Genesis (Georgia) (Paperback)
It was an unexpected surprise to discover that Karin Slaughter has merged two of her different series of books/characters for this venture and very well it worked too, I thought. Here we're treated to the merging of both the Grant County Series and the Atlanta Series which combine to become the Georgia Series, so it looks as if we'll be in for more of these marriages.

Starts off when an elderly couple's car hits a naked, beaten woman when she seems to appear from nowhere out of some woods. There just so happened to be two men in another car who were able to help the poor woman as one of them was a paramedic, the other was.....well you'll find out when you read the book, but neither of these men are as they first appear.

When the badly beaten young woman is taken to the ER at Grady Hospital, it's Sara Linton, (our old buddy from the Grant County series), who's the doctor waiting for her.

Sara is still doing her best to move on with her life since being widowed when 3 and a half years before, her husband, Police Chief Jeffrey Tolliver, was murdered and she decided she had to move away and at just as she was looking for somewhere to go, she received the ad for this position from an old friend who trained with her. It was sent as a bit of a joke because Grady was where Sara cut her teeth in her medical career but she saw it as a way out of her situation whilst also being back in familiar surroundings minus the bad memories. No longer the elected Coroner as she had been back in Grant County where she was in practice as the local paediatrician but now an ER doc, aka Jack of All Trades.

Then Faith Mitchell a GBI agent is brought into the ER having collapsed in a car park and her GBI partner, (Will Trent the extremely tall, lanky, dyslexic and psychologically scarred agent we know and love from the Atlanta Series along with Faith), and Faith takes an immediate dislike to Sara whereas Will's feelings are very different......

Will is currently estranged from his very odd ex-police officer wife, Angie Polaski, with whom he's always had a turbulant on again, off again relationship even before they married.

While Faith and Will take over the investigation into this beaten woman's case as part of what appears to be a serial killer's rampage, Faith has to deal with some life changing events and Will has to deal with yet another brief return from Angie who once again leaves him reeling as she storms back out of his life once more.

Sara seizes the opportunity to latch onto the investigations offering help as an experienced Coroner and as the initial doctor to treat the naked, beaten woman but while Faith is suspicious of her insistance to try and muscle in, Will tries to make Faith more understanding because he suspects that Sara just needs to feel part of something she would have previously been involved in as both the Coroner and wife of a Police Chief. Meanwhile, Faith's natural curiosity, finds her unable to stop herself googling for information on Sara and when she realizes that she has access to the Jeffrey Tolliver murder case, she regrets ever prying as it makes her look at Sara in a whole new light and the two do gradually form a strange sort of bond. almost verging on friendship.

This book focuses mainly on the Faith and Will characters with Sara playing a fairly low key, but integral, part and while I kept hoping for some sort of romantic involvement between two of the characters this time, I was to be disappointed but hey, who knows what could happen in future...........

Dear Will ends up at the rough end of yet more violence which he always seems to do and has done eversince childhood in the children's home and he totally loses the plot at one point, being seriously at risk of being suspended or even fired but nobody other than the victim of his rage, is willing to acknowledge what took place. And mysteriously/conveniently the CCT footage seems to have gone missing so Will gets an unexpected reprieve even though he hates what he had momentarily become, he did have mitigating circumstances.

I have to say that as per usual with KS, she always manages to throw you some red herrings and just when you think you know what's coming next....bam! This book is dark, disturbing and downright vicious but absolutely unputdownable which you'd expect nothing less from KS.

This book is definiitely in my CPID, (could not put it down), category and I cannot wait for the next offering called Broken and which you can get a taster of in the back of this book where it would appear that another Grant County character returns..........

Well done Karin Slaughter for giving me yet more hours of enjoyment totally immersing myself in your fantastic tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i loved this book, but...., 6 Jun. 2010
By 
L. A. Collins-Field (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Genesis (Georgia) (Paperback)
i have read all of karin slaughter's books, each and everyone brilliant, some were a bit slow to start but they always picked up, but always a chapter in i was hooked, skin privilege was a fab read but the ending heart breaking, i never saw it coming at all.

you can imagine my surprise when the next book fractured had absolutely nothing to do with sara linton or grant county, gutted, i was desperate to know what happened, i mean i knew the focus of the tragedy at the end of skin privilege would be dead, but i expected all kinds of things, more information about the tragedy, etc...

but that said i loved fractured, will trent is a strong character regardless of his inabilities, and i liked faith straight up.

Then i got genesis and hoped fingers crossed and everything, when i bought it that it would give me more about what happened after the devestation from skin privilege, but alas it was not to be, not really, it has been three years or so since thetragedy in grant county and sara has moved on, or back if you like to where she did her internship at grady.

it makes references to the tragedy and there are some real moments for sara, but the book is mostly about will trent and faith mitchell from fractured, once again the strength of the characters from the beginning as well as the story itself kept me reading, it was excellent from the get go, it was fast paced and finished in two days, i like that will has a thing for sara and it would be nice to see something happen there, i hope faith works out a way to keep her baby and her job for the next book.

But as much as i loved this book and i really did, an excellent read, i would like to know more about what happened after the tragedy in grant county.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New Beginning, 31 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Genesis (Georgia) (Paperback)
Bringing her best characters together in a cross over novel was a good idea which has been well executed. The plot is gothic and dark, as usual, but it is also exciting and unpredictable. Karin Slaughter fans will love tyhis book as will fans of Val McDermid and Jeffrey Deaver. Slaughter brings us a slick detective novel with flawed heroes and heroines that is challenging and well paced.
The writing in this book is more descriptive and more literary than her previous book and that makes it all the better to read. I recommend it and give it a "good read" rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Genesis
Genesis by Karin Slaughter (Hardcover - 2 July 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews