Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must read, 21 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: After They Killed Our Father: A Refugee from the Killing Fields Reunites with the Sister She Left Behind (Paperback)
This is one of those books that at times are painful to read, and you can't help but appreciate the fact that we live in the UK. I read "first they killed my father" then this sequel, it is an uplifting story that you will remember for the rest of your life, a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After They Killed Our Father: A Refugee from the Killing Fields Reunites with the Sister She Left Behind (Paperback)
brilliant book but beware also buying Lucky Child by the same author thinking they are sequential. They are the same book published under different titles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First they Killed my Father.... and after that this is what happened, 15 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After They Killed Our Father: A Refugee from the Killing Fields Reunites with the Sister She Left Behind (Paperback)
Part 2 of this amazing autobiography - you must read First They Killed Our Father to get the proper context.
The Cambodians are lovely people with astonishing resilience. This shows in first person terms what happens when evil is allowed to take hold. Some people in the West knew what was happening and yet we nothing to stop it. Such people should hang their heads in shame. Both books are books of hope shining out of complete desolation.
Next time a spoiled young brat gets to you just suggest they should read these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Moving Book, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After They Killed Our Father: A Refugee from the Killing Fields Reunites with the Sister She Left Behind (Paperback)
A book that everyone should read no matter if you think it is fact or fiction. I believe it is fact. But perhaps thats because on my age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER SPLENDID OPUS BY THIS AUTHOR., 23 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After They Killed Our Father: A Refugee from the Killing Fields Reunites with the Sister She Left Behind (Paperback)
This author is brilliant and this follow-on Book "After they killed our father," maintains the same fascination, force and motive that reveals what it takes to overcome evil, abject poverty, tyranny and the terrible loss of family members. In the end, personal love, determination, and courage prevail as true history is revealed. PLEASE, A NECESSARY READ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing but well worth the read, 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A harrowing read that brings the reality of the war to life. Whilst being painful to read it is also amazing to hear of the fight and determination for survival that Luong and others demonstrated. They are the real heros of this atrocity as they seek to rebuild a country that could have been completely destroyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Important follow on, 28 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After They Killed Our Father: A Refugee from the Killing Fields Reunites with the Sister She Left Behind (Paperback)
Very moving book. Important follow- on to First They Killed Our Father. Helps you understand the struggle faced by refugees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book and the previous one gives some insight about what went on in Cambodia. I found it very honest and moving.
We have all benefited by Loung Ung writing this book I believe the world should be aware of what happened to the lovely peaceful people of this small country and hope that the evil that was Khmer Rouge never ever happens again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having recently visited the Killing Fields in Cambodia, this book was a must - it didn't disappoint. It was very heart wrenching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written account of life after the Khmer Rouge, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A follow up to Loung Ung's first book First They Killed My Father. This book is a well written account of life after the Khmer Rouge lost power. It follows Loung's life in America and what she learnt about life in Cambodia from her family - primarily her sister. I would recommend both books as pre reading should you visit Cambodia to be able to get a sense of what this country has been through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews