Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You couldn't make it up
A very readable book about a man who took opportunities when they arose and lived through the war on his wits with a certain amount of luck and charm thrown in. If this was made into a film it would seem too fantastic.
It also gives an insight into a certain generation when you either had jam or butter on your bread,not both, bad manners were not tollerated and...
Published on 28 Oct 2010 by Mrs Young

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Like a few other reviewers I expected this book to be about the authors expoits during the Second World War. The book covered this subject admirably, plus his childhood and schooling which I found fascinating. This is probably one of the best "behind the lines" accounts of the Second World War that I have read to date. However, the author spoils the book by turning it...
Published on 18 Jan 2011 by R. B. Lee


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You couldn't make it up, 28 Oct 2010
A very readable book about a man who took opportunities when they arose and lived through the war on his wits with a certain amount of luck and charm thrown in. If this was made into a film it would seem too fantastic.
It also gives an insight into a certain generation when you either had jam or butter on your bread,not both, bad manners were not tollerated and travel by public transport or foot was the norm. I'm not sure I would walk 3 miles for Sunday dinner, I could, but I don't think I would. Although he clearly feels that his rugby wasn't up to much, compared to his brother, few get to play at that level and his achievements whether during or post war make a remarkable story.

Having met the author I have to say that he still maintains the charm that comes over in the book and a remarkable amount of modesty considering his experiences and achievements. A very good read and recommended as a Xmas present for anyone with an interest in WWII.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Behind Enemy Lines: The Autobiography of Britain's Most Decorated Living War Hero, 21 Nov 2010
By 
Alf Robertson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fascinating and very readable life story of one of the real tough men of that generation who are fast disappearing. It is to Sir Tommy's great credit that he has committed his story to print for us to get some insight into what happened during WW2. This is one of those rare books that I will read again very soon after the first reading and I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 Jan 2011
By 
R. B. Lee (Cambs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like a few other reviewers I expected this book to be about the authors expoits during the Second World War. The book covered this subject admirably, plus his childhood and schooling which I found fascinating. This is probably one of the best "behind the lines" accounts of the Second World War that I have read to date. However, the author spoils the book by turning it into a name dropping exercise regarding his successes since the War. The author is obviously a remarkable chap, but was it necessary to name in detail all of the businesses he has worked for and the board positions he has successfully held since then? What started off as a biography earning a five star review quickly became deteriorated to three stars, and by the end became very tedious. My suggestion is that any readers should put the book down and lose it at the point where the War ends, allowing your opinion of the author to remain in the hero category which he justifiably deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable life but too much self engrandisment, 22 Mar 2011
This is a book guaranteed to make you feel totally inadequate! Sir Tommy seemed to succeed in everything he attempted. The fact that he got through the war at all was a feat in itself given his exploits. I agree with the majority of other reviewers that the second half of the book, about his business life mainly, was dull and full of name dropping. That said, I thought his description of his politics tutorials at Oxford which he shared with Tony Crosland was fascinating.

Definitely worth purchasing if you want a nice easy read to while away a few hours at an airport!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile read, 30 Dec 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and am pleased and grateful that Sir Tommy MacPherson got around to sharing his story with a wider public. It is well written by his ghostwriter Richard Bath. Although I would agree with another reviewer that the chapters on childhood and civilian life might be of less interest than his wartime experiences, in my opinion these DO add something to the book: it is clear that Sir Tommy is an extremely able and determined character who managed to surmount all sorts of difficulties from childhood onwards. I don't read war stories usually, but would certainly recommend this one highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB, 26 Jan 2011
This book is the first ive read from the ww2 genre and i highly rate it, if you want to read about true heroes from ww2 then this is the book.... buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Behind Enemy Lines, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind Enemy Lines: The Autobiography of Britain's Most Decorated Living War Hero (Paperback)
I assumed wrongly that this book was going to be about its Title ! " Behind Enemy Lines" Wrong, some of it was , but very little. Even from the beginning it became a book about name dropping. I appreciate that it does say somewhere on the cover that it is an autobiography, but the Title itself does not suggest that. It is not a book I would recommend to anyone who thinks that all it is going to be is story of his army life during the war. The majority of the book is given partly to his school life, university life, then much of it is his life after the war which consists mainly of name dropping of who I knew and who I got jobs with.
In my opinion a very poor book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind Enemy Lines: The Autobiography of Britain's Most Decorated Living War Hero (Paperback)
So upset as I bought this for a Xmas present for a man of over 70. He wears glasses to read but the print is so ridiculously small on the paperback version. Surely the producers of this paperback would assume that this book would be of interest mostly to older readers? What a shame as the book content is obviously so excellent. If I had had time I would have returned it to Amazon but didn't have time before Xmas. Hope my friend has a magnifying glass!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Behind Enemy lines, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was particularly interesting for me as I know Tommy from College days. He is such a charming man hiding a steel interior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tommy macpherson, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind Enemy Lines: The Autobiography of Britain's Most Decorated Living War Hero (Paperback)
the story of a brave man. not many could have done the daring,heroic deeds tommy macpherson participated in. he had a gentler side to his nature as a family man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behind Enemy Lines: The Autobiography of Britain's Most Decorated Living War Hero
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews