Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book on Writing in the Known Universe!
Natalie brings a unique perspective to the art of writing. If you can get onto her wavelength - and the way she writes makes this spectacularly easy - then this book will open up all sorts of hidden doors and pathways in you that you never even knew existed.
The chapters are very short and snappy - rarely more than 2-3 pages - and each one gives you something to try...
Published on 5 July 2002

versus
8 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I was right ten years ago
I picked up this book after an almost ten year layoff from creative writing. It had been reccomended to me then, when I had read it and found myself recalling Johnny Rotten's immortal words - 'never trust a hippy'. What was given under the guise of being serious advice to inexperienced writers was a loose collection of platitudes, wrapped up in an anthema - ignore the...
Published on 7 Nov 2007 by Rob Hymer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book on Writing in the Known Universe!, 5 July 2002
By A Customer
Natalie brings a unique perspective to the art of writing. If you can get onto her wavelength - and the way she writes makes this spectacularly easy - then this book will open up all sorts of hidden doors and pathways in you that you never even knew existed.
The chapters are very short and snappy - rarely more than 2-3 pages - and each one gives you something to try out, to play with. She mixes personal anecdotes with Zen teachings and a wealth of experience to make your neurons leap and your synapses crackle. A few weeks into regular 'writing practice' I heard a song lyric which reminded me of something I'd heard in the past few days. I puzzled for some time over who on Earth might have said that to me before realising it was one of the characters in a short story I was working on! I've NEVER before had the experience of mixing my own fiction with real life! Could be psychosis, but I prefer to think of it as a deepening of the creative process ;-)
If you're even semi-serious about turning out some great stuff, and breaking out of your fixed patterns of thought and action, go get Wild Mind....and enjoy the ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide for writers of every variety, 28 Nov 2000
Goldberg's excercises will introduce a beginner to structured writing practice, and stimulate the jaded or professional writer out of any blocks they may have. Each chapter gives an insight into the writer's problems, routines, habits, and is ended with a practical excercise designed to challenge our imaginations and abilities. Goldberg's practice of Zen Budhism is woven through her text, and used to illustrate ways we can tame our distracted 'monkey minds' and get down to the daily practice that is necessary to produce work of any standard. A must for all writers - anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book to inspire would-be writers, 21 Feb 1999
By A Customer
Having already read "Writing down the bones" by the same author, which I often return to for ideas for writing and life, I found this second book on the same subject more personal and revealing about the author, but full of the same short, pithy and very usable tips. This time there is much more about not just the mechanics of writing and the thought processes that go into it, but what it has been like for this particular writer, the sacrifices she has made, conversations she had with writer friends and others who followed other diciplines, and the spectacular power which writing and being honest about ourselves can unleash in other areas of our lives. Not only did this book renew my interest in truly creative writing ( as my notebooks were becoming more and more like straight factual journals), it also got me wanting to take up running again after a long interlude, to see if the confidence that came from writing could help me there! I suspect I will be giving this book as a present in the near future, there is something in it for anyone with an interest in any art or discipline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What do you really want to write?, 25 Oct 2011
By 
Jey Jeyendran - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the rare books on writing that focuses on the creative process in preference to the editing process. The act of creation is urgent, passionate and messy yet 99% of the writing books out there ignore this and only describe rules on editing.

Editing is like shaping clay but the creative process is about getting the clay out of the ground in the first place by getting knee deep in the mud.

The author challenges you to answer the question: what is it I'm really trying to say? Then she tries to turn you into a writing machine so furious that your inhibitions and ego are torched by the heat of your pen.

The author memoirs her journey of self discovery exploring Zen Buddhism and using writing as a meditative practice. This book helped reveal the greatest lesson about writing I've ever learned: honesty is the key to great writing.

AVOID THE AUDIO DOWNLOAD VERSION FROM [audiobobbly - amazon won't let me write the website in full] : I loved the paperback so much I paid for the audio download and it's the poorest quality recording I've ever downloaded from anywhere. It's like the source was an audio cassette found in the back of a Ford Escort that was awaiting crushing in a junk yard. Lumpy, mushy recording that detracts from the wonderful content. Do yourself a favour and get a quality recording from the author's own website - I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It gets you writing, 31 Mar 1999
By A Customer
I love this book and have recommended it to many people. It is an extremely interesting read and the "Try This" exercises really invite you into the writing process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners and if you need motivation, 31 Oct 2011
This review is from: Wild Mind: Living the Writer's Life (Paperback)
Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer within is the only writing book I own that makes me want to pick up a pen on reading it. Wild Mind is a good sequel with lots of guidance about the mechanics of writing well and many exercises to try. You'll get the most value from this guide if you experiment with the suggestions she makes. What rings through loud and clear though is 'shut up and write'. Writing problems, she makes clear, are most often solved by writing not by agonising, thinking or worrying but by regular movement of pen on paper. A stimulating guide to keeping on with your writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book but ..., 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Mind: Living the Writer's Life (Paperback)
I love Natalie Goldberg, she's so inspiring! Always has lots of ideas for writers (or would-be writers). But this particular publication has awful typeface so it's very unpleasant to read - small, dark font, yuck! Would like another copy of this book which is clearer to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Mind: Living the Writer's Life (Paperback)
This is a balanced mix of writing advice and anecdote, incorporating Zen teachings. It's easy to read with its short chapters and offers numerous ideas and exercises for overcoming writer's block and developing an ongoing "writing practice". Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Use this book to dip in and out of nearly every day. Such wise practical encouraging words to the starting-out writer. Not at all bothered by the odd smudge - feels right that it has passed hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wild Mind, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is great for dipping into and thinking out of the box. Provides great jumping off points for writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Mind: Living the Writer's Life
Wild Mind: Living the Writer's Life by Natalie Goldberg (Paperback - 13 April 2009)
9.46
Usually dispatched within 1 to 4 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews