Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild swimming helps rediscover him a thirst for life
A lyrical account of a year of wild swimming in the borderlands of Shropshire and Wales, by 'Britain's tallest poet' Andrew Fusek Peters. He is refreshingly candid about his battle with depression, and how his love of wild swimming and "the water that heals, restores, fills me with glow-worm gladness" helped him rediscover his thirst for life.
Published 2 months ago by Country Publications

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Recipient enjoyed it
Published 29 days ago by F. Balaam


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild swimming helps rediscover him a thirst for life, 10 Jun 2014
This review is from: Dip: Wild Swims from the Borderlands (Hardcover)
A lyrical account of a year of wild swimming in the borderlands of Shropshire and Wales, by 'Britain's tallest poet' Andrew Fusek Peters. He is refreshingly candid about his battle with depression, and how his love of wild swimming and "the water that heals, restores, fills me with glow-worm gladness" helped him rediscover his thirst for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dip into this book for inspiration, 7 May 2014
This review is from: Dip: Wild Swims from the Borderlands (Hardcover)
Andrew Fusek Peters provides the reader with a deeply personal reflection on life and near death in his honest appraisal of coping with severe depression and yet, this book is as uplifting as it could be - inspiring any armchair critics to re-evaluate their situation. Can't wait to pass my copy on to friends. Am clearing my pond too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A deep dip, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a regular wild swimmer and I had seen a BBC feature about Andrew Fusek Peters which introduced the book.
The book had me by the heart from the beginning, it is open, honest, engaging and life affirming, especially to those of us who have the cold water bug. As Hector in Alan Bennett's History Boys says: "The best moments in reading are when you come across something - a thought, a feeling, a way of looking at things - that you'd thought special, particular to you. And here it is, set down by someone else, a person you've never met, maybe even someone long dead. And it's as if a hand has come out, and taken yours."

I read the Kindle version as I hadn't realised how many photographs there were, I may buy a hard copy now as I enjoyed it so much and want to have better quality images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare and valuable book, 13 May 2014
By 
Robert THOMAS (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'Dip' opens with a visceral account of swimming in wild waters of Shropshire and the Welsh Marches in the depths of winter while in recovery from depression. Even without depression, many of us spend much of our life cut off from our real selves and the forces of nature. Fusek Peters manages that rare thing, bringing the reader back to the forgotten taste of being fully alive. Intent on the physical, social and natural nuances of each adventure, his yearning for water is restricted to vibrant descriptions of time and place, giving the reader the privilege of swimming in a bomb crater in Pantglas, through underground caves where his movements stirs the water into red oil and in the lakes of Northern Shropshire where the pensioners laugh at him, rather than in the emotional self-indulgence that can be off-putting in more typical misery memoirs. The sense of being outside society has historically often been a catalyst for seeking a missing 'reality' in nature - Walden, Thoreau and Keats come to mind - but while reflections on hares, eglantine and the like can seem whimsical to a modern reader, the powerful need of Fusek Peters to reconnect with the life he shared with his wife and two children gives a new urgency to this ancient enquiry. Nature writing has rarely so controlled and so devastating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting and powerful, 8 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Dip: Wild Swims from the Borderlands (Hardcover)
Dip is an inspiring, powerful and honest read. Andrew Fusek Peters has suffered from depression and has been able to recover through the help of wild swimming - plunging into rivers, steams, waterfalls. This is a truly wonderful and incisive read - The photographs are sublime too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 23 July 2014
By 
F. Balaam (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dip: Wild Swims from the Borderlands (Hardcover)
Recipient enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dip: Wild Swims from the Borderlands
Dip: Wild Swims from the Borderlands by Andrew Fusek Peters (Hardcover - 1 May 2014)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews