Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb, fascinating read
I was recommended this book by a friend and bought it to read on holiday. When it arrived I decided to flick through quickly - what a mistake! couldn't put it down. The book really opens your eyes to what is going on today in the beautiful game of football - a must read for all football fans!
Published on 6 July 2009 by Mrs. Ja Rothwell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My best Journo tales compilation - vol 1
For those interested in the dark underbelly of football, this is a useful reprise of some of the incidents that have involved or surrounded some of the sport's biggest names over the last decade. It doesn't tell you anything you didn't already know but reminds you of things you may have forgotten.

Johnson's style is inevitably journalistic which makes this...
Published on 5 Nov 2009 by O. A. Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb, fascinating read, 6 July 2009
By 
Mrs. Ja Rothwell (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was recommended this book by a friend and bought it to read on holiday. When it arrived I decided to flick through quickly - what a mistake! couldn't put it down. The book really opens your eyes to what is going on today in the beautiful game of football - a must read for all football fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My best Journo tales compilation - vol 1, 5 Nov 2009
By 
O. A. Campbell (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Football and Gangsters: How Organised Crime Controls the Beautiful Game (Paperback)
For those interested in the dark underbelly of football, this is a useful reprise of some of the incidents that have involved or surrounded some of the sport's biggest names over the last decade. It doesn't tell you anything you didn't already know but reminds you of things you may have forgotten.

Johnson's style is inevitably journalistic which makes this book accessible but it also limits. There is a lack of depth and analysis and where he opens up a potentially rich seem, he fails to mine it. He doesn't name names probably on the adivce of lawyers but to be fair - naming the names of some of the characters he alludes to may well be damaging to his health.

If it has one failing it is the fairly simplistic black and white - good guys and bad guys lines he draws. And no one actually believes that the journalists are the good guys, the white knights fighting for truth and justice - clearly something the author would like to believe but cant quite succeed in even convincing himself.

Not the most intellectually challenging book but will pass the time on the plane heading to a European fixture or the supporter's bus heading to an away match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping - gets you by the balls!, 13 Feb 2008
By 
Dr. George L. Sik (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football and Gangsters: How Organised Crime Controls the Beautiful Game (Paperback)
It could have been easy to dislike this book: written by a seasoned tabloid crime hack, it dishes the dirt on how gangsters have tried to muscle in on football - and frequently succeeded. The writer is an unashamed cynic about his own profession, making no apologies for the behaviour of 'Her Majesty's Press' (a phrase nicked, I believe, from the brilliant comedy Hot Metal), but he tells it like it is and, moreover, delivers each fascinating story with a grim humour and an elegant turn of phrase. More than that, he names names - big ones too! Rooney, Gerrard, Owen (oh yes!)...they're all there, Liverpool clearly being the author's area of expertise.

Recently, a proposed book dealing with the seamier side of Wayne Rooney's story, Roo Unzipped, was strangled at birth through fear of legal action, but there is plenty here to reveal the dark side behind the boy wonder (little of it of his own doing, to be fair...but the people who surround him are a different matter).

I guess football and crime are both 'bloke' preoccupations, so female readers might get a little bored, but I for one found it (to coin a literary word that sounds as though it ought to have been a football word) 'unputdownable'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Football & gangsters by Graham Johnson., 15 July 2014
By 
T. Gussmann (East Midlands. England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football and Gangsters: How Organised Crime Controls the Beautiful Game (Paperback)
An Excellent read & Very informative. Excellent service and I would recommend this book to others
who like me are interested in this subject matter. it was very reasonably priced & the delivery was
Very prompt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Football & Gangsters, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football and Gangsters: How Organised Crime Controls the Beautiful Game (Paperback)
My husband hated this book he did not even finish it he said it was a load of rubbish & a waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars football gansters book, 30 July 2013
By 
Carol A. Marks "caz" (hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football and Gangsters: How Organised Crime Controls the Beautiful Game (Paperback)
Purchased this for my hubby, who is an avid footie fan. He has half read it already and that is very good for him who reads very little. Well packaged, delivered promptly. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! A real eye opener!, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Football and Gangsters: How Organised Crime Controls the Beautiful Game (Paperback)
This is a must read for anyone interested in how there is too much money in football, you think players wages and their XXXmillion transfer tags were bad, check this out!!! Johnson, a former journalist who covered these stories, talks you through a number of incidents that have occurred over the years that certainly make you question a fair few things in football.

Is it really the 'beautiful game'?? After reading this I can honestly say... NO!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worrying Read, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reading this book it seems only a matter of time before we have a case of corruption in Football at the highest level. I've read some of his other books and he really seems to be able to get the stuff others would be scared to ask.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Football Craziness, 27 Nov 2011
This review is from: Football and Gangsters: How Organised Crime Controls the Beautiful Game (Paperback)
This is a sharply observed book shows the seamy underbelly of English football. Almost alone in the field as no one has followed up Johnson's book as the leering monsters of the Premier league have lawyered up and driven away investigative journalism. Good book - sticks it to the right people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mob Books, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: Football and Gangsters: How Organised Crime Controls the Beautiful Game (Paperback)
It was a gift for my hubby but he likes all that violent rubbish that men do. And a bit educational as well! Not my choice of book but blokes will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Football and Gangsters: How Organised Crime Controls the Beautiful Game
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews