Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning and gripping debut
In case anyone is hesitating, it is the most compelling and refreshingly honest account of a personal journey to be published in many years. A gripping and stunning debut, which becomes a social document of our times even whilst focussing on the intensely individual pain of its heroine (no pun intended)..Strongly recommended!
Published on 20 May 2010 by Chris Stone

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Page- turning escapism. (I would have liked to give it 3.5 stars!)
I finished this book today and found it an intriguing read. I couldn't wait to find out what would happen to Katie next in her interesting and self destructive life! The blunt and colloquial tone adopted throughout was also fantastic, as I could really feel that there was an autobiographical element to the novel. I like the fact that the author did not sugar coat...
Published on 22 May 2011 by Ms. L. M. Carr


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning and gripping debut, 20 May 2010
This review is from: Hooked: Confessions of a London Call Girl (Paperback)
In case anyone is hesitating, it is the most compelling and refreshingly honest account of a personal journey to be published in many years. A gripping and stunning debut, which becomes a social document of our times even whilst focussing on the intensely individual pain of its heroine (no pun intended)..Strongly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Page- turning escapism. (I would have liked to give it 3.5 stars!), 22 May 2011
By 
Ms. L. M. Carr (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hooked: Confessions of a London Call Girl (Paperback)
I finished this book today and found it an intriguing read. I couldn't wait to find out what would happen to Katie next in her interesting and self destructive life! The blunt and colloquial tone adopted throughout was also fantastic, as I could really feel that there was an autobiographical element to the novel. I like the fact that the author did not sugar coat anything, it was blunt and realistic. Despite Katie being rather self-obsessed she was still likeable, and the psychology behind her addiction was also explored quite interestingly.
I could empathise with Katie, even though I have never been in her situation, and I felt particularly moved when she was raped by that middle-class man. I feel that the novel really strikes a cord, as so many women really do sleep with men in order to feel desirable and loved.. and that they should learn to love themselves instead of giving themselves to men to be used.However, despite enjoying the story I did find the ending to be possibly rushed, I would have liked to learn more about about her recovery/rehab. It seemed as if the novel was too nicely wrapped up... But for sheer entertainment I would recommend this novel to anyone, it will not take you very long to read as it is such a page turner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Debut book, 5 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Hooked: Confessions of a London Call Girl (Paperback)
Amazing debut book, filled with all the pain and honesty of an addicts personal journey to recovery. A real insight into the darkness and degredation that addition can bring and the strength to tackle those inner deamons. A must buy - it's refreshing to read something so honest.Hooked: Confessions of a London Call Girl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant..., 27 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Hooked: Confessions of a London Call Girl (Paperback)
A complete page turner into the darker side of city life... A turbalent rollercoaster ride of a book that has you Hooked from the start... I loved this book read it in a day and loved the sheer determination and strength of katie ...
This ain't belle de jour... It's a million times more frank and better :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked, 15 May 2010
By 
Julia Roworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hooked: Confessions of a London Call Girl (Paperback)
I picked this book up on Sunday and by 3am the following morning I has finished it. Amazingly fast paced and intoxicating; leading the reader down the twisted lanes and alleys of a life tumbling out of control. I thoroughly enjoyed the sensitivity throughout this book, and with its butterfly like presence of wanting to get well, exacerbated towards the end when Clare finally broke out of her cycle of chaos and found recovery and the beginnings of a new life. A must read for those always look inwards as well as outwards on life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting honest read, 24 July 2011
This review is from: Hooked: Confessions of a London Call Girl (Paperback)
The types of books I usually read are diaries about sexual encounters with a fun spin on the things the women get up to, this clearly has a darker side which is a new one for me.

The 1st few chapters skip back & forth which I found a little annoying but stuck with the book & I'm glad I did, it was a very good book detailing how addiction can really take control of someone's life even when they think they have control of the situation it can rapidly change.

It was an interesting read & I would recommend it to anyone who likes an honest read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hooked by clare gee, 27 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Hooked: Confessions of a London Call Girl (Paperback)
hooked by clare gee, who i am proud to know as a friend, is a candid, and emotional insight into her past , it is written with real emotion, truth and honesty and shows how she has come through a difficult and sometimes turbulent life, dealth with her demons and problems and moved forward, its a very true and accurate account of her life and she is now a stronger and person for that, she doesnt glamourise or condone what she has done and it shows how someone can come though all this to be the loveli honest and beautiful person i am proud to call a friend , its an awesome read and i wud reccommend it to anyone over the age of 18 as a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real eye opener, 6 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Hooked: Confessions of a London Call Girl (Paperback)
This book is about addiction and not strictly about prostitution as the cover may imply. Clare Gee has created an easy-to-read, intelligently written, fast-paced eye-opener into the spectrum of real emotions that we all suffer to varying degrees. Although harrowing at times, this is a must-read for both males and females. Ignore the pink cover, the content is certainly much darker.
You will be gripped by Hooked. Guaranteed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trash, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hooked: Confessions of a London Call Girl (Paperback)
Don't waste your money, It's filth for the sake of filth. It isn't interesting in any way. I thought I was going to read a heart felt story about someone involved in the worst aspects of life and trying desperately to help themselves.
Who wants to know how a class A drug stimulates a bowel movement? That was page 22 where it finished for me Yuck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 1 Jun. 2010
By 
William Hoarstein (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hooked: Confessions of a London Call Girl (Paperback)
Hooked is not normally what I'd pick up on a shelf, but at the recommendation of a friend I did, and was amazed at the honest depiction of a less than glamorous life,and couldn't put it down before the end. Great book,and a ray of hope for people who have gone down dangerous paths and are struggling to get out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hooked: Confessions of a London Call Girl
Hooked: Confessions of a London Call Girl by Clare Gee (Paperback - 6 May 2010)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews