Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voices from the back of the bus...a must read.
This book is all about good old fashioned rugby humour by our heroes of yesterday.The book is a must read for all rugby loving followers. The antics and stories are recalled by the players and the book is set in individual sections, making it an easy enjoyable read. An excellant book supporting a worthwhile cause, the Heart Foundation.
Published on 30 Oct. 2009 by Mr. W. R. MCDONAGH

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A little bit disappointed!
I'm a little bit disappointed with this book to be honest. Don't get me wrong there are some great tales but as a rugby tourist who knows the score the book seems to be sanitised so much that someone's granny could read it.
Published 7 months ago by Anthony Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voices from the back of the bus...a must read., 30 Oct. 2009
This book is all about good old fashioned rugby humour by our heroes of yesterday.The book is a must read for all rugby loving followers. The antics and stories are recalled by the players and the book is set in individual sections, making it an easy enjoyable read. An excellant book supporting a worthwhile cause, the Heart Foundation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must read for all rugby fans of yesteryear ..., 20 Jan. 2010
By 
David Jones (UK, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As an Xmas stocking-filler, this has really brightened up the cold and wet January of 2010 for me. An easy read of course, but filled with fun and interesting stories - the difference betwen this and other similar titles, is in the wealth of contributions from many unsung heroes of the last 30 or 40 years, and this makes it unique in that many of the stories, I hadn't heard before. Most of them raise a good smile and several made me laugh out loud.

There are many contributions from our Irish rugby friends, and their take on things is always especially humorous. A word for the author too - he made many contributions himself and they clearly show that he was a man of his time - hard, dedicated and fun-loving in the extreme.

Well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 25 Mar. 2010
By 
G. Lovett "Dikris" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A "must" for anyone interested in rugby who enjoys a laugh.

Well written and gives the reader an insight into some of the greatest characters the game has ever produced both on and off the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars before money, 30 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Voices from the Back of the Bus: Tall Tales and Hoary Stories from Rugby's Real Heroes (Paperback)
this book is a must for anybody who has played or is indeed playing rugby union today. This book recounts memories from an era when the only money paid was by the players for kit and beer!!When rugby players were men and retribution was given and taken on the field and you took it and got on with the game.
This book has brought tears of joy and sadness in equal amounts with its moving and funny stories told by the people who were there.
If you dont like this book then you have never played rugby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Voices from the Back of the Bus: Tall Tales and Hoary Stories from Rugby's Real Heroes, 2 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Voices from the Back of the Bus: Tall Tales and Hoary Stories from Rugby's Real Heroes (Paperback)
This was purchased for my son as a gift so I can't personally comment but he reported that it was a very enjoyable read with some interesting snippets & 'behind-the-scenes' information about various players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious, 22 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Voices from the Back of the Bus: Tall Tales and Hoary Stories from Rugby's Real Heroes (Paperback)
loved this. Laugh out loud book. This is for all the girl friends who want to know what goes on when "the boys" are on tour or just off for a local derby. ideal also as a gift for an armchair rugby enthusiast. Must have for any rugby fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voices from the back seat, 16 July 2010
Got this for my rugby mad husband. It kept him quiet except for lots of loud laughing the whole way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A diverting read, 20 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voices from the Back of the Bus: Tall Tales and Hoary Stories from Rugby's Real Heroes (Paperback)
This a collection of humorous rugby tales from a collection of famous, and not so famous current and former players. It's not meant to be a cover to cover read, I don't think, more something you pick up for a few minutes while sitting on the toilet, riding in a car, or waiting for the next show to start.

The stories aren't bad, they made me smile, but I'm not sure you can take more than a few at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rugby with the lid off!, 18 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voices from the Back of the Bus: Tall Tales and Hoary Stories from Rugby's Real Heroes (Paperback)
For any rugby follower this book should not be missed! Although quite a lot of the content is provided by Irish ex-players it covers a lot of International flavour. As it is written in short/medium length contributions it is easy to read in 'small bites' and is full of incidents of rugby humour and camaraderie. A great gift for any rugby fan - I bought a second copy for my brother!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little bit disappointed!, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a little bit disappointed with this book to be honest. Don't get me wrong there are some great tales but as a rugby tourist who knows the score the book seems to be sanitised so much that someone's granny could read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Voices from the Back of the Bus: Tall Tales and Hoary Stories from Rugby's Real Heroes
£7.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews