Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is French style that works for British and Americans
For the past 12 years, I have been formulating a plan to live in France. In 2000 we bought an old Normandy longere to - one day - renovate. That day arrived in 2004 when circumstances conspired to enable a move to France.

There are a number of books around that concentrate on real French rural style. But. That authentic style often relies on cracked walls and...
Published on 5 Sept. 2007 by CJH France

versus
34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars French Country Living
Wonderful photographs to inspire, but possibly with a little too much English/American influence. Real French country living is a great mixture of what appears in the book and interiors of houses owned by people who have never been far from the village they were born in (even in the 21st century) and this book misses that basic rustic look and goes for photos of a...
Published on 13 Sept. 2005 by J Hawkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is French style that works for British and Americans, 5 Sept. 2007
This review is from: French Country Living (Hardcover)
For the past 12 years, I have been formulating a plan to live in France. In 2000 we bought an old Normandy longere to - one day - renovate. That day arrived in 2004 when circumstances conspired to enable a move to France.

There are a number of books around that concentrate on real French rural style. But. That authentic style often relies on cracked walls and rising damp - which leads to an authentic lifting of the paintwork or wallpaper from the walls and an occasionally overwhealming musty smell. Photos of authentic rural style often depict cracked, entirely unhygenic tiling of walls and floors, especially in bathrooms and kitchens. Yes, it's *very* authentic and I would *frame* some of those picture to hang on my newly renovated walls, my damp-proofed, insulated walls. However, the reality is that with authentic style comes draughts, dampness, mould and cobwebs. The reality is... the average British (or American, or Dutch or Parisien) renovater doesn't truly aspire to authentic 30s rural French living. Which is exactly why this book is good.

This book presents pretty, fairly pristine, damp-proofed, renovated French interiors. Yes, it is a representation of French style as of the turn of the century (that would be the 21st century) but I do think this realistic approach succeeds in a number of ways. It does use a fair amount of older French furniture, it does use French colours, it does arrange rooms in a distinctly French way. Using this book as an aid to styling does work. It gets one's eye into recent French style. The ideas it presents are attainable at a sensible budget (with judicious use of depot ventes, brocantes, vide greniers) and they are ideas that are comfortable to live with. And that is what really matters.

I've bought a number of French style books and in my opinion, this is one of the most useable. Some of the narrative is a bit twee but that is my main criticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars French Country Living, 13 Sept. 2005
By 
J Hawkins (Bisley, Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: French Country Living (Hardcover)
Wonderful photographs to inspire, but possibly with a little too much English/American influence. Real French country living is a great mixture of what appears in the book and interiors of houses owned by people who have never been far from the village they were born in (even in the 21st century) and this book misses that basic rustic look and goes for photos of a perfected version. However, for an idea of how one would like one's own "dream French country home" to look, it is almost perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming and inspirational, 14 Sept. 2009
By 
Mrs. S. A. Alexander (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: French Country Living (Paperback)
Lovely book full of gorgeous photo's and great ideas to add French appeal to your home. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely escape read, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Country Living (Paperback)
This is a lovely book filled with inspirational pictures in stunning French colours. It has an eclectic mix of house types from the shabby to the magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very inspirational, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Country Living (Paperback)
I found this book in the library and was really inspired by the photography and the text which at times was a bit florid but not enough to put me off. It has wetted my appetite to pare down my clutter and re-evaluate things that I had thought were out of date and should be binned. I immediately ordered this book for a friend's birthday which she loved, as did a friend who saw it when visiting her, and is now ordering one for herself. I don't want to give it back to the library and have already renewed it once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know about decorating a French country house., 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Country Living (Hardcover)
Superb and evocative photos, informative text. Very 'feel-good' atmosphere in this book. Lots of ideas for decorating a French country house..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars French Country Living - Book review, 20 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Country Living (Paperback)
Very enjoyable - well presented and beautifully photographed. One of the many however so did not particularly stand out from the others..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Country Living (Paperback)
Absolutely great book, jam packed with loads of brilliant pictures and ideas, transported me to france while i was lookimg through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFULLY INSPIRING!, 12 Jun. 2015
By 
Mark B (STOKE-ON-TRENT, Staffs, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Country Living (Paperback)
A wonderfully inspiring book showing just how the French have that 'je ne sais quoi !'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Country Living (Hardcover)
nice photos and good ideas for anyone interested in French style "shabby"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

French Country Living
French Country Living by Caroline Clifton Mogg (Paperback - 1 Mar. 2008)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews