Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A properly researched work!
I was unsure of exactly what this book would bring me, but within a page or two, came to the realisation that this was to be no frivolous, tongue-in-cheek catalogue of urban Scotticisms.
What Billy Kay has done is to present a well-researched piece of historical analysis, charting the development of the various Scots tongues through the centuries. It is full of...
Published on 11 Dec. 2011 by BigMac

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars earlier edition
This is the first edition - there is a 2nd edition available and I really wnted that so the description could have been clearer
Published 1 month ago by John Roy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A properly researched work!, 11 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scots: The Mither Tongue (Paperback)
I was unsure of exactly what this book would bring me, but within a page or two, came to the realisation that this was to be no frivolous, tongue-in-cheek catalogue of urban Scotticisms.
What Billy Kay has done is to present a well-researched piece of historical analysis, charting the development of the various Scots tongues through the centuries. It is full of examples, both of Scottis and Inglis, drawn from a myriad of sources, Scots criticisms of English, English criticisms of Scots, legal documents, school reports, the effect of printers on the use of specific letters.
But the style of the prose is not that of a stuffy reference book. It is easy-going enough to allow this work to be read for pure enjoyment as well as being a source of information. Definitely one of my 'best-buys' this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beuk for Scots fowk aaplace, 18 Aug. 2009
By 
J. Scroggie (Tayside, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scots: The Mither Tongue (Paperback)
Everybody in Scotland should have this book. The perfect start to learning about the Scots language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tak tent, or it's dint! (Use it or lose it!), 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a remarkable work by Mr Kay. His obvious passion for his native tongue falls off every page of this wonderful piece of work. As a fellow Scot who remembers the efforts, and the inflicted corporal punishments, of the Educational Establishment of post WWII Scotland (Glasgow, in my case) to stamp out our natural way of speaking. In recent times there has been a sea change in attitudes, as Scots slowly realise what was being attempted was nothing less than Cultural and Linguistic genocide. I believe that my last sentence was, in no way, an extreme view of the efforts to make Scots a Region of the UK, rather than the Nation that it is. Well, I remember (in recent past) a miscreant in the High Court being fined for Contempt of Court for the crime of replying, Aye! when asked to plead Guilty or not. To his eternal credit he payed the fine and became a 'cause celebre' for the 'Mither Tongue'. That he, ultimately, was successful is cause for celebration. This book could find itself a recommended text for each and every Scottish schoolchild. I've re-read it and have bought a Scots Thesaurus. This man Kay could be contagious, in a most positive way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All Scots should read this, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scots: The Mither Tongue (Paperback)
Billy Kay writes in a way that is informative and easy to follow. As a Scot who speaks 'English' I wanted to know my native tongue better and this book is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars earlier edition, 9 Mar. 2015
By 
John Roy (Bracknell, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is the first edition - there is a 2nd edition available and I really wnted that so the description could have been clearer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scots: The Mither Tongue (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scots: The Mither Tongue
Scots: The Mither Tongue by Billy Kay (Paperback - 2 Mar. 2006)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews