Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Away with the existential vacuum!
"We psychiatrists are neither teachers nor preachers but have to learn from the man in the street, from his ... self-understanding, what being human is all about". Of all those who applied existentialism to psychotherapy and to the efforts of human beings to help themselves, perhaps none has done so with as much wisdom as Viktor Frankl.

Although I didn't...
Published on 15 Oct 2007 by calmly

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard Read
Not an easy read, I only read a chapter and not picked the book up to read any more. Disappointing.
Published 20 months ago by sharon michell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Away with the existential vacuum!, 15 Oct 2007
"We psychiatrists are neither teachers nor preachers but have to learn from the man in the street, from his ... self-understanding, what being human is all about". Of all those who applied existentialism to psychotherapy and to the efforts of human beings to help themselves, perhaps none has done so with as much wisdom as Viktor Frankl.

Although I didn't connect with the first 50 or so pages of this book, after that I was challenged and inspired by Frankl. His concerns, the "existential vacuum", the depressing impact of an "indoctrination into reductionism", the irreducibility of our experience, "responsibility as the essence of existence", these are well worth being reminded of.

That a "machine model" or "rat model" is not the best way to view human beings, does it seem such a revelation? Frankl observed how some young people had begun to view their ideals and altruism as hangups, how they had been engaging in fruitless "hidden motive" games. He wondered if behavioral scientific therapeutic programs didn't fail to take into account the specialness of people to find meaning, to transcend and to detach themselves from their situations. He called for responsibility and a recognition that we all proceed into the unknowable.

Frankl's approach is quite different from that of Freud, Jung, Skinner or even Rogers (Frankl at least credits in this book Rogers with "de-ideologizing psychotherapy"). His work still lives on, as for example in the United States through the Franklian Psychology (Logotherapy/Existential Analysis)doctoral program offered through Graduate Theological Foundation. Frankl himself, as he makes clear in this book, suggested a concept of spirituality and religion that "goes far beyond the narrow concepts of God as they are promulgated by some representatives of denominational religion", one that encompassed even atheism.

It would seem unfortunate if Frankl and his existential analysis that assumed a "will to meaning" were forgotten. Existentialism remains one of the great reponses of Western civilization to the challenges of life and Viktor Frankl one of its best practical advocates. I realize I need to read more about Frankl, logotherapy and existential analysis in general. It may be the best expression of a sacred view of being human we have in the West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One step further than the Search for Meaning, 5 April 2014
This review is from: Man's Search for Ultimate Meaning (Paperback)
If you've read the first and extremely excellent 'Search for Meaning', this comes as quite a surprise in that it is a much deeper, more 'scientific' exploration of meaning. It's not that difficult to follow (if you keep a dictionary by your side!) but does become a bit laborious compared to the first more thought provoking venture, which the layman can benefit from. I will continue reading it but feel I'd found what meaning I was looking for, with guidance from the first, so find this less inspiring. Absolutely read the first though. Completely makes sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars People of Hope, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend it warmly to any thinking adult. It was a great follow-up to Man's Search for Meaning. The world needs brave people like Frankel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT ULTIMATE, 20 Aug 2013
By 
S. A. Jones "BOOKAHOLIC" (HAMPSHIRE, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man's Search for Ultimate Meaning (Paperback)
I WAS RECOMMENDED THIS BOOK AND FOOLISHLY DID NOT REALISE THERE ARE TWO, MAN'S SEARCH FOR MEANING, WHICH IS MEANT TO BUY, AND THIS ONE WHICH IS FAR TOO DIFFICULT AND TECHNICAL FOR ME. MY OWN FAULT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man's Search for Ultimate Meaning (Paperback)
quick, reliable, excellent ,condition and highly recommended. I will use this service again. No problems at all. excellent all round
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "ultimate" thank to Dr. Frankl, 21 Feb 1999
By A Customer
Henry Charrier was the man who made the first move to change things in my mind, so in my life with his book "Butterfly". Then, Frankl came up just to make me jump into a deep anxiety and depression but then took me out into a calm place brightened by sunlight inwhich i could see my past and self-created future...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard Read, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man's Search for Ultimate Meaning (Paperback)
Not an easy read, I only read a chapter and not picked the book up to read any more. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but a bit dry, 21 Feb 2001
I did enjoy reading this book, but found it a bit slow going in places. I much prefered Ken Wilber's "A Theory of Everything" or Deepak Chopra's "How to Know God".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man's Search for Ultimate Meaning
Man's Search for Ultimate Meaning by Viktor E Frankl (Paperback - 7 July 2011)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews