Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIRST RATE
Curiosity got the better of me and I picked this book wondering if the boy Savage had pulled off another con-trick and run off with my money! No way. This is a real page-turner right from the off. I actually found the letter from dad to a young Robbie at the start very moving and seemed to set the tone for what unfolds. It's a pretty honest account from a man who...
Published on 8 Aug. 2010 by wordsworth

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money
To start off, I just want to say that I love sport biographies and actually had a bit of a soft spot for Robbie Savage when he played.

There possibly could have been a Robbie Savage biography that revealed an interesting, substantive human being that is hinted at occasionally in his punditry. Sadly, this book only portrays the shallowness of the modern...
Published 20 months ago by Mr A Weir


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIRST RATE, 8 Aug. 2010
Curiosity got the better of me and I picked this book wondering if the boy Savage had pulled off another con-trick and run off with my money! No way. This is a real page-turner right from the off. I actually found the letter from dad to a young Robbie at the start very moving and seemed to set the tone for what unfolds. It's a pretty honest account from a man who actually does have plenty of stories to tell - unlike many who have trod this path before. Well worth a read - pacey, punchy account getting under the feathers of a footballing peacock. Funny stories(and some quite moving ones)all follow on from each other to make it difficult to put down. Very entertaining read - first rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real Robbie Savage stands up, 29 Aug. 2010
By 
Alex Williams (Aylesbury, Bucks) - See all my reviews
Nothing you read in Savage! will change your mind about the man. You will still love him. Or you will still hate him. It may be that your view becomes even more polarised - but at least it will be based on fact rather than blind prejudice. Yes, he admits, he deliberately winds people up; yes, he tries to get opponents sent off; yes, he's overachieved as a player; yes, he buys a lot of boy-racer motor cars; yes, he dyes his hair, whitens his teeth, uses fake tan, and has a bizarre clothes sense; and yes, he loves his mum. But Savage! turns the cartoon character he can sometimes appear into something more 3-D. His ghost, Janine Self, allows Savage's voice, and his almost endearing self-deprecation, to shine through in a book that rattles along at a fair old pace. Recommended for those on both sides of the great Savage debate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To start off, I just want to say that I love sport biographies and actually had a bit of a soft spot for Robbie Savage when he played.

There possibly could have been a Robbie Savage biography that revealed an interesting, substantive human being that is hinted at occasionally in his punditry. Sadly, this book only portrays the shallowness of the modern Premiership footballer, (although perhaps I am being too harsh and the book is instead an accurate reflection of a singular conceited big-mouth that happened to play football for a living).

The first-person narrative does nothing to persuade the reader that Savage isn't a completely self-centred moron, despite numerous entreaties to the contrary. If Savage isn't trying to persuade you how brilliant he is, or re-hashing the numerous arguments he has had during his career, he decides to regale with tales of his vast wealth and lavish spending. Wins and promotions are measured by the size of the bonus he receives, as are major life events, such as his marriage, honeymoon, and various house purchases.

His opinion of himself is staggeringly inflated, and if you knew nothing about football or humanity, Savage would have you believe that he is one of the best footballers and human beings of all time.

More generally, books by players such as Savage call into question the necessity of publishing books by modern-day footballers. Everything they do is reported in the press and therefore the only thing revealed by having them 'write' a tell-all book is their own perspective on the matter which, in the case of Robbie Savage at least, does not add any value to the reader’s understanding of events. This is why I tend to steer clear of the biographies of modern footballers and it was a total aberration to expect anything different from Robbie Savage.

Don't read this book. It isn't worth the time, the money, or the depressing insight into the mind of a conceited braggart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robbie Savage - the footballer that supporters love to hate, 2 Sept. 2010
By 
Bantam Dave (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
When he was twenty Robbie Savage was released by Manchester United after they decided he was not good enough. Despite this he fought back to have a long and successful career at both club & international level. He is an above average footballer then but when it comes to winding people up he has become one of the best in the world. He loves to niggle. It could be a tap on the ankle or an over the top tackle or it could be a sly remark designed to unsettle the opponents; he has become infamous as being a player that supporters love to hate.

On reading his autobiography I got the distinct impression that he was not satisfied with winding people up on the field and he is now trying to do that to the readers of this book. Don't misunderstand me, I thoroughly enjoyed this very entertaining book, it just that some of his comments angered me just as much as one of his badly timed tackles would. For example he takes very great pleasure in the fact that he is one of the most booked players in Premier League history. Surely this should be an embarrassment to him, certainly not a thing to be proud of. He also tells us about a verbal battle he once had with Graeme Souness; he obviously thinks it irrelevant that not only was Souness an infinitely superior player than him but Souness's trophy cabinet contains far more winners medals than Savage's ever will. Equally annoyingly, he seems to be a bit of a big head. He loves to flaunt the financial rewards that football has given him, even going as far as revealing the signing on fees that each transfer has given him. He was obviously off sick when they were teaching the children about humility when he was at school.

Some autobiographies leave the reader a liking the writer a little more but I didn't like Robbie Savage any more after reading his book. Maybe this was his intention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Mouth - Big Heart, 10 Aug. 2010
By 
When i first heard that Robbie Savage was releasing his autobiography i did not really give it a second thought, even though i am a Derby County Supporter. I was at the point of totally letting it pass me by until i read about why he was writing it. The reason being that Robbie's father is suffering from a form of dementia which is becoming worse over time and Robbie was concerned his father's deteriorating health would mean that he would soon not recognise him.

Having lost my father a few years ago, i was therefore drawn to the book.

However, a few days before its release i read a some comments made and said by Robbie Savage in one of his articles that really put me off the book and Robbie Savage. Once i had found the clarification i needed on what he really meant in the article (the book backs it up too) i decided to read the autobiography. I now accept that what Robbie said just came out the wrong way.

Having just read the book i have to say that i really enjoyed it. Robbie's Father plays a massive role in his life and he should be very proud of what his son has achieved. So should Robbie's mother.

The last few chapters were also very uplifting as Robbie describes his initial nightmare spell at Derby County and how it then turned into a perfect dream with the arrival of his SAVIOUR, Nigel Clough.

Well Done Robbie Savage, Captain of Derby County.

All the best for the rest of the season and the future ahead :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth a read for a football fan, 30 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Savage!: The Robbie Savage Autobiography (Paperback)
I accidentally purchased this on my new kindle... I was browsing through some books and next thing i know i had 'Savage' added to my collection.

It was a pretty good read to be fair. I have recently warmed to him on strictly and i thought he came across like a decent bloke in this book.

I always find it interesting getting an insight into the characters of managers, footballers, pundits in the game and Savage is quite clear cut with his views. Stories involving the likes of Martin O'neil, Mark Hughes, Nigel Clough, Paul Jewell, Fergie and obviously Toshack! He is quite fair with his comments and not too self indulgent.

Some funny stories involving his early man utd days with the likes of giggsy, Becks and 'do or dare' games with the Man Utd first teamers. Then the dark days of his Derby career.

I reckon if you are a Birmingham, Leicester or Derby fan you might find it interesting to see what was going on behind the scenes...Savage!: The Robbie Savage Autobiography
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 5 Jan. 2012
Read this in 2 days over the new year. It's a good account of savages life from his days growing up in a small town in Wales, through his dissapointment to be rejected by Man United as a teenager to making a successful career as a footballer. Savage is honest about his limited ability but has used this book to show what can be achieved with hard work and dedication. It is obvious from reading it that Savage was aware of his limited ability but prided himself on playing above and beyond expectation in order to be the nest that he could be! He also shows that he wishes to continue with this work ethic after retirement from footbal by pursuing a career in the media. It's an honest account and one in which Savage shows his appreciation for the help and support that he received from family and close friends throughout. He is minted now but the book gives the impression if he had to start over from scratch he'd make a go of anything that he put his hand to. It's worth the money if you want to fins out more about the man himself. Well done @robbiesavage8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 10 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Savage!: The Robbie Savage Autobiography (Paperback)
I picked this book up yesterday and could not put it down. I have always had the opinion that he was just a wind up merchant but this book really brings across how much he loves football.

Some great insightful stories about his career and the managers he has played under. I thoroughly recommend this book to any football fan. Very honest account of himself and in parts very moving. Hard to believe he started off life as a forward! Some funny stories about his youth at United and very good account of all the scuffles he had throughout his career.

After reading this book my opinion of him has completely changed. He stills annoys me that he get JE sent off but I will now not base my opinion of him based on that one game. If you are going to buy an autobiography about a premiership player (except Keano) then this is the one I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ROBBIE SAVAGE NAKED, 11 Oct. 2011
By 
This review is from: Savage!: The Robbie Savage Autobiography (Paperback)
This is not a classic but it flows well and is amusing in many places. A bit of repetition here and there. Apart from that Savage gets credit for not holding back and getting all of the contentious stories out there, no holes barred. Sometimes you want more detail. often less, especially when giving credit to his mates. Quite frankly they are a pretty ordinary bunch and should not be part of a football book because they do not have the relevance that Paul Gascoigne's or Paul McGrath mates had on his career. The detail of football in the eighties and nineties is worth buying the book for on it's own. Before I read the book I did not like Robbie Savage as a footballer, now I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Understandably dividing opinions, 26 Dec. 2013
By 
Laurence Dann "LD strategy" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Savage!: The Robbie Savage Autobiography (Paperback)
I was curious as to why Robbie Savage divided opinions so readily. Now I
feel a little better equipped to understand why many admire him, while
others are easily annoyed.

In the early parts of the book he is depicted as a young, energetic person
who loved a joke, change room banter and to wind people up. He came from
humble beginnings, was shy, had a speech impediment, a slight frame, family
and a sizeable ego. He repeatedly jokes that a friend assisted him to pass
exams. This character trait of doing anything to win, without in his opinion,
being malicious, continued on the football pitch.

Savage's determination to play professional football despite not being deemed
good enough to play for Manchester United, leads to an impressive 600 plus
Premier Division games. He thanks people for their contribution to his life
even after conflicting with them. Sir Alex Ferguson, his neighbour for six
months, falls into the category of preferring to cut contact.

Savage makes it clear that he wins many man of the match awards, was often
sensational on the pitch and aspired to be captain but was not offered the
chance till late in his career. Sometimes with disastrous consequences. To
his credit, he is self-deprecating about his image, his car, house and boat
buying where he loses considerable sums of money.

I think many readers will be put off him as a person simply due to how he
monetises many transactions. He likes to let the reader how much he earns,
how much he saves, how much he loses or wastes. Bragging is a theme in the
second half of the book that detracts from the fairly decent impression we
get in the first half.

What I particularly find difficult in the book is that we don't get told much
about Savage's interests, hobbies philosophies, why Mark Hughes was an idol,
why he thought Steve Bruce was a good manager. He mentions his dogs, wife,
mates, parents but we don't ever get a sense of their characters to understand
why they mean so much to him. We know he likes to walk Boxers, watch TV, the
media, but never get more than a very superficial insight as to why. He never
mentions significant places or reading about anything other than news about himself.

What aggravates is his pride at being booked 91 times, fouling, diving,
pretending to make his mark. Much of the second half of the book is about him
justifying his actions. bemoaning unfair treatment or settling scores. He shows
little insight as to why fans booed him or why he was substituted. In one
instance, he angrily approached Steve Bruce as to why he was pulled off and Bruce
said he was crap. Savage responds by saying that one game in sixty isn't bad.
Implying that even if he is crap he has earned the right to play. Regards being
booed, he says he doesn't think its personal, rather a mole in the dressing room
feeding negativity to the media. Right, work that one out.

In earlier days, he needed a lot of hired help, to mow his lawn, do his laundry,
change a car tyre, wash his car which if added to the fact that as he gets older,
he shows little appreciation or understanding for home making other than shouting
at his wife and children if the house is dirty in case guests arrive. Football seems
to be the only thing in his life that interests him, other than banter, cars and
spending money.

He claims to have been saving £40,000 a month for some time. This explains, I think,
why another reviewer talks about a lack of class. Along with his comments that in
his opinion, many fans loved him, that he was Mr. Birmingham. His bragging about his
popularity at Birmingham in the 2002/03 season is plain revolting. One nauseous
quote is "First season, I was the main man. Fact." There are others in a similar
vein littered around the book that dilute the books value substantially.

I don't think any reader would begrudge Robbie Savage his hard earned fame and fortune.
As he said often, he overachieved and his love of the limelight drove him. He made good.
Well done. However, he did fail to build spirit in the team when captain at Derby, he
does go on about his money, houses and cars. He mentions he scored one single goal for
Blackburn, surely this would raise a few eyebrows as to his form and ability? Needless
to say, he would rather readers think he was undervalued and a bit of a world beater
actually. His humour and childish pranks he says were often misunderstood. I would argue,
that he had little sensitivity for others and was not prepared solve the problem and
change his ways.

Robbie's book would be more tolerable if he ceased to justify his behaviour, to settle
scores and seek to understand others more. He will continue then to do well, yet behave
with discretion, some wisdom and respect for his viewers. Without which, he surely will
continue to annoy people as his media profile grows.

He wanted to be liked on the big stage and he admitted to want to be the next Gary
Lineker in the media. Considering Lineker was never booked or cautioned, won a few golden
boots and has a great goals to games ratio as a player, he is somewhat different to Savage.

That said, many would suggest that if Robbie Savage combines his talents and determination
with some sensitivity training, he will do well with his technical knowledge and experience.
I gave the book three stars because in my opinion it provides enough anecdotes and insights
into the subject, while never being riveting. Its not a bad book, just irritating in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Savage!: The Robbie Savage Autobiography
Savage!: The Robbie Savage Autobiography by Robbie Savage (Paperback - 4 Aug. 2011)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews