Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping & Entertaining
Under & Alone is a must have!,Its about one man going undercover in one of the worlds most hard-core, violent & brutal motorcycle gangs .I couldnt put it down! , funny,violent and damn right scary!.If you are into bike gangs,undercover tales and books that pull no punches,then this is for you.Sometimes funny , brutal and always honest, this is one of the best books I have...
Published on 6 Jun 2005

versus
2 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do you print bad reviews
There is little of interest in this book all the way through you get the under & alone bit with him mostly busting the Mongols for nickle & dime stuff I think the ATF are living in they're own little world fighting they're war on drugs, I could probably bust lots of people on the same crap he did but wouldn't go around muttering I was under and alone blah blah! legalise...
Published on 6 July 2007 by N. J. Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping & Entertaining, 6 Jun 2005
By A Customer
Under & Alone is a must have!,Its about one man going undercover in one of the worlds most hard-core, violent & brutal motorcycle gangs .I couldnt put it down! , funny,violent and damn right scary!.If you are into bike gangs,undercover tales and books that pull no punches,then this is for you.Sometimes funny , brutal and always honest, this is one of the best books I have read.Buy it!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, pulsating true life crime story, 5 Sep 2006
By 
Kentspur (Er...Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The story of one ATF agent penetrating the Mongols outlaw bike gang makes for a real page-turner of a book that delivers in terms of authenticity and pace.

William Queen is a very good writer (do some fiction now bro) and his story is fascinating anyway.

The detail of how he gets accepted by the Mongols is both funny and exciting, however the most powerful passages are definitely to do with his developing fellow feeling for the bikers. This is most noticeable when his mother dies and the ATF back-up team don't mention it, while the Mongols hug him repeatedly and console him. They come across as decent, though they're not. They kill some guy who has asked his wife to come home and look after their kids rather than go on drinking with the Mongols.

I hope that Hollywood has read this book as it would make an excellent crime thriller. I read it going through the Channel Tunnel and it made me forget my claustrophobia. Pretty good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balls of Steel, 13 Jun 2007
By 
GM CAMPBELL "Gary MC" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
...Is what this guy must have, to go so deeply undercover within a 1%er MC.

I read the entire book in just 1-day, and found it simply rivetting from start to finish.

William Queen seeks no self-glorification, nor pats on the back for what he did. And you never get the impression that he is doing anything other than relaying his time with The Mongols MC, fact by fact, incident by incident, exactly as they happened.

As a Harley owner and (as described in the book) self-confessed 'Weekend Warrior', i was hugely impressed by the unquestionable devotion shown by each and every member toward their 'brotherhood', but also staggered by the almost limitless levels of brutality doled out toward anyone crossing them.

Queen builds a mental landscape through his words that becomes so vivid in your mind, its easy to believe that you're right in there with him.

I also found myself feeling almost the same type of conflict he endured towards the end of his time with The Mongols MC.

You absolutely must respect the 1%ers for their dedication and commitment to their clubs. I dont think that there is anything else quite like it - Anywhere.

However as one of the 'everyday' 99%ers, i was utterly appalled by some of the violent situations described in the book.

I strongly believe in the 'Give Respect - Get Respect' ethos - But certainly not in the ways chosen by the Mongols when dealing with perceived disrespect.

The description of the bar-room stabbing of a 'citizen' guy who was simply trying to 'reclaim' his wife from the Mongols courting - Is just mind-numbingly terrifying. Simple as that.

An outstanding book - An outstanding Man behind it.

Dont miss this one!!

GMC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen Rocks!, 20 April 2006
By 
C. Sheffield (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm not really much of a book fan, infact I haven't read a book for about 10 years now. But I decided to buy this one based on a fascinating article I had read in a Nuts magazine summarising William Queen's realife undercover adventure. WOW! I finished the book in three days where I found myself reading it in every spare second I had. I was absolutely mesmerized. It starts out with William Queen who's undercover alterego, Billy St John, gets introduced to a group of violent outlaw motorcycle gang members. Queen who is an undercover special agent working for America's Alcohol, tobacco and firearms unit begins as a prospective member of the 'Mongels' where he is treated like a dog untill he can gain the trust of his fellow members. After months of torment Queen finally wins his full patch status making him a full member of the Mongols. This gives him his much sought after access to the true ongoings within this highly organised motorbike gang. Queen soon realises that perhaps he has bitten off more than he can chew in trying to gain evidence of the Mongels extortion, drugs running, firearm smuggling, homicides and many other criminal activities within the gangs. I would recommend this book to anyone. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent, 3 Oct 2008
By 
Edwin Dixon (England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A good read for anyone who likes to immerse them selves in a tense and dangerous situation, wants to know about the Outlaw biker lifestyle or working undercover.
You ask yourself why this guy laid his life on the line when he could have done a much easier law enforcement job. You feel the danger he gets into, as he tries to remain undetected while living the biker culture.
An excellent read, looking inside biker clubs with an honest tale of the good and bad guys within. You also get a true insight into biker lifestyle, and what's expected of those who want to join an Outlaw club, as well as experiencing the dangers of working undercover.
You keep picking up the book every chance you get. And at the end you feel you have just read a good and true story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Read, 30 Sep 2008
By 
D. Porteus (East Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of those books that I just couldn't put down, I have even seen a documentary on the TV about this story and the book is better. This man has obviously got bucket loads of courage and that makes for a fantastic read, he became completely involved in the biker lifestyle and was even enjoying it, but he had a job to do and he did it. If you like outlaw biker books this should be on your book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 19 Mar 2007
By 
S. Wylie (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a superb and gripping account of William Queen's infiltration of a violent outlaw motorcycle gang. As well as a testament to the authors frankly outstanding work as an ATF special agent, the book provides the reader with a fascinating insight into the inner workings of the Mongols.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gripping stuff, 13 Jan 2011
what an adventure

this guy really was in thick of it

a great read keeps you on the edge of your seat or saddle !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply outstanding, 1 Mar 2007
By 
Darren Groucutt (wolverhampton, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i bought this book on a whim after seeing it in the "what other people have bought" section whilst browsing for something else . what a fantastic decision, probably the most interesting and gripping book i`ve ever read ! it`s a cliche but i could not put it down ! this guy has some bottle !! i`m only dissapointed that i finished it in 2 days and the book i`ve just started reading doesnt even come close . buy it or miss out !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most honest outlaw book there is!!!!, 25 July 2006
By 
Gary James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A must,not just for the hardened biker but for anyone who feels any sort of belonging or togetherness.Mcqueen is an officer of the law at all times,he wants to put people away for breaking the law.He risks his own life trying to do just that, and after all the hard work and danger he puts himself through he still feels the twang of guilt for testifying against the people that have become his friends and brothers.I am not a great reader but could not put this down.I read it from cover to cover in two days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews