Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theme of prayer behind the man of action
He is a big name Christian, and he needed a wise biographer with a steady hand. And it is the steady hand of John Allen that I came to appreciate more and more as I turned the pages of his book. There is plenty of fascinating detail, seen in the dramatic introduction which tells of a full blown row Tutu had with Botha when he went to plead for the Sharpeville Six. It...
Published on 8 Jan. 2010 by T. G. S. Hawksley

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Badly damaged when received
The book is fantastic. However, I ordered it as a present for Father's Day but it arrived so badly damaged that I have had to buy something else instead.

I wasn't impressed - this was supposed to have been a new book but it arrived very tatty.
Published on 11 May 2010 by L. Hymes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theme of prayer behind the man of action, 8 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: Rabble-Rouser For Peace: The Authorised Biography of Desmond Tutu (Paperback)
He is a big name Christian, and he needed a wise biographer with a steady hand. And it is the steady hand of John Allen that I came to appreciate more and more as I turned the pages of his book. There is plenty of fascinating detail, seen in the dramatic introduction which tells of a full blown row Tutu had with Botha when he went to plead for the Sharpeville Six. It deteriorated into a slanging match. Driving away from it Tuto ruefully said, `I don't know that is how Jesus would have handled it.' But you never get lost, and the author keeps your eye on the main story: Tutu's journey to first become for a number of years both South Africa's primate, and the main leader of the opposition to the apartheid regime, and then to head up the modern world's first Committee of Reconciliation. It is this mix of dramatic detail and reliable narrative that makes the book such a success. I learned a lot, but what struck me most was the impact of private prayer on a very public scene. Allen does a great job in taking us into Tutu's disciplined spiritual life leant from the Mirfield Fathers. He gets up very very early to pray, has an hour of prayer in the middle of the day, and ends with prayers. There is also regular fasting. And while this is no polemical spiritual tract, nevertheless the calm author lets us know that Tutu spent the night of September 7th 1988 alone in his prayer chapel, distraught over the treatment of protesters. He emerged the next morning convinced God had told him to call for a mass march. De Klerk had just taken over and the march posed a challenge. If he banned it hundreds could be arrested and killed, if he allowed it, who knew what would happen. He chose the latter. When asked how many would come Tutu said he had no idea, maybe a thousand. Thirty thousand came in Cape Town. And the march was repeated in other major cities. The final beginning of the end of apartheid can be dated to that march. And that march was born in a bishop's private chapel. Prayer - and tears also marked Tutu's leadership of the Reconcilation Committee. It was meant to be non religious, but Tutu ignored all this political correctness. He turned up in his full bishop's regalia and instead of keeping silent at the start of proceedings, prayed. And after prayer, the exhortation to forgive. Sometimes it later emerges that great figures like Tutu had skeletons in their cupboards: there were none here. And such is the thoroughness of the book, I doubt if there will be. Tutu is a challenge to all Christian leaders in troubled conflict areas to get completely involved - but not to forget the prayer chapel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rabble Rouser for Peace, 7 Jan. 2010
By 
Ian Ritchie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rabble-Rouser For Peace: The Authorised Biography of Desmond Tutu (Paperback)
This is the story of a great man who resolutely campaigned for the people of South Africa. It is told with balance and humanity and is the story of a very brave man. I commend it to all world leaders and to all world readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading., 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Informative and well written, I found I had to look up a lot of the references but others better informed that I may not need to do so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Read! Top Man!, 4 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rabble-Rouser For Peace: The Authorised Biography of Desmond Tutu (Paperback)
The book, like the man himself, is quite awe inspiring. The words Rabble Rouser in the title, though, do not do the good Archbishop justice. Passionate? Yes! Compassionate? Yes? Insightful? Yes! Determined? Yes! Rabble Rouser? Not really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good book. Enjoyable, inspiring and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Badly damaged when received, 11 May 2010
By 
L. Hymes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rabble-Rouser For Peace: The Authorised Biography of Desmond Tutu (Paperback)
The book is fantastic. However, I ordered it as a present for Father's Day but it arrived so badly damaged that I have had to buy something else instead.

I wasn't impressed - this was supposed to have been a new book but it arrived very tatty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rabble-Rouser For Peace: The Authorised Biography of Desmond Tutu
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews