Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome
I would strongly recommend this product to anyone who has an interest in, philosophy, the human race, and how we as a society can help make the world a better place. I have read quite a few of the dalai lamas books but found this one to be the most user friendly in relation to understanding some of the more complex teachings in buddhist religion. The dalai lama does not...
Published on 24 Jan 2012 by Aitch B

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking
I haven't finished this yet it's a book that makes you think I find I need to re-read a lot over again but it certainly makes you think
Published 15 months ago by Gran


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, 24 Jan 2012
By 
Aitch B "Aitch" (Whitehaven England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Religion: Ethics for a Whole World (Hardcover)
I would strongly recommend this product to anyone who has an interest in, philosophy, the human race, and how we as a society can help make the world a better place. I have read quite a few of the dalai lamas books but found this one to be the most user friendly in relation to understanding some of the more complex teachings in buddhist religion. The dalai lama does not try to preach but discusses how best we as a race can live and work in harmony.Ace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Reasoning, even for religious folk., 4 Jan 2012
By 
D. V. Short "Enzo Short" (Orkney, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Religion: Ethics for a Whole World (Hardcover)
I suggest prospective readers of this book view the Amazon USA site for many good reviews of this book: I couldn't do much better.

Take note that the 2011 edition is more expensive than the 2012 edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Olive branch to Atheists, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a proud "militant" Atheistic I realise my views often cause offence to others. As an attempt to find some middle ground with religious believers I decided to read this book. The Dalai Lama is clearly approaching this subject from his strong religious beliefs but successfully finds much we can all agree on.

Whilst I will continue to preach evangelically about atheism I shall hopefully be able to do so with a clearer understanding that, for the most part, we all seek the same things from life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beyond religion, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In an increasingly material world, the Dalai Lama has again reminded us how we, as a people, can benefit from bringing things back to normal.
Simply written and easy to follow, it guides us back to a lifestyle where we consider everyone and the results of our actions.
Although formed from a Buddhist foundation, it is a mindset that applies equally to all faiths. If only it was as easy to put into practice!
An inspirational book that I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Common sense isn't so common, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book giving insight into why things have gone so wrong (and continue to) I found the book quite inspiring. Also easy to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bedside reading, 5 Feb 2012
This review is from: Beyond Religion: Ethics for a Whole World (Hardcover)
Dalai Lamas book contain thoughts that is both necessary and useful in our age. I have a profound respect for Dalai Lama. Especially for his view about a non-religous ethic. I can recommend the book warmly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 14 Feb 2012
By 
helen (Brittany France) - See all my reviews
Thought provoking and relevant to the mixed up world we live in. Should be required listening for "world leaders".
I'm not usually a fan of audio books but Martin Sheen's wonderful voice is a perfect match for the reasoned words of this great man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Religion, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the book. Good views on how to be and become as a person. Very good to read. Love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book well written, 8 Mar 2013
By 
M. Linnard (Newcastle UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An easy book to read with very little reference to abstract concepts or practices. The book gives plain speaking guidance on how a moral compass can be formed that is both compatible with all major religions and those who don't follow any prescribed faith. A blueprint for how to get along on an ever more crowded planet :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A world wide secuklar ethic is now needed, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Rev. T. J. Carter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Religion: Ethics for a Whole World (Hardcover)
It may seem surprising that the Dalai Lama advocates a world wide secular ethic based on the human need of compassion rather than the ethic of any one major religion, important though these religions are in the development of mankind. The Dalai Lama presents cogent arguments for his beliefs, which I found convincing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond Religion: Ethics for a Whole World
Beyond Religion: Ethics for a Whole World by Dalai Lama (Hardcover - 5 Jan 2012)
Used & New from: 0.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews