Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful Memoir
This is a fascinating and immensely readable memoir. Eugenie Fraser - born Evgeniya Scholts in Archangel Russia in 1906 the eldest child of Russian father and Scottish mother reveals a world now consigned to history books. Samovars, wolves, sledges piled high with furs and packages rushing through the artic winter, women bathing naked in the river unobserved and...
Published on 11 April 2008 by A. Hope

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brought Ferry comes to Russia
Although a great deal of this book was interesting, I found it somewhat repetitive in detail. There are only so many meals and descriptions one can take.
Published 11 months ago by Yvonne Yule


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Dvina, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read it before, but because I lived in Broughty Ferry I had to read it again and remind myself of how it was years ago. The family's trials and tribulations, though, were frightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars House by the Divina, 15 Aug 2013
By 
Raymond A. Bunce (Hampshire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story and it is set in a time when most people do not really understand what went on. For me you can really understand why the peasants in Russia had to stand up and be counted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So interesting, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book captivating. In terms of history and the culture of the well to do Russian it was so interesting. It made me read further Russian history books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Holiday reading, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House by the Dvina: A Russian Childhood (Paperback)
Perfect for holiday reading, not demanding, but at the same time quite informative about a relatively recent period in British history, that i knew little.
Co-incidentally, I was in the Loch Ewe area in N W Scotland, from where the Artic Convoys gathered before sailing for Murmansk, with relief supplies, in the second World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating family saga., 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House by the Dvina: A Russian Childhood (Paperback)
Fascinating saga full of interesting customs and way of life, now lost.I found the names, mixed with nicknames a little difficult ,even with the help referring to the family tree.The rich,descriptive narrative makes it a delightful read..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The House by the Dvina. A Russian Childhood, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a beautifully written book with wonderful descriptions of scenery and occasions so you feel part of it all. We read it in the bookclub and 9 out of 10 of us loved it . Our only criticism was the family tree. It was impossible to follow and understand. A good family tree would be invaluable particularly if enlarged for the kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating story, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House by the Dvina: A Russian Childhood (Paperback)
I found The House by the Dvina: A Russian Childhood absolutely fascinating, such an insight into life in Russia in the early 1900's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The House by the Dvina: A Russian Childhood
The House by the Dvina: A Russian Childhood by Eugenie Fraser (Paperback - 4 Feb 2010)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews