Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must in your mountain bookshelf!
I have read all the books covering the 1996 disaster on Everest, and this was a true disaster which could have easily been avoided by a better judgement of some main people involved. Scott and Rob had their own strict rules that they both ignored on summit day. As responsible for clients, that is something you just do not do. Even on a mountain as Everest. Maybe specially...
Published on 3 April 2011 by Torgeir Kjus

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Skim read to get to the one interesting point. Review contains spoilers.
CONTAINS SPOILER AT END OF REVIEW; You know when you've been to work training courses, where 3 hours of information is stretched over 2 days and taught by 'hilarious' anecdotes to illustrate each mundane point that leaves you so frustrated inside. Welcome to this book. There is one point made in this. Holy moly a whole book on a single, albeit, important point. The...
Published 4 months ago by Brooks


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Skim read to get to the one interesting point. Review contains spoilers., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
CONTAINS SPOILER AT END OF REVIEW; You know when you've been to work training courses, where 3 hours of information is stretched over 2 days and taught by 'hilarious' anecdotes to illustrate each mundane point that leaves you so frustrated inside. Welcome to this book. There is one point made in this. Holy moly a whole book on a single, albeit, important point. The editor needed some serious and radical red penning of this manuscript.

I came away with a dislike of the author whose heavy pen welding hand stomps over every page.

Seriously think twice about spending the money unless you have time to waste on the minutae of someone else's life. The whole book, other than all the anecdotes, is about the fact that the ill fated teams had access to weather reports and knew the weather was going to turn the day after the chosen summit day but risked it instead of waited. In doing so it appeared they risked others lives by asking them to submit the following day, to leave the 10th free for them, knowing there was an expected and forecasted storm.

Now if you want more, an endless detailed pub bores conversation on how he found that out spend your money on this book. Otherwise give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must in your mountain bookshelf!, 3 April 2011
This review is from: A Day to Die For: 1996: Everest's Worst Disaster - One Survivor's Personal Journey to Uncover the Truth (Paperback)
I have read all the books covering the 1996 disaster on Everest, and this was a true disaster which could have easily been avoided by a better judgement of some main people involved. Scott and Rob had their own strict rules that they both ignored on summit day. As responsible for clients, that is something you just do not do. Even on a mountain as Everest. Maybe specially not on a mountain like Everest!

I find Grahams book compelling reading and it is a true "untold story". His story gave me a chill through my spine. Ratcliffe has invested an enormous time in investigating what really happened just before the summit day of 10th of May 1996. His writing is riveting and it was not easy to put it away even if I had a lot of other things to do. I just had to find out what happened during these devastating days. His angle of the story is really different and very personal. That to his credit 100%. Every story about mountaineering and others has more than one view. As for Maurice Herzog`s "Annapurna" the Everest 1996 story has its different chapters and Graham has given us one new and important chapter. I find the book well written and a true gold-bar in my book shelf. One can only salut his guts for daring to tell us his story and I admire his stubbornness for never giving up his quest to find answers.

Thanks for a great reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 3 April 2011
By 
A. Wright "Angela" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Day to Die For: 1996: Everest's Worst Disaster - One Survivor's Personal Journey to Uncover the Truth (Paperback)
A Day To Die For: 1996: Everest's Worst Disaster - The Untold True Story
A wonderful book. The story of one man's tenacity to get to the truth about the 1996 disaster. He was there and knows. Graham writes naturally and simply and pulls you in to the story. Ignore the 1 star spoilers and READ it yourself. Angela
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There are much better books than this, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read a few books on this subject I was looking forward to hearing a different side to the events. To me this read like the author's autobiography with a small part about the disaster in the middle ,and then his justification as to why he didn't go to help. Save your money there are much better books out there .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good In Parts, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would say the first two thirds of this book is very readable. Once the tedious investigation of whether the guided party leaders had access to weather summaries kicks in, it is laboured and tiresome. The story of the authors life from pit to Everest is excellent. I think his views regarding Scott Fischer and Rob Hall are a little caustic at times. Yes mistakes were made but I am not sure this author was the right person to conduct an ad hoc investigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weather or not, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Found the last 30% hard to get through as the account of getting to the bottom of the forecasts was long winded at best. The account does throw a different light though on why so many perished and the drivers that potentially helped make those decisions to ignore the signs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful account!, 25 April 2011
By 
Mr. D. C. Everall (Co. Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Day to Die For: 1996: Everest's Worst Disaster - One Survivor's Personal Journey to Uncover the Truth (Paperback)
"A Day to Die for" presents a carefully researched account of the worst disaster in the history of Everest. Graham Ratcliffe deals with the disturbing facts and arrives frankly but sympathetically at some disquieting conclusions. The book is, however, more than an unravelling of a mystery; it vividly descibes the beautiful surroundings as well as the thrills and dangers experienced by dedicated mountaineers.
Alan Wilkinson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A collection of the facts., 4 April 2011
This review is from: A Day to Die For: 1996: Everest's Worst Disaster - One Survivor's Personal Journey to Uncover the Truth (Paperback)
A good read for those with an interest in high altitude mountaineering, especially for those with knowledge of the events of May 1996 on Everest. Graham has also included interesting anecdotes and experiences encountered during his travels and whilst gathering information for this book.

As for Graham's conclusions, well he has presented the most inclusive set evidence and circumstances to date of the events that day so draw you own conclusions and see if they agree with Graham's. In any event the two main characters are no longer here to add their version of events, they have held onto their reasoning to proceed to the summit so all we have left is speculation.

Well done, Graham, it was worth the effort and all those sleepless nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Night to Stay up with A Day to Die For, 9 Mar 2011
This review is from: A Day to Die For: 1996: Everest's Worst Disaster - One Survivor's Personal Journey to Uncover the Truth (Paperback)
I love how this book throws you straight into the climb in freezing conditions.
Disaster looms in the foreseeable future from page one. When half way through the book it becomes difficult to put down. Having become familiar with some of the characters you want desperately to know their fate.
So sleepless nights follow while you feel the grip of the freezing ice, even when reading in bed under the covers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant!, 7 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Day to Die For: 1996: Everest's Worst Disaster - One Survivor's Personal Journey to Uncover the Truth (Paperback)
Wow! What a fantastically well written book, I couldn't put it down. I didn't know where the book was going to take me next. Compelling is an understatement. A very human story whether you are interested in climbing or not. It has completely changed how I view the 96 Everest tragedy. Which begs the question: why haven't these facts be given to us before now?

If you have read Into Thin Air this book is an absolute must.....and in my opinion far better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Day to Die For: 1996: Everest's Worst Disaster - One Survivor's Personal Journey to Uncover the Truth
Used & New from: £3.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews