Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read
Overall, I enjoyed this book, which covers Andy's tennis career up to 2008 - and is mainly focussed on the years 2005-08, from his Wimbledon breakthrough when he was 18. It gives a good insight into the life of a tennis player, and there are contributions from the likes of Tim Henman, Mark Petchey and his mother, which help to round out the story.
The only negative...
Published on 31 Aug 2011 by P A Marshall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars missing books
need to revue there policy regarding missing books
Published 1 month ago by eleanor clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, 31 Aug 2011
This review is from: Hitting Back: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
Overall, I enjoyed this book, which covers Andy's tennis career up to 2008 - and is mainly focussed on the years 2005-08, from his Wimbledon breakthrough when he was 18. It gives a good insight into the life of a tennis player, and there are contributions from the likes of Tim Henman, Mark Petchey and his mother, which help to round out the story.
The only negative point is that there is little evidence of editing and at points, particularly towards the end, the writing has an almost random stream of consciousness feel.
However, a good read and well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars missing books, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitting Back: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
need to revue there policy regarding missing books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're a tennis fan, then this book is worth a read. Fantastic comments from friends, family and previous coaches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shame this hasn't been updated..., 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
to include Andy's amazing 2012. Many names in this from the tennis world and as you might expect, he is very honest about his fitness and training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Same book as coming of age, 23 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. A. M. Bates (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought this and disappointed as its exactly the same as the one titled Coming of Age spent nearly 10 on the same book still its a great book very funny and down to earth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Andy Murray, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book that gives a great insight into what it is that makes Andy the great player that he is - a must read for any tennis enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into the life of Andy Murray, 16 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. A. Crane (Bristol, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitting Back: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
Personally, I can understand the bad reviews. Ever since Murray said that 'he hoped the English football team wouldn't make it to the European championships', the majority of England hate him. This remark was taken out of context, but I'm not here to go indepth about that. However, I do not understand the bad reviews for the BOOK.

I read this around 9 months a go and as a 21 year old, I found it pleasing to be able to relate to an athlete around a similar age. From his whining to his racquet throwing tantrums, I'm sure a few of us can relate to such a feat and achknowledge that it happens in tennis.

The structure of the book is also very good; It is quite informal and chapters only string 20 pages or so. I found the chapters "The Year of Living Controversially" and "Can I Also Ask You This?" very informative, as it is Andy's view on the one-sided media stories that we, as the public, are familiar with.

Overall, I believe the autobiography was Andy's way to give the public an insight into his life. Stating the obvious, right? Well, no, not really. Andy isn't exactly the most outspoken, emotional guy out there and he certainly is a very closed person when on the court. He tends to ignore most interviews these days too due to the BBC interviews that have gone terribly wrong (This is included in the book).

Go for it and buy this book; he's a nice guy, really :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Andy's Achievements, 18 Dec 2008
By 
Mrs. Y. Juniper "An Andy Murray fan" (Leeds, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitting Back: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
Since this book was published earlier this year Andy has achieved alot. The turning point being when he came back from 2 sets down to beat Gasquet at Wimbledon, he has also beaten Nadal, Djokovic and Federer, reached the final of the US Open and is now number 4 in the world. At 21 that is some achievement especially over the last few months. Yes I am an Andy Murray fan and am proud to be so. Lets get behind our young sports people in what ever sport and encourage them. Any achievement is a positive, lets stop being so negative. Andy is a young lad, like all of us at that age he has sometimes had to learn the hard way. Lets give him a chance and get behind him in 2009. I found his book an insight in to the world of tennis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book!, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. I. Wetherell (Premier Studios,Corby, Northants, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitting Back: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
Really annoyed at the bad reviews of this book! I was surprised at how good it was. As well as Andy's musings, it has sections written by his Mum, his brother, Jamie, his coach for a while, Mark Petchey and Tim Henman. Well worth a read. What is it with people that just want to slag off the best Tennis player the UK has ever produced? It makes me so angry. The lad is a God! Any player in the top ten is a God! Henman was in the top 10 for almost 10 years and people still slagged him off. How many footballers have we produced that would make a "World Top Ten players" for 10 years?" ??? Give the lad a break! Anyway - thats my rant finished. Read the book and make your own mind up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read all about it: The Truth., 11 May 2012
By 
Ismay1012 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hitting Back: The Autobiography (Hardcover)
As a devoted tennis fan this is another autobiography I've been meaning to get my hands on for a while and I'm so glad I did. I really enjoyed it and thought it was better than its current Amazon ranking. Just like Andy himself this book will have fans and people who can't see the point, but I'm with Andy here, this is a chance to answer his critics and actually tell the truth!
Written with the guidance of Sue Mott, a freelance sports writer, previously the `Time's and then the `Telegraph' tennis correspondent, this is a heartfelt effort at getting to the heart of what the controversial but undoubtedly talented Scottish player actually did and actually said - warts and all. I was quite charmed but this autobiography that felt very honest and unassuming. I particularly liked the chosen format of interspersing chapters written by people close to Andy and written from their points of view. These are the people who know the real Andy, people he respects and trusts, authoritative voices like Tim Henman, his brother Jamie, Mark Petchey and his mother Judy, herself a respected coach and former world-class player on the tour. She also writes the chapter about the Dunblane murders in Primary 1, which happened when both of her sons were pupils at the school and even attended a boys club ran by the perpetrator of the mass murders. This is a fact I didn't know. I'd definitely recommend it as an informative, well written and very interesting account of life on the tennis circuit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitting Back: The Autobiography
Hitting Back: The Autobiography by Andy Murray (Hardcover - 5 Jun 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews