Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful Memoir
This is a fascinating and immensely readable memoir. Eugenie Fraser - born Evgeniya Scholts in Archangel Russia in 1906 the eldest child of Russian father and Scottish mother reveals a world now consigned to history books. Samovars, wolves, sledges piled high with furs and packages rushing through the artic winter, women bathing naked in the river unobserved and...
Published on 11 April 2008 by A. Hope

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brought Ferry comes to Russia
Although a great deal of this book was interesting, I found it somewhat repetitive in detail. There are only so many meals and descriptions one can take.
Published 21 months ago by Yvonne Yule


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, 24 Oct. 2011
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The House by the Dvina: A Russian Childhood (Paperback)
To be honest if it hadn't been for my local book group I would never have come across this book, or have read it. However I am glad that I have now done so. Eugenie Fraser writes with such elegance, bringing places alive as well as people that this in some ways feels like a novel. She writes about her parents first meeting and other subjects before her time and brings them to life with her writing, rather than just putting down the bare facts.

Born of a Scottish mother and a Russian father, Eugenie grew up mainly in Russia for the first fifteen years of her life. With trips to Scotland, the trials and tribulations of her parents and other relatives we can see how Russia changed between 1905-1920. Brought up in a well off family, life starts off rather happy and fun for the young girl, but of course things change with the First World War, and then the Bolshevik Revolution.

With her younger brother and her mother, these three people manage to leave Russia and live with the Scottish side of the family at the end of this memoir, and with the way things were in Russia then, they lost contact with that side of the family.

Written more like a Russian novel than a simple memoir this book really brings to life Eugenie's childhood, and how Russia was for her, growing up. Definitely a book to consider if you wish to know what Russia was like for the middle classes in the early years of the 20th Century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely riveting!, 19 Aug. 2009
By 
Kent Bookworm "Sue K" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
What can I say that hasn't been written previously. What a wonderful book. It is just so hard to imagine the changes that Russia went through towards the end and immediately after the First World War. I have read books on the subject but to read an actual account of events first hand was just too poignant for words. Eugenie's childhood spent in the arctic regions of Archangel are wonderfully descriptive, you can smell the onset of spring and feel the absolute chill of winter. Her childhood was happy and that comes through in the book so well. It is only doubly sad when, one by one, the family has to break up, through no fault of their own, to make new lives for themselves or to just exist. Thoroughly recommended reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pre-Revolutionary Russian (and Scottish) Childhood, 26 Sept. 2009
By 
Dr. D. Brand (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Eugenie Fraser's Mother was Scottish - but her Father was Russian. As a result, she was born, and lived in, Archangel, but had many long holidays in St. Andrews.

She was 13 when the Revolution began, and simply but movingly describes the gradual dissolution of her lifestyle. She, her Mother and Brother managed to escape to Scotland in 1923 - and there the book ends.

She gives us her family background in loving - and fascinating - detail; she tells us many anecdotes, and describes vividly the Russian way of life, as well as the bitterly cold winters.

I found that I couldn't put the book down. I know that I will read and re-read it with great pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brought Ferry comes to Russia, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although a great deal of this book was interesting, I found it somewhat repetitive in detail. There are only so many meals and descriptions one can take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Book! Well worth a read., 3 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
What a wonderful book and what a wonderful story. In this book Eugenie Fraser manages to convey the life of her Scottish and Russian families in a very personal way.
She takes you from the very beginnings of her families history, her parents first meeting each other through to the revolution in Russian and beyond.
I would highly recommend this book, it is very interesting from a historical perspective but also from the struggles of a family during a very turbulent time.
You do not need any prior knowledge of the Russian revolution, although I will say some of the Russian names are a bit tricky!
Hope you enjoy this book, I am sure you will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The House by the Dvina. A Russian Childhood, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a beautifully written book with wonderful descriptions of scenery and occasions so you feel part of it all. We read it in the bookclub and 9 out of 10 of us loved it . Our only criticism was the family tree. It was impossible to follow and understand. A good family tree would be invaluable particularly if enlarged for the kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Holiday reading, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House by the Dvina: A Russian Childhood (Paperback)
Perfect for holiday reading, not demanding, but at the same time quite informative about a relatively recent period in British history, that i knew little.
Co-incidentally, I was in the Loch Ewe area in N W Scotland, from where the Artic Convoys gathered before sailing for Murmansk, with relief supplies, in the second World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating family saga., 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House by the Dvina: A Russian Childhood (Paperback)
Fascinating saga full of interesting customs and way of life, now lost.I found the names, mixed with nicknames a little difficult ,even with the help referring to the family tree.The rich,descriptive narrative makes it a delightful read..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some very flattering reviews here but it's supposed to be ..., 26 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The House by the Dvina: A Russian Childhood (Paperback)
Some very flattering reviews here but it's supposed to be a "true story". Has anyone questioned its historical accuracy? I'm not certain that at least one of these events could actually have happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What a life!, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was entranced by this book. I come from the same area of Scotland, and marvel at the experiences that the author and her family lived through. It was beautifully written and begs to be made into a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The House by the Dvina: A Russian Childhood
The House by the Dvina: A Russian Childhood by Eugenie Fraser (Paperback - 4 Feb. 2010)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews