Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars49
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2008
I purchased this book & read cover to cover in a day, its that good.

Exploring o lot of his issues at home as well as the work side of things makes it quite a refreshing read.

Theres plenty of punch ups & stories from his time on the door, plus info on his fight with Roy pretty boy shaw rifght back to his personal relationships & how they affected him & his kids.

Without spoiling too much of the book its a really good read & shows Lew to be very old school ( not a bad thing) with regards to fighting, preffering to use his fists/head rather than guns that are so often the case nowadays.

4/5
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2011
One of the best Hard Men books that I have ever read and probably the only one that tells the genuine truth.

Lew holds nothing back in this book and tells it like it was.

I call this review 'A True Gentleman' as I met Lew when he was promoting his book and he is what i'd call Old School. Show the man some respect and he will show you respect and even allow you to have your photograph taken with him.

Although Lew is now a Legend he remains a down to earth sort of a guy and has time for everyone.

This is a book that you won't be able to put down, forget Charles Bronson or Lenny as those two books don't even begin to compare to this, this is a good read and falls within my top 10 reads of all time.

Buy it with confidence and do yourself a big favour and join the campaign to have it made into a Blockbuster Film.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2009
BUY THIS BOOK!!!!!!!
A honest and brutal account of a great mans life who has the god given right to be britains rightfull guv'nor a man who never had to boast about his fighting capabilitys his fists done the talking and allways stood his ground no matter who you were or thought you were.this is the best book i have had the pleasure of reading and would highly recomend you buy this.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2008
Best book i have read so far in 2008 could not wait to read the next chapter , very honest story from a bloke who i almost know after reading it recommend to all cracking read . Nice one Lew.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2008
I have read loads of books on this subject and must admit that i enjoyed this a lot. An easy book to read and a great insight into the world of one mans passion for the sport he loves and his family. A true hard man,but also a 'gentleman' with old school values. A damn fine read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2010
Yet another "i was the hardest" book about a street fighter. All the usual criteria are ticked.... big bloke... hard... doorman... bareknuckle fights... violent... broken relationships... etc. etc.

But, I have to say, having read nearly all the books in this subject area, I really enjoyed reading Lews story. He tells it very well and there are some really funny bits. Once I started reading, I really couldnt put the book down and nearly missed a flight because of it! At the end of the book you are left asking yourselves questions about the other fighting books you have read, and wondering which stories you have read were true and which were just made up!!!

Recommended!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
Really enjoyable, frank and honest account of the mans life. Definateley a page turner you won't want to put down. Highly recommended reading.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2008
I would like to reassure everybody who is able to read one particular `review` about this book (red - farther etc...) that unlike his star struck son, Big Lewies story does not rely on innuendo and fantasy. He has fought long and hard for the respect he is quite rightly given and it is a sad day when one of his own sets out to betray him and lie in order to fulfil their own deluded visions of grandeur. Shame on those too who are providing that person with the oxygen to insult and demean his own Father. They claim to be friends but the evidence suggests otherwise. For those of you fortunate enough never to have visited Manae, all I can suggest is you conjour up an image of half a dozen houses, a local shop and fields and fields and fields. Quite how any individual could terrorise that area or indeed control it is beyond me. The only thing the locals do have trouble controlling is vermin which in recent years have thankfully diminished. To even suggest Lew was a bad Father is an abhorrent insult. A man with failings maybe, but show me any man who doesn't have failings. I have not commented on `that other book yet` but I shall do in due course via the correct authority. It certainly raises more questions than it promises to answer, how can a 30 something year old man be on the run for `most of his life` when he also claims to have been in prison? Are you still on the run when your in prison? I know prisons are easy these days but surely the police know who are in them? Twenty `armed robberies` we look forward to reading the details, but no doubt it will be a case of `I cant talk about that?` Unfortunately when defending oneself - whether it be confidently down the pub or in a Court of Law, the truth has to emerge or the argument - or indeed case - is lost.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2008
THE REVIEWER WHO STATED THAT LEW YATES NEVER FOUGHT ROY SHAW IS OH SO WRONG.....MY WIFE AND I WERE AT THE FIGHT AT THE ILFORD PALAIS, AS WAS LENNY MCLAINE AND SEVERAL OTHER CELEBS...SORRY...PETER AND PATRICIA GINGELL
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
This is a Must Buy and has to be up there with the other 'Guvnor-type' books by Roy Shaw and Lenny McLean. I have just finished reading it, and it enthralled me to the end. And I really enjoyed the reviews about Lew by 'faces' who knew him. There's only one bad review I've read, by Jose Barrera, a pseudonym if ever there was one, and probably someone who does not like Lew, hence, the review. To comment on this bad review, is giving it the oxygen it needs to survive; but what a load of bollocks, I mean I can denigrate the ramblings of this reviewer by highlighting one simple fact - the pic of Lew squaring up to Roy Shaw, as Mr Barrera says that fight never happened! Lew was robbed of being the next Guvnor (No disrespect to Roy and Lenny, whose books are also fantastic reads).
I for one hope Lew brings out another book asap!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)