Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, an excellent handy resource
This little book is an excellent and handy reference for the post-Washington Treaty classes of British battleship. A very good pictorial and textual summary of the Nelson, KGV and Vanguard classes, which even finds a place for the abandoned Lion class.

Very nice collection of photos and high quality artwork together with concise descriptions of the history,...
Published on 28 May 2010 by joalem

versus
9 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars British Battleships
This book is truly terrible,the inaccuracy is laughable and almost in every paragraph,for example "Rodney and Nelson were the first battleships in the world with triple turrets"Bismarck and her sister ship Scharnhorst" lol,avoid this at all costs.
Published on 25 Oct. 2009 by Elswick1542


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, an excellent handy resource, 28 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Battleships 1939-45 (2) (New Vanguard) (Paperback)
This little book is an excellent and handy reference for the post-Washington Treaty classes of British battleship. A very good pictorial and textual summary of the Nelson, KGV and Vanguard classes, which even finds a place for the abandoned Lion class.

Very nice collection of photos and high quality artwork together with concise descriptions of the history, service and modifications of each ship throughout its service.

Highly recommended as a quick reference guide, and very readable. For the low price as well, it has to rate 5 stars. And contrary to the solitary (and thoroughly undeserved) 1-star review, the accuracy of this book is first class and obviously meticulously researched. Top marks to Mr Konstam!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book of Battleships, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Battleships 1939-45 (2) (New Vanguard) (Paperback)
These books have their critics as not being totally comprehensive but what I like is the overview nature of the text, I mean just how much information abut all British Battleships can you get into a small book?

They are a great place to start if your recently new to the interest of Naval history and the big guns of History. Plenty of pictures and cross section images of King George V ships and art work specific to these books.

Well worth a look and take it as an aid to getting interested rather than a definitive guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars british battleships, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Battleships 1939-45 (2) (New Vanguard) (Paperback)
good basic overview of british battleships in ww2. the Rodney and nelson and king George v class of ship. used to work with blokes who served on these ships. I don't think life was that pleasant. how they stuck at it I will never know. certainly a different generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, 5 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Battleships 1939-45 (2) (New Vanguard) (Paperback)
As with the previous New Vanguard book dealing with The Queen Elizabeth and Royal Sovereign classes, this is a first rate general account of the Nelson and KGV class of Battleships. Details of their building and subsequent wartime service are very well covered. Excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars learn a lot from this little book, 22 Jun. 2011
By 
Clipper 314 (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Battleships 1939-45 (2) (New Vanguard) (Paperback)
well I read it all in less than an hour but this little book is a real gem. It gives a concise overview of the 2 classes of battleship and adds sufficient info regarding the context in which they were created and employed to make it all easily understood. Additionally there is info on the designs that didn't get built (e.g.HMS Lion), and on the development of HMS Vanguard, but these are the 'cream on the top' of the main descriptions/service histories of The KGV & Nelson ships. There are I think 1 or 2 errors such as Vanguard's Royal Tour to SA in 1947, incorrectly noted as 1957 otherwise the 5 stars would be awarded. Certainly not an in depth study of the ships but enough to get a general overview which suited my needs. I purchased this volume on its own as I wasn't sure if it had enough 'meat' .. but on the strength of my experience I have just purchased the Vol 1 British Battleships and British Aircraft Carriers from the same author... so I highly recommend !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall Excellent Value, but one or two small errors., 8 Jun. 2010
This review is from: British Battleships 1939-45 (2) (New Vanguard) (Paperback)
How anyone can rate this book at one star is beyond me, as it is excellent value for money, and the supposed factual inaccuracies seem to have arisen from a misreading of the text.

Only quibbles :- Page 7. This is KGV in very late 1940 or very early 1941 rather than June 1941. The photo. is one of a series, some of which actually show the original, WW1 inspired, two-tone dazzle camouflage which KGV carried upon completion being replaced by overall medium grey. The clincher is the absence of the type 271 lantern which was installed between the forward high angle directors early in 1941 (i.e., before the Bismarck action). This means that the illustration on Page 21 is inaccurate, as KGV was in overall medium grey in May 1941. Finally, the photo. of Rodney on page 9 is pre-war, and certainly not 1941.

Sorry for being a bit of a pedant; the bottom line is I would certainly recommend this book to anyone, and the above only detracted slightly from my enjoyment of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - A great read, 7 Mar. 2010
This review is from: British Battleships 1939-45 (2) (New Vanguard) (Paperback)
I strongly recommend this book to anyone interested in this fascinating period for the Royal Navy. The author packs in a surprising amount of detail and information that makes this an invaluable reference work. A great read.

NS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Battleships 193945 (2), 8 Mar. 2010
This review is from: British Battleships 1939-45 (2) (New Vanguard) (Paperback)
Not quite sure how you'd rate this with one star.

A lovely treatment of the subject and heartily recommended. Typical high production levels with solid interesting text and graphics throughout. Recommended.

Regards

Happy Wanderer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars British Battleships, 25 Oct. 2009
By 
Elswick1542 (northumberland uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Battleships 1939-45 (2) (New Vanguard) (Paperback)
This book is truly terrible,the inaccuracy is laughable and almost in every paragraph,for example "Rodney and Nelson were the first battleships in the world with triple turrets"Bismarck and her sister ship Scharnhorst" lol,avoid this at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

British Battleships 1939-45 (2) (New Vanguard)
British Battleships 1939-45 (2) (New Vanguard) by Angus Konstam (Paperback - 10 Sept. 2009)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews