Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Buddhist Guide for Westerners
Although I have many books/publications about Buddhism, this is a good practical guide for those that are interested in Buddhism. I think it is amazing how the translators are able to bring across the message of the Dalai Lama and Buddhism.

I became Buddhist 5 years ago and I can recommend this book to those that are curious about Buddhism as well as beginning...
Published on 21 Feb. 2009 by C. Vanloo

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HARD WORK
I LOVE BOOKS ON BUDDHISM HOWEVER I FOUND THIS ONE HARD GOING AND GAVE UP WHICH IS UNLIKE ME. I PURCHASED A BOOK BY Thich Nhat Hanh AS RECOMMENDED AND AM ENJOYING IT. I WILL GO BACK TO THIS ONE AFTER ONE OR TWO MORE BOOKS AND TRY AGAIN, SORRY DALAI LAMA!
Published 19 months ago by LB


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Buddhist Guide for Westerners, 21 Feb. 2009
By 
C. Vanloo "dutchneil" (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Becoming Enlightened (Hardcover)
Although I have many books/publications about Buddhism, this is a good practical guide for those that are interested in Buddhism. I think it is amazing how the translators are able to bring across the message of the Dalai Lama and Buddhism.

I became Buddhist 5 years ago and I can recommend this book to those that are curious about Buddhism as well as beginning and advanced practitioners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Becoming Enlightened by Dalai Lama XIV Bstan-'dzin-rgya-mtsho, 17 July 2009
This review is from: Becoming Enlightened (Hardcover)
Clear, concise and interesting. Gets away from the cliched prose found in some books on Buddhism which can be hard to appreciate - at least for novice readers like myself. HH explains ideas clearly and opens the black box of a very deep and broad doctrine.

More important it feels like sound advice given in a non-judgmental and friendly way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 22 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Becoming Enlightened (Paperback)
As would be expected from a book written by the Dalai Lama this book is hugely insightful. A recommended read for anyone looking to explore one of the fundamentals of Buddhism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant guide to enlightenment, 4 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Essential reading for those who wish to train the mind to see reality as opposed to mind generated illusions which cause us so many problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HARD WORK, 7 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming Enlightened (Paperback)
I LOVE BOOKS ON BUDDHISM HOWEVER I FOUND THIS ONE HARD GOING AND GAVE UP WHICH IS UNLIKE ME. I PURCHASED A BOOK BY Thich Nhat Hanh AS RECOMMENDED AND AM ENJOYING IT. I WILL GO BACK TO THIS ONE AFTER ONE OR TWO MORE BOOKS AND TRY AGAIN, SORRY DALAI LAMA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming Enlightened (Paperback)
This book was not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important book, 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's the Dalai Llama for goodness sake . I savoured every word of this book and will re read it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars quite a good read, 20 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming Enlightened (Paperback)
A well set out guide to some of the deeper elements of Buddhism which can be hard to grasp for the less experienced practitioner. Quite challenging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Support Tibet, 2 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Becoming Enlightened (Paperback)
Every book BY HH Dalai Lama is fom the heart.
When you know what you need to know, you will realize that his words come from a single heart...
The heart of all beings.
Peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Becoming Enlightened
Becoming Enlightened by Dalai Lama (Paperback - 7 Jan. 2010)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews