Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read
A good read but a bit longwinded. Enjoyed the book but found my mind wandering during some of it.What a bunch of snitchers the mafia ended up being, all these confessions of books are all about those who ended up telling all in the hope of getting a shorter sentence. This is another.
Most mafia or murder buffs will enjoy this, it is one of the better tales.
Published on 17 Nov. 2008 by James A. Craik

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Give this book a chance.
I read the other reviews for this book and I felt that I have to give this a review myself to get a few things straight.

Firstly this is not that bad a book. It provides a lot of information regarding the structure of the various crime families in New York, it details how the various Captains did business and lots of information regarding the workings of...
Published on 31 July 2009 by James Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 17 Nov. 2008
By 
James A. Craik "bronzedgod" (north east UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A good read but a bit longwinded. Enjoyed the book but found my mind wandering during some of it.What a bunch of snitchers the mafia ended up being, all these confessions of books are all about those who ended up telling all in the hope of getting a shorter sentence. This is another.
Most mafia or murder buffs will enjoy this, it is one of the better tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Give this book a chance., 31 July 2009
By 
James Williams (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read the other reviews for this book and I felt that I have to give this a review myself to get a few things straight.

Firstly this is not that bad a book. It provides a lot of information regarding the structure of the various crime families in New York, it details how the various Captains did business and lots of information regarding the workings of Organised Crime. It should be clear to any educated reader that the position and the background of Casso make it very hard to make him a totally reliable witness. He is obviously going to lie and glorify certain elements of his story but that doesn't make this book any less useful. As one of the reviewers pointed out there are a few disputed facts but within this genre all facts are going to be disputed to some degree. As long as we keep this in mind and take this book for what it is, it proves to be quite an enjoyable read. It for example provides a good insight into the process that takes place after a criminal turns informer. I even found myself sympathising with Casso at times, which I punished myself for with a slap on the face.

Enjoy the book and enjoy Philip Carlo. There are far worse fabricated stories in the book stores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rat in a cage, 3 Jan. 2012
By 
Ryan Newsome - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gaspipe: Confessions of a Mafia Boss (Paperback)
Anthony gaspipe casso- another one time wise guy who hated rats then became one.Casso is undoubtedly a great character in the world of la cosa nostra, a cold blooded, ruthless murderer and like so many mafioso theres the dichotomy! also a family man who loved his wife and kids. Philip Carlo the author- as a child knew casso, as his parents were friends with casso and his wife, as a result of this casso felt he could trust carlo to put his story across. Gaspipe candidly tells carlo his regrets about becoming a rat and how he feels betrayed by the us goverment as he gained nothing and is now rotting away serving 13 life sentences. An intriguing insight into how becoming a goverment informer works, this book is well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gaspipe, a review, 31 May 2010
By 
Steve "Trajan" (Northern England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gaspipe: Confessions of a Mafia Boss (Paperback)
I have read Philip Carlo's other books about the American Mafia and their associates. He has first hand knowledge of them, having been brought up in the Bensonhurst neighbourhood of Brooklyn amongst them. Anthony "Gaspipe" Casso was a next door neighbour, and his parents knew him well and are mentioned in the book. The book itself tells the story of Casso, his crimes and his eventual incarceration after dealing with corupt NYPD detectives. Having read, "The Butcher" about another of "Bensonhurst's Finest", Tommy Pitera and "The Ice Man" about Richard Kuklinskey, a psychopathic Mafia hit man from New Jersey, this book does'nt quite come up to their standards. For the best book in the genre, and a book you can't put down, I recommend "The Ice Man".......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read., 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gaspipe: Confessions of a Mafia Boss (Paperback)
And by that I mean because if you have a genuine interest in the mafia, this will definitely give you an insight somehow hard to find in other books.

However, it is irritating (especially towards the end) where no matter WHAT Casso has done in relation to hits, his life, his wife and mostly being a rat, he still bigs up Casso at every single opportunity. Regardless of what you think he was a murderer, a cheat, a rat and a horrible man. Yet when he cheats :- he loved her dearly, when he kills a rat:- he deserved to die. This was all that annoyed me however and I'm getting side-tracked from a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best ever, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gaspipe: Confessions of a Mafia Boss (Paperback)
well written.gaspipe was the story that more than any other mafia story sounds most convincing.It details his beginning as son of a made man to his choice to join the lucchese family,a smaller outfit and rise to become the head of the Family.Had he joined a larger family like the gambinos im sure he would have been a household name.It chronicles how he was a shrewd operator and worked with other families and had good relations with law enforcement to stay ahead of the game.Best mafia book out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars gaspipe, 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gaspipe: Confessions of a Mafia Boss (Paperback)
i found that anthony gaspipe casso has an interesting story to tell but the author ruins it a bit for me with all bigging up he gives eg gaspipe was hands down the biggest earner ever in the mafia, also numerous times says how clever, strong and handsome he was. also strangely in carlo's other book ice man it says ice man killed roy de meo but in this book some one else did. if the story was written in a more unbiased way it would have been much better. a better read is underboss by peter maas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gaspipe: Confessions of a Mafia Boss (Paperback)
Good book, tells the story as you want to hear it without to much rubbish filling the pages in between, you dont get the most accurate story as philip carlo is bias as he was a family friend of the casso,s. Still, you cant knock the guys writing as he is very good. If you want an objective view there are other books on casso which describe him more as the violent, murdering racketeer, burglar etc etc that he was, the brotherhoods is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars OK but not particularly credible, 9 Nov. 2009
By 
B. Fozard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Quite an easy book to read with some interesting anecdotes along the way. The main problem is that it comes across as if Casso told the author exactly what to write without any subject being up for proper scrutiny. No matter what the circumstances Casso is always painted as blameless, generous, highly intelligent and handsome. The demise of Casso certainly calls into question some of the above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY UNBELIEVABLE BOOK!!!, 14 Sept. 2013
By 
C. Braiden "RossyAFC" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gaspipe: Confessions of a Mafia Boss (Paperback)
In summarized terms , this is the best book I have ever read. Tension,suspense and excitement from the very beginning. Gaspipe was a very interesting character and this book was written very well. Gives you a lot of information not just about Gaspipe but about the NYC Mafia in general like the rise of John Gotti, Paul Castellano's murder etc etc. 5 stars out of 5 for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gaspipe: Confessions of a Mafia Boss
Gaspipe: Confessions of a Mafia Boss by Philip Carlo (Paperback - 2 July 2009)
Used & New from: £2.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews