Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to get ahead...get this book!, 8 Dec 2004
Speaking as someone who knows more about brussel sprouts than football, I've got to say that that this book really is superb. The book joins the dots on many cultural and sartorial references that are part of the 1960's to present day in Great Britain. The book provides a voice that has been waiting to be heard for some time - books that fuse together the subjects it covers are as rare as hens (wisdom) teeth. This book now proudly shares the same bookshelf as Melly's 'Revolt Into style', Jonathon Green's 'Days in the Life' and Barry Miles's 'In the Sixties'. What really makes the book so riveting are all of the great insights from the people who are interviewed in it. These people are characters and players in their own field, whether it be football or not. The book is very well researched and excellently written - you must buy it. Careful though - once you've read this book you might decide you need to upgrade your own wardrobe by visiting your friendly tailor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fashion history meets Football culture, 8 Dec 2004
A brilliant account of a couple of fashion conscious, borderline alcoholics, realising their dream; to research and write a compelling book comprising their two main passions; Football & Fashion. This book is beautifully constructed, ebbing from educational fashion history to talking football down the pub. Hewitt's style is one of great personality, enabling the reader to become involved with every interview made and every trip taken during the book's conception. I recommend 'The Fashion of Football' to any lover of either facet; an addictive, entertaining and comical read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class., 23 Nov 2004
After finding this book and starting to read it, I soon became completely engrossed it the whole football and fashion connection.
It has all the information on the clothes, the lables and those who designed them.It also has a huge amount of information about the footballers starting from the begining to the present day with the likes of Beckham. The book is written in such a funny way, i have found myself creasing up with laughter at how the two author's have done the research and the antics that they have gotten up to along the way. At this moment i have had to move onto reading an other book, as i have now only got the last part of "Best to Beckham" to finish and don't want the book to come to an end. This is a funny and informative book at it's best, a most have for all. No mater what your into
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A groundbreaking book, 9 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Fashion of Football is a groundbreaking book that examines for the first time the link between football and fashion.
Featuring a selection of rare photographs which enliven the text, the book divides itself into a work of two halves - the first depicting how fashion has influenced the players and the second showing how it has been represented in the stands. We begin in 1962, when restrictions limiting earnings from professional football were lifted and footballers started to splash out on looking good.
First we visit George Best's boutique in Manchester, try on the Terry Venables wig and reveal how the 1970s Chelsea team used flamboyant King's Road boutiques to gain the upper hand in psychological battles with fierce rivals Leeds.
We then move on to the '80s to consider the influence British black footballers brought to bear on fashion, leaving room to mention the hairdressers and the mullet. Into the '90s and, well, we're confronted with Liverpool FC in white suits and David Beckham in a skirt...Back in the stands for the second half, The Fashion of Football describes how football fashion has been influenced by the world around it - from the '60s working-class Mod look to ski
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Football fashion., 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pleased I bought a second hand copy, excellent condition and worth every penny. I don't know how I missed this when originally released but finished reading it this morning and now takes pride of place on my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a Cult Classic, 25 Aug 2009
By 
Dave Sainsbury (South East London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fashion of Football: From Best to Beckham, from Mod to Label Slave (Paperback)
As the prices this book is now fetching on the 'second-hand' market indicate, the Fashion of Football is fast becoming a cult classic.

Every discerning follower of football and fashion should have one in their bookcase, it is the reference book for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 8 Dec 2004
If you love Football, and like looking the business when going to the Football and ever wondered where all the terrace fashions came from, then you will love this book. A really interesting and funny read with some classic pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Football and Fashion, 16 Dec 2004
Blinding! Easily the best book I've read this year.
A interesting connection told in an informative and funny manner.
Loved the photo's as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fashion of Football: From Best to Beckham, from Mod to Label Slave
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews