Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, balanced biography.
I was one of those Evertonians who saw Dunc as a hero in his first spell at the club and as a waste of money in his second. I bought the tshirts when he was imprisoned and attended a freezing cold reserves match to watch him following his release. Everton desperately needed a hero when he arrived but were saddled with an injury-prone player who had cost a fortune by...
Published 22 days ago by Cule Blue

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the big
Interesting . Love the big lad
Published 17 days ago by Mr J Partington


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, balanced biography., 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was one of those Evertonians who saw Dunc as a hero in his first spell at the club and as a waste of money in his second. I bought the tshirts when he was imprisoned and attended a freezing cold reserves match to watch him following his release. Everton desperately needed a hero when he arrived but were saddled with an injury-prone player who had cost a fortune by Everton standards. It was only after he retired in 2006 that Everton were again able to contemplate spending the sort of fee they had spent to bring him back in 2000. It was the softening of my harsher opinion on him, through finding out a few of the 'nicer' things about Dunc, and the side of him that could be called being 'a softie, that made me interested in this book. Overall, I'm probably fairly neutral when it comes to judging Dunc and I feel this book is fair to him.

The author has spent a long time working on this and you can see where his time has been spent. He has spoken to a whole host of people from every stage in Duncan's career and there's a surprising amount of content about his time in Barlinnie. The real surprise is an interview that takes place in Finland. The off-pitch misdemeanours all get mentioned and the majority of the on-pitch ones along with a number of heated discussions with managers. The one omission is detailing the times he was harshly treated. I think mainly of the time Paul Durkin sent him off at Leicester for 'use of an elbow' when the defender had headed the back of his head and was prepared to testify to that effect. The FA weren't interested. Another ref told his linesman to 'keep an eye on him' but seemed to miss everything certain other players did.

The book is very accurate. Just a minor mistake relating to Everton's record in penalty shoot-outs and another one concerning Collina coming out of retirement to to do his dirty work in 2005.

There are one or two amusing quotes attributed to Dunc and, yes, that picture of Steffan Freund is included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Enjoyable Book about an Everton Legend, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the story about a remarkable and widely misunderstood man. Worshipped by Evertonians, hated by the media, this is a non-judgemental story of his life so far. I finish this book with the feeling that we are going to hear more of Duncan Ferguson, the legend will continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent read, 30 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good entertaining book but not the inside story I expected, Duncan not doing the talking, its all the stuff everyone else claims. Great character and I hope at some stage he does his own story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for anyone interested in Everton and Scottish football, 11 Oct 2014
This review is from: In Search of Duncan Ferguson: The Life and Crimes of a Footballing Enigma (Hardcover)
Very good read, and clearly a labour of love for the author with lots of insights you wouldn't find elsewhere. Nicely balanced writing too - I liked the way the author mixes in 'longer words' and evocative passages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sep 2014
This review is from: In Search of Duncan Ferguson: The Life and Crimes of a Footballing Enigma (Hardcover)
Can't put it down. A cracking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read!, 19 Sep 2014
This review is from: In Search of Duncan Ferguson: The Life and Crimes of a Footballing Enigma (Hardcover)
An excellent read. I didn't want it to end. A wonderful insight into the enigma that is Duncan Ferguson. It is well written and a must read for all Evertonians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read on my Kindle whilst on holiday, 26 Sep 2014
By 
This review is from: In Search of Duncan Ferguson: The Life and Crimes of a Footballing Enigma (Hardcover)
Fantastic book, different from most football books in that we never hear from the big man really, a true enigma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search of Duncan Ferguson: The Life and Crimes of a Footballing Enigma (Hardcover)
Worth the wait!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read for every true blue, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search of Duncan Ferguson: The Life and Crimes of a Footballing Enigma (Hardcover)
Any true blue should pick this up, because they won't put it down until they are finished
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating insight into one of footballs most controversial and enigmatic characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Search of Duncan Ferguson: The Life and Crimes of a Footballing Enigma
£12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews