Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even the Gods have warts!
I could not wait to read this book having been present at most of the games described within its covers.
I was not disappointed either,as it proved to be a trip back in time with revelations that made me sit back and wonder.
It was a time when no surname was necessary when talking of anyone in the red jersey,and the results of the team meant so much to the...
Published on 10 Oct 2009 by Keith Thomas

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
great book and service. H B Owen.
Published 2 months ago by H. B. OWEN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even the Gods have warts!, 10 Oct 2009
By 
Keith Thomas "sailor boy" (at sea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I could not wait to read this book having been present at most of the games described within its covers.
I was not disappointed either,as it proved to be a trip back in time with revelations that made me sit back and wonder.
It was a time when no surname was necessary when talking of anyone in the red jersey,and the results of the team meant so much to the people of Wales during a pretty bleak period.
Season by season accounts brought the memories flooding back,I could almost smell the beer breaths and flowing urine on the east terrace once again!
The book tends not to pile too much glorification on the men who brought us the pride,although obviously recognising their undoubted skills.Interviews with all the usual suspects give substance to my description that even the gods have warts!
Gareth,Gerald,Merve,JPR,Phil,JJ,etc all give insights as to what it was like to play for Wales at that time.
Contributions are also printed from Clive Rowlands,and John Dawes who had to coach the elite.
Behind the match day build up details are most interesting with tales of those training days on Aberavon beach beside the Afon Lido sports complex watched by thousands.
A book generally aimed for those who were there as Max Boyce once said,but also one for anyone younger who wonders why those such as I can't stop talking about those halcyon days.
Buy it with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOBODY BEATS US, 20 Feb 2011
This review is from: Nobody Beats Us: The Inside Story of the 1970s Wales Rugby Team (Paperback)
I was there but never realised how good those days were or what had really been achived. The book was unbiased and full of anecdotes that I had never heard. A must for all rugby buffs whether you are Welsh or not! Got to be in every sports fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great account of a legendary period of Welsh rugby, 10 May 2013
By 
Mr. J. Purchase (S. W. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody Beats Us: The Inside Story of the 1970s Wales Rugby Team (Paperback)
Seeing as I wasn't around in the 70's, this gave me an idea of why the players of this era were so revered by their peers and the country as a whole. It covers all the key events and is a great insight into how the players of the amateur era lived and played the game. This makes their achievements even more astonishing. The book is interspersed with the social and economic issues that were dominating Wales at the time and made it apparent why the teams success was such a welcome distraction for people who were facing cuts and redundancies etc. It is this back story that adds to the romance of the era and why people hold the players in such regard for everything they achieved during such an era.
Anyone who is a fan of Welsh rugby should read this, whether they were around in the 70's or not as this was a brilliant period in the national game. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody Beats Us: The Inside Story of the 1970s Wales Rugby Team (Paperback)
If you were there in the 70's following Wales you will love every second you spend reading this delightful book. It took me back to days spent at Twickenham, Cardiff Arms Park and Parc des Princes, and is beautifully written.
I did not want it to end.
You will not be disappointed... a wonderful tribute to JPR, Reames, The King, Gareth, Benny, et al and a trip down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for Welsh rugby fans, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody Beats Us: The Inside Story of the 1970s Wales Rugby Team (Paperback)
A book full of information for all fans of Welsh rugby. Interesting as well of course for fans of the game who may support the opposition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Welsh Rugby at it's best, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody Beats Us: The Inside Story of the 1970s Wales Rugby Team (Paperback)
I am afraid I can remember the glory days of the seventies and really connected with this book. I have now lent it to a fellow Welshman at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Welsh Great, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody Beats Us: The Inside Story of the 1970s Wales Rugby Team (Paperback)
I am not Welsh but this is written with such humour and with a great desire to win by a team. A lot of rugby teams of today should read this book and maybe other team sports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars possibly the best book on Welsh rugby ever, 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Nobody Beats Us: The Inside Story of the 1970s Wales Rugby Team (Paperback)
As a rabid Welsh follower I lived the era and remember well many of the events in the book. The background and insight are fascinating. It probably takes a non-Welshman to write such a good book because we are so partisan about our rugby! I had never heard of David Tossell before seeing this book but I shall certainly read some of his other works on other sports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent for a rugby fan, 24 Nov 2011
By 
Ms. S. Davies (Gwent, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody Beats Us: The Inside Story of the 1970s Wales Rugby Team (Paperback)
A must for all Welsh rugby fans hopefully it will be an excellent christmas present for my brother who is a Welsh rugby fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 19 Oct 2014
By 
H. B. OWEN - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book and service. H B Owen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nobody Beats Us: The Inside Story of the 1970s Wales Rugby Team
Nobody Beats Us: The Inside Story of the 1970s Wales Rugby Team by David Tossell (Paperback - 4 Nov 2010)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews