Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent peice of work, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nelson: A Dream of Glory (Paperback)
I have always found John Sugden works first class and this is no exception. His research of the subject is beyond belief( over 200 pages of references!). His style of writing makes every page enjoyable to read. What next John?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Biography I read., 16 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nelson: A Dream of Glory (Paperback)
This is the best biography I have read.It gives a very profound insight in the make-up of this man,while at the same time reading like a real life adventure storyI can't wait for the second part being launched in September.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First volume of a magnificent biography of Nelson, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was given the second volume for Christmas and downloaded a Kindle version of the first. This biography describes Nelson as a person as well as a Naval hero. It gives a superb analysis of both aspects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Brit., 16 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a proud Scot of the modern age, meaning one looking towards independance,

I have to say I am also very proud to be British.

It's hard not to be after reading John Sugden's "Nelson, A dream of glory".

Honestly, what an inspiration to anyone.

Slainte.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Completely satisfied with this purchase, 14 July 2014
By 
Daniel Harvie "Gillbrae" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nelson: A Dream of Glory (Paperback)
Completely satisfied with this purchase, Item was held up by Royal Mail, but courteous help from Monteil Books. Would happily recommend them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb insight into the character of a complex character., 25 April 2012
By 
W. Scott "elenkus" (Bute, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very interesting and even compelling read.
The various facets of Nelson's character which brought about his astonishing successes are clear, to this reader, for the first time. There is probably a tendency among those with an academic turn of mind to suppose that naval heroes are not especially able or well educated. What is at last clear because of the depth of this work, all the letters for one thing, is the quality of his mind. The Royal Navy was not just a fighting force. It really did educate its young men and Nelson himself took this process many stages further with his own midshipmen.
His style of man management is illuminating. It begins with himself and his natural empathy with others. There is not a jot of the kind of calculating manipulation which, perhaps, is the idea that some have of this. The man's own nature is the key which means: make yourself the kind of man that he was and then you will be fit to command. His continuing care of his men, in all seasons, long after they had parted company, is one factor. The author explains all this very well indeed.
The necessity for self promotion is another: if no one gets to hear what you have done, how can you advance in the service? How can you get the opportunity to show the country and its enemies what effect you can have? Especially when admirals in charge do not see what your contribution was or prefer to take the credit for it themselves. And so Nelson communicated directly with the first Lord of the Admiralty (Earl Spencer) over the head of his own chief. Of course the recognition that this is necessary is unpleasant.
Nelson's emotionalism is a factor that is probably a great help. At least the men around you realise that you care. The tendency elsewhere is to offer a stiff upper lip. Plainly that is the wrong thing to aim for.
There are probably many aspects to leadership. Knowing what to do is fundamental. Seeing what is possible and how it may be achieved is one thing. Responding quickly to changing circumstances by making the right move, another. The author makes us see that Nelson's men were globally prepared by him: every possibility gone into so that everyone knew what should be done: which meant that command and control (which was often impossible) were unnecessary. That really is an amazing advance in thinking and it has never been taken up very much in the centuries since, one imagines. How many commanders since then have taken this lesson? I mean army, air force as well as naval. The generals of WWII? Probably not or not very much. The chain of command has always inhibited the initiative of the very able man on the spot who alone can win the battle at one stroke in an unexpected direction.
And there is firmness and a powerful defence of principle, that too. Nelson's response to corruption in the West Indies is interesting. But he managed to win these battles in court. Many others would not. He was determined then as well as able and his likability meant that he did not stand alone in such moral battles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! I wish I was reading it again for the first time., 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book offers a really convincing portrait of Nelson. I felt this book put flesh and character onto a remote historical figure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, 10 Jun. 2014
By 
Richard Clarke "nuke" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Timely delivery. Great quality.
Why do I have to add more words Amazon in order to submit? There is nothing else to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbiased, detailed and thought provoking, 5 Oct. 2005
By 
Mr. J. MCNAMARA (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have since childhood been an admirer of Nelson, though this was my first in-depth book about him.
The book provided not only detail but also helped the reader form his own opinions based upon the John Sugden's facts and own insights. Whilst this was pleasing I also felt that a more detailed diagnosis could have been undertaken by the author on a few points. That said I loved the way the author approached a difficult subject and I felt privileged to benefit from his years of hard work and bravery in uncovering hitherto unused material. The author though makes a valiant effort of trying to explain the values and social structure of the 18th century. My main gripe was that I felt a few parts of the book were repetitive and the same quotes used in the book a number of times.
All in all a brilliant book which I found compulsive reading, I could not put the book down and found myself sitting in my chair all night.
If you really want to learn about Nelson I strongly recommend this book but it is not a casual read but it rewards your efforts. I am really looking forward to the second part to see how the author deals with the well covered later years, I am sure that it will not be disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read, re-read and read again., 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nelson: A Dream of Glory (Paperback)
I bought this book for my father, who enjoyed I immensely. There is so much information he has read it several times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nelson: A Dream of Glory
Nelson: A Dream of Glory by Dr John Sugden (Paperback - 6 Sept. 2012)
£15.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews