Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful
This is a wonderful book for anyone who loves the Scandinavian design aesthetic. It has four main sections, breaking down the styles into elegant simplicity, vintage-inspired, pared-down modern and contemporary rustic. Although the homes in each section are very different from each other, the book is cohesive and certain elements defining Scandinavian style run through...
Published on 19 Mar 2011 by P. Lamb

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Isn't it good, Norwegian wood?
"Interior trends come and go" says the first line of the introduction. True; my parents furnished our house with the Georgian furniture being chucked out (sometimes literally; father and a mate would walk the streets on bins day, seeing what had been discarded) as trendier, less skint households went over to blonde birch and "contemporary" textiles. It is NOT true that...
Published 22 months ago by Peasant


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful, 19 Mar 2011
By 
P. Lamb (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simply Scandinavian (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book for anyone who loves the Scandinavian design aesthetic. It has four main sections, breaking down the styles into elegant simplicity, vintage-inspired, pared-down modern and contemporary rustic. Although the homes in each section are very different from each other, the book is cohesive and certain elements defining Scandinavian style run through all the interiors featured.

This is not a how-to book in that it doesn't provide tips on achieving the look but it features beautiful images that are simply inspiring. The book makes you want to bring some of those light, bright, calm, functional and unpretentious elements of Scandinavian interiors into your own home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Isn't it good, Norwegian wood?, 15 Dec 2012
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Simply Scandinavian (Hardcover)
"Interior trends come and go" says the first line of the introduction. True; my parents furnished our house with the Georgian furniture being chucked out (sometimes literally; father and a mate would walk the streets on bins day, seeing what had been discarded) as trendier, less skint households went over to blonde birch and "contemporary" textiles. It is NOT true that Scandinavian design has always been trendy, however; it is currently enjoying a new spell in the limelight after decades in the doldrums. Nor is it the case, as the text claims, that "Households in Scandinavia did away with dark furniture as early as the 1950s" - Swedish Gustavian furniture of the 18th century is painted in pale subtle colours, and if you love Scandinavian style you should check out the light-filled interiors in The paintings of Carl Larsson, from the early 20th century.

One should not expect too much from this book. It is one of a whole slew of look-alike titles from publishers Ryland, Peters and Small, with texts that read as if they had been composed by a committee. It is like a series of magazine articles in which we are introduced to the 'beautiful homes' and their owners, with rather more about the private lives of the owners, and less about design, than I for one would prefer (you may differ and be charmed). One advantage of this treatment is that we see very many different versions of Scandinavian style, and we see them lived in, even if the photographer or stylist has clearly tweaked them a good deal.

You would think all this would make this book a useful design resource for those hoping to acheive a Scandinavian aesthetic of their own. Up to a point, Lord Copper. These houses aren't huge; I suspect that by Scandinavian standards they are just the nicer end of normal, like illustrating "English style" by showing cottages and terrace houses. However, time and again we come up against the brutal truth: it is the setting - the Atlantic gleams through a window, birch trees glitter in the sunlight; the light - that cool, clear Northern light which we get on the east coast of Scotland and as far south as Northumberland, but not elsewhere; and last, but not least, the CONSTRUCTION of these houses, which we can't imitate unless we are lucky enough to be building from scratch. "The house never feels cold, despite the pale colours" enthuses one owner. It wouldn't. Scandinavian houses have, as standard, levels of insulation which Brits can mostly only dream of. It is the cosy wooden building, the triple glazing and the insulated floor which makes it possible to enjoy this clear, pale, luminous look not just in the endless summer days, but when temperatures outside are way below zero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Enchanting, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Ms. Bronwen Thompson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Scandinavian (Hardcover)
A beautiful book showing beautiful pictures of truly stunning interiors all in the simplicity of the Scandinavian style. If you are looking for ideas and inspiration for your interior and love the simplicity of Nordic design then this book is "simply" perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 25 Jan 2011
By 
Kalliopi G. Makraki (Kalamata, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Scandinavian (Hardcover)
What I liked the most in this book was that it showcases ordinary scandinavian homes and that it explains how this kind of style can be achieved and how it has evolved over the years.
Beautiful pictures.
Great quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!!!!!, 13 Oct 2011
This review is from: Simply Scandinavian (Hardcover)
This book provides just the right balance of narrative and images. The text is informative with historial references and interesting facts and accounts and the photographs/images are exactly what I wanted to see. This book gives you plenty of information and ideas. It features typical and inspirational Scandinavian schemes and pieces. The price is also excellent; it arrived swiftly in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cool collection of homes, 19 Oct 2010
This review is from: Simply Scandinavian (Hardcover)
A quality collection of homes with plenty of photo's to wet the appetite. Other books go in to depth regarding Scandi designers but this book covers lot's of homes, just what I wanted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Scandinavian (Hardcover)
A gorgeous book full of inspiring ideas and beautifully illustrated. Very much like the pared-down modern.
I'm already at the planning stage. So wish I had a rural retreat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely photos, 14 Jun 2014
By 
B. Smith (north west england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Scandinavian (Hardcover)
Interesting text and lovely photos - nice to read why people decorated in that style and what their thinking was at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for inspiration, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Scandinavian (Hardcover)
Well laid out informative read. the images are of high quality, an inspiration for architects and interior designers or just for someone who want to get inspired for a home fit out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply Scandinavian (Hardcover)
Very happy with this product, exactly what I wanted. However the packaging wasnt great as the dust cover was crumpled at the back. Not worth returning but maybe they should consider better packaging going forward
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simply Scandinavian
Simply Scandinavian by Sara Norrman (Hardcover - 8 April 2010)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews