Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Childhood treasures, 24 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This is a delightful book, brimming over with lovely things to do with children and ideas for presents for babies. The central idea is that is if children are given nasty plastic toys and computer games to play with their artistic side will be stunted, but if they are presented with beautiful antiques or things made especially for them, they will treat them with the care they deserve and appreciate them. As Caroline Zoob says, nothing is too good to be given to a child.
I do feel it is worth adding a note of caution which is perhaps missing from the book, that, as with anything that a child might come into contact with, it is essential to be sure that it is entirely safe and that there are no sharp edges or items that could be swallowed, come loose or otherwise do harm.
The photography by Caroline Arber is lovely, the colours are beautifully reproduced and, with full colour images on almost every page, you cannot help but be inspired by Caroline's ideas.
The book is arranged around ten projects that you can make yourself, with clear easy-to-follow instructions and lists of the materials and equipments needed. They involve appliqué, painting, cross stitch and various techniques which are explained in a separate chapter at the end. The text guides you as to which of the projects really need previous expertise and which can be made by the complete novice.
The text is interspersed with interesting tales of Caroline’s own childhood which seems to have consisted of a whistle-stop world tour, and appropriate quotations from her favourite authors. There is also a useful list of stockists which should lead you on many a happy shopping expedition.
Perfect either as a coffee-table book, or a series of ideas for projects. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful vintage insipred projects for all abilities, simply superb, 17 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Childhood Treasures (Paperback)
As an artist, teacher and crafts person I am intersted in the spectrum of arts and crafts; it is wonderful to find something new and innovative. This book is inspiration, beautifully written, featuring superb photographs, illustrations and original projects many suited beyond the nursery.
A highly creative take on vintage style. I also loved looking at the stunning interior design settings for the photographs, many taken at the home of Vanessa Arbuthnott whose beautiful textiles I have now discovered.
Country living crafts at their very best, My ten year old daughter also adored this book and wants to begin projects of her own. I have recommended it to all my friends who love vintage style whether a dab hand with a needle or not, as the projects are suitable for both the experienced and novice crafts person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must if you can't bear plastic!, 5 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
I bought this book shortly having my first baby and quickly set about making the long eared, long legged floppy rabbit seen sitting on one of the beds. He is called Trevor and wears a lovely knitted jumper made by a friend (much cleverer than I). I defy you not to love this book. It fills you with nostalgia for bedrooms long gone, where boys played with home-made forts and girls enjoyed knitted dresses for their dollies. The author's philosophy is that nothing is too good for children and that home made presents shouldn't be put out of their reach. In fact, her presents have been cherished by several of her nephews and nieces and I can see why. If you hope that your child won't be sucked into the evil world of computer games and plastic - then this is the book for you. She manages to combine the old with the new and the pictures are beautifully photographed and illustrated. I'm hooked and have bought two other books in this series - cushions and soft furnishings and vintage fabrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book - worth buying if you love crafts, 27 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This is a beautifully written and photographed book. There are so many ideas and it is ideal for people who are nostalgic over childhood toys and treasures. As a new parent, I cannot wait to make my daughter some of the lovely dolls clothes and quilts in the book. All I need now is a son, so that we can make him a fort!! If you shiver at the thought of Barbie plastic suffocating your child's room, then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of delights, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely book, really pleased to be able to buy this, thought it might have been out of print. Would recommend it to any one who loves antique embroidery/nostalgia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful book. It contains a wide range of projects to undertake and also inspires me to dream up new ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 2 Oct. 2012
By 
DJ NORMANSELL (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an a beautiful book, fantastic settings and photographs. Lots of lovely ideas if you like the vintage look.
These makes will surely stay in the family and be passed down to the next generation. I had this book from the library so many times I finally had to bite the bullet and buy it myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I adore this book, 1 Feb. 2013
Every page has inspiration in it. The instructions are simple and easy to follow. It is beautifully photographed and I am so chuffed with the bits and pieces I have made with the templates in this book. My children's stockings look amazing and I am by no means a proficient sewer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A joy, 16 Feb. 2014
By 
K. P. Herrell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful collection of child hood memories created in to needlework by a very talented needle woman. A complete cornucopia of ideas. Well worth exploring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very pretty book showing idyllic lifestyle and ideas rather than full ..., 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pretty book showing idyllic lifestyle and ideas rather than full of instructions to recreate it. Projects given are lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Childhood Treasures
Childhood Treasures by Caroline Zoob (Paperback - 15 Sept. 2006)
Used & New from: £21.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews