Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and inspirational
The book is laid out with a childish charm, and provides a large section on how to create different toppings as well as basic decorating techniques and recipes for the cupcakes. It also suggests some overlooked ideas, such as melting hard-boiled sweets for effects such as ice.
The designs are very over the top, and in some cases too colourful, but by seeing them as a...
Published on 28 Jan 2012 by warkwarkwoo

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kid friendly novelty cakes
Dress Your Cupcake follows on from Dress Your Gingerbread and shows around 40 different creative cupcake projects that will greatly appear to children.

After a short but reasonably comprehensive introduction to basic techniques such as baking the cakes, making buttercream, working with chocolate and using piping bags, Dress Your Cupcake quickly moves into...
Published on 5 May 2011 by SL Trivuncic


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kid friendly novelty cakes, 5 May 2011
This review is from: Dress Your Cupcake: Bake them! Dress them! Eat them! (Paperback)
Dress Your Cupcake follows on from Dress Your Gingerbread and shows around 40 different creative cupcake projects that will greatly appear to children.

After a short but reasonably comprehensive introduction to basic techniques such as baking the cakes, making buttercream, working with chocolate and using piping bags, Dress Your Cupcake quickly moves into animal, nature, food, sporty, girly and seasonal projects.

Cartoon bright results would greatly appeal to 7-10 year old girls - I would have gazed at for hours as a child.

A few ideas are clever - I liked the ground up raisins to create a "cheese burger" and softening fruit chews to turn them into pink handbags and shoes. However some results are amateurish when compared to American baking novelty books such as Angie "Bakerella" Dudley's Cakepops or the Hello, Cupcake! series.

Some projects look untidy or unfinished - animals with blue smarties for eyes are crying out for black pupils to be drawn on with a licorice edible ink pen to make them look more alive. At best a monkey gets some clumsy chocolate icing which looks even worse. I'm certainly no expert at creating stuff like this myself but these results are more what I'd expect to see in a provincial bakery window rather than a book.

Colour schemes are hit and miss - the "burrowing mole" is digging through sugared almond-like washed out grass yet a so called "pretty parcel" has been drowned in deep blue food colouring when a delicate shade icing or wrapper might have achieved a result reminiscent of Peggy Porschen. Instead it looks tacky rather than pretty.

The tiered wedding cake project using mini marshmallows is cute but again the colours are inappropriately bright.

Strongest projects are the fruity "ice cream soda" with fondant candy stripe straws, the excellent "tea party" which features a fondant tableclothed cupcake table laid with pretend cake made from fruit chews and sprinkles alongside dinky cups and saucers and also a "sandcastle" covered in graham cracker crumbs with pale green licorice candy rolls for seaweed. However, not including graham crackers in the glossary is an omission that will confuse many UK readers.

The glossary is confusing - it's hard to tell which is the default audience as some items are listed first with their US name and then the UK equivalent and vice versa. I am assuming the writer, who includes Ready Steady Cook for Children in her previous works, is initially writing for a UK audience even if the book is to be adapted for the States.

Verdict - The layout and standard of instructions are perfectly fine, most projects would be easy for children to follow and the results would go down a storm at kids' parties or be highly entertaining to little girls. But if you're a grown up with a serious interest in baking, it lacks the sophistication or polish of the more famous Hello Cupcake. Go easy on the food colouring and you'll probably make some projects look better than they do in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and inspirational, 28 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dress Your Cupcake: Bake them! Dress them! Eat them! (Paperback)
The book is laid out with a childish charm, and provides a large section on how to create different toppings as well as basic decorating techniques and recipes for the cupcakes. It also suggests some overlooked ideas, such as melting hard-boiled sweets for effects such as ice.
The designs are very over the top, and in some cases too colourful, but by seeing them as a guide you will soon be able to configure the designs to your liking. It is a refreshing change from the sophisticated look that is slowly flooding the market.
Every topper has a picture of the finished product, that is helpful in molding and shaping the figures.
Like all books some of the designs are better than others, and whilst they would take a while to create, not a lot of specialist equipment is needed, so that children can have a go at creating some of the tops. Also, the designs are likely to work on a larger cake, so it could provide extra ideas.

See it as a source of inspiration and clever ideas, and you won't go far wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good basics, more for children than cakemakers, 9 Jun 2011
This review is from: Dress Your Cupcake: Bake them! Dress them! Eat them! (Paperback)
I have mixed views on this book, I liked the beginning and some of the tips, which include the use of butter cream, icing, chocolate and sweets (candies). There are also recipes for different flavoured cupcakes (lemon, vanilla, chocolate) and different recipes for flavoured butter creams and frostings. The range of toppings commonly used on cupcakes is described very well, if you are not familiar with these. Essentially the start of the book covers the basics, including the equipment needed.

This book has been written for the American market primarily and uses cup measurements and some references to American foodstuffs that may not translate easily to the UK market.

The remainder of the book covers each of the cupcake designs in turn, there is a good picture of each and a descriptive page of instructions on how to make the design. A few templates are provided at the back.

The designs of the 50 individual cupcakes themselves vary, some are relatively straightforward and would be quite effective, others were not so. The designs cover some of the seasons in that there are summery cupcakes, Christmassy ones and several suitable for Halloween, and these particular designs were my own favourites.

I would not recommend this book if you are an experienced cupcake maker, looking for inspiration, as I think it would have some limitations for you.

But if you are a parent with children and looking for a fun project to do together, particularly on a wet day, your children would be enamored with the pictures and you'd probably get something out of this as you created any of the designs together. An older child say 9+ would probably like and enjoy the designs in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Ideas - A MUST Have Book, 6 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dress Your Cupcake: Bake them! Dress them! Eat them! (Paperback)
I love this book... in fact I loved it so much I immediately purchased copies for three of my daughters... My sister also saw the book the first day it arrived and wanted a copy for herself and she hasn't baked in years... She was so inspired by the ideas in this book, she wanted to rush out and create a golf themed cupcake as a surprise for her partner...

The book has a robust laminated cover that you can wipe clean. The first 25 pages are devoted to the basics... There are three standard cup cake recipes, Vanilla, Lemon and Chocolate, and several recipes for basic butter cream, frostings, icing and fondant.

The book continues with instructions for covering your cupcakes, modelling and using fondant, making a simple piping bag from greaseproof paper, melting and using chocolate and general decorating techniques. A suggested list of equipment is provided, none of which is expensive and I would expect most people would already have in their kitchen anyway.

The instructions are illustrated step by step with photographs and explanatory text. The layout is clear and uncluttered. From page 26 onwards, you are treated to some wonderful cupcake decorating ideas...

How to create each cupcake is explained in detail and spread across two full colour pages. There is a large and clear photograph of the finished cupcake, a list of required ingredients and any equipment, together with full instructions on how to prepare and assemble the cupcake decorations.

At the very end of the book are some templates for making some of the run out shapes and a list of resources and supplies.

My favourite ideas are Mr. Hedgehog, Oliver the Octopus, Mischievous Mouse and Tea Party, and... I counted 50 original ideas so there are lots to choose from...

I have several cake decorating books that I love to browse through, but I tend to be daunted by the larger scale and associated cost and time involved... What if it all goes wrong?

With "Dress Your Cupcake" however, I could easily make a batch of little cupcakes that can be frozen and whenever a friend or relative has a birthday or there's a special occasion, I can dress a single little cupcake in no time at all and make a unique and very personal gift...

I cannot recommend this book highly enough. It is worth every penny and I look forward to Volume 2...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cupcake book!, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dress Your Cupcake: Bake them! Dress them! Eat them! (Paperback)
Excellent! This was for my friends birthday and she absolutely loved iit. Finished results look as if they've been made professionally. A must for cupcake makers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dress Your Cupcake: Bake them! Dress them! Eat them! (Paperback)
Perfect Christmas present for an 8 year old girl. Though I haven't reaped the benefits of it yet, as I live too far away. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dress Your Cupcake: Bake them! Dress them! Eat them! (Paperback)
Really good, cute book, with so many brilliant ideas, and simple, step by step guides, which is amazing, would definitely recommend :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This was as it said, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dress Your Cupcake: Bake them! Dress them! Eat them! (Paperback)
As this was a present for someone it was not me it had to please but I hope the recipient is pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars smashing cupcake book, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dress Your Cupcake: Bake them! Dress them! Eat them! (Paperback)
A lot of brilliant ideas for making some smashing cupcakes for family and friends and I am very pleased with this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab cup cake, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dress Your Cupcake: Bake them! Dress them! Eat them! (Paperback)
Brilliant book loads of great ideas and the price from amazon was about 80% cheaper than Lakeland.So what are you waiting for go & get it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dress Your Cupcake: Bake them! Dress them! Eat them!
Dress Your Cupcake: Bake them! Dress them! Eat them! by Joanna Farrow (Paperback - 4 April 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews