Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling read!
This is an absolutely engrossing account of what it must be like to be taken hostage and held captive for more than a year in the most horrifying conditions. The Chandlers were sailing in the middle of the Indian Ocean on the adventure of a lifetime when they were picked up by Somalia pirates hundreds of miles from land. They describe in frightening detail the moment...
Published on 8 Sep 2011 by Stamford

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The first couple of chapters were interesting and then before I got half way through it I became bored. The story is very repeti
Wasn't as intriguing as I expected it to be and was very disappointing read. The first couple of chapters were interesting and then before I got half way through it I became bored. The story is very repetitive, day in, day out, reading the same things over and over. It isn't a gripping read and would not recommend it unless you like reading boring books.
Published 4 months ago by MRS HELEN C THOMAS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling read!, 8 Sep 2011
This review is from: Hostage: A Year at Gunpoint with Somali Gangsters (Paperback)
This is an absolutely engrossing account of what it must be like to be taken hostage and held captive for more than a year in the most horrifying conditions. The Chandlers were sailing in the middle of the Indian Ocean on the adventure of a lifetime when they were picked up by Somalia pirates hundreds of miles from land. They describe in frightening detail the moment when they were taken hostage and made to head towards the African coast. Desperate to portray themselves as just an ordinary British couple, their terror increases as the kidnappers realise the potential value of their 'catch.'

But this is more than just a story of being held hostage and surviving the harshest conditions. It's also the tender story of a devoted couple trying to deal with their ordeal and the hopes and fears of more than a year in captivity. They describe in terrifying detail how they were beaten and then separated fearing that they would both be killed. And, this is also a very modern kidanp too - their captors using the power of the media to try and exact a ransom from their families back home.

A great read that is completely unputdownable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down!, 13 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hostage: A Year at Gunpoint with Somali Gangsters (Paperback)
Wow - what a TV film this would make! But what an horrendous experience for any couple to have to endure. Lynn Rival, Paul & Rachel's small sailing yacht is also their home, having sold their ground based property to buy her and enable them to spend their declining years (they're only in their 50's!) safely sailing wherever they wanted to, and funds would allow. Having left the Seychelles, and still being only 60 miles from the mainland (still in 'safe' waters), they were hijacked by Somalian pirates - and therein hangs the tale of their determination to survive and their faith that they would, sooner or later, be rescued. Not to be for over twelve months! This book is the story of what they had to endure, and the pirates/gangsters that they unwillingly had to share their lives with in Somalia. The word savages comes to mind with, as in probaly any culture, the odd 'good' one. I use this word sparingly!
Recorded in narration form with diary extracts, this is probably the most compelling and unsettling book I have ever read. No one should ever have to experience what this couple went through, never knowing whether the next day would mean either freedom - or their last.
Paul & Rachel, I take my hat off to you!
But only today (13/09/11,) Mr Tebbutt, a tourist in Kenya (near the border of Somalia) was shot and killed and his wife kidnapped and taken across the border. And so, for that poor, unfortunate lady, by reading this book, we probaly have some idea of what she will now be going through.
One can only hope for the same satisfactory conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting Read, 17 Sep 2011
This review is from: Hostage: A Year at Gunpoint with Somali Gangsters (Paperback)
A vividly written, utterly compelling story of courage and endurance. Packed with unique insights into the psychology of hostages and their captors, while celebrating the transcending power of love. It is an uplifting book from people pushed to the edge of insanity by circumstances thrust upon them. A compulsory read for everyone interested in the human condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hostage; a year at gunpoint with Somali gangsters, 17 Sep 2011
This review is from: Hostage: A Year at Gunpoint with Somali Gangsters (Paperback)
I have to admit I was apprehensive at reading this book as I was uneasy about gaining enjoyment at the expense of Paul and Rachel Chandler's terrifying ordeal. Having said that from the very first page I was hooked and although I knew that there was a happy ending I still needed to read on to find out the true course of events. Their courage was incredible and I found myself wondering how I would have coped in a similar situation
An inspirational book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 13 Months of Hell, 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: Hostage: A Year at Gunpoint with Somali Gangsters (Paperback)
Paul and Rachel Chandler suffered at the hands of Somalian pirates for for 13 long and harrowing months. Paul and Rachel have opened up their thoughts and feelings about themselves and their captors. 'Hostage' is, therefore, written with total honesty and commitment. Well worth a read.Hostage: A Year at Gunpoint with Somali Gangsters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 26 Oct 2011
This review is from: Hostage: A Year at Gunpoint with Somali Gangsters (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book and felt so sorry for poor Paul and Rachel. I did however feel it was quite repetitive and could have been shortened to make it read a bit better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hostage, 14 Oct 2011
This review is from: Hostage: A Year at Gunpoint with Somali Gangsters (Paperback)
This is a book which lays bare the emotions of hostages who live with guns for 24 hours a day while showing the courage of the captives. Communication is minimal and existence is basic. Well written and of significance to all who followed their ordeal as well as to those who simply want a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite repetative, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hostage: A Year at Gunpoint with Somali Gangsters (Paperback)
I felt rather mean giving it 3 stars and saying that it was boringly samey so I changed it to 4 stars because I am glad I read it. It did bring home to me that is what captivity must be like - the same thing day after day, discomfort, fear & anxiety, ill treatment and boredom with nothing to do. I am glad I read it but I was also glad when I finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, 26 April 2014
I can't say this was a riveting read, however it was interesting to see how they were kept and how they coped day to day, I didn't actually warm to them as a couple, although they were in a terrible situation I think their attitude made things worse,, they were obviously "well off" how many of us can just sail round the world on a yacht.They clearly wanted to keep hold of their monies and did a good job. I found the brother of Rachel very strange ,you could tell almost immediately this family was not close. I thought phone calls between them were strained and false. Interesting Read still don't warm to the Chandlers. Brave or just plain arrogant?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hostage, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well told,you are with them throughout their ordeal.I did find it a bit much when people nearing sixty are referred to as elderly,they are younger than my children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hostage: A Year at Gunpoint with Somali Gangsters
Hostage: A Year at Gunpoint with Somali Gangsters by Sarah Edworthy (Paperback - 1 Sep 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews