Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, lots of ideas and science to back it up.
Picked up the book this morning and I have already too many ideas I would like to use on Monday morning.
As an AST I enjoy reading thought provoking educational books to enhance my own professional development...this is one of the clearest. Really captures the importance of mindset and creativity.
Thank you Andy and Mark.
Published on 13 Oct 2012 by Maggierichmond

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag
Some useful ideas i.e. learning grids. I expected a few more practical activities related to outstanding practice. It relies on pop psychology rather than proper academic research.
Published 4 months ago by B Glusica


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, lots of ideas and science to back it up., 13 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outstanding Teaching: Engaging Learners (Outstanding Teaching (Crown House Publishing)) (Paperback)
Picked up the book this morning and I have already too many ideas I would like to use on Monday morning.
As an AST I enjoy reading thought provoking educational books to enhance my own professional development...this is one of the clearest. Really captures the importance of mindset and creativity.
Thank you Andy and Mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reinvigorate your teaching...!, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Martin Woods - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outstanding Teaching: Engaging Learners (Outstanding Teaching (Crown House Publishing)) (Paperback)
This book is excellent and very practical. As a Coach and Mentor working in education, as well as in business, and also as a father of a very successful primary teacher, I have had a glorious opportunity to discuss the methods recommended in this book. This might just be the fillip teachers need if they begin to feel that their lessons are becoming "samey", boring or lacking in participation and enthusiasm. The principles of engagement, Challenge, pupil focus and flow are clearly evident and, whether you read this book from cover to cover, or dip in for ideas, it is equally useful. This is a great support to new and experienced teachers and also those invilved in adult learning.
Highly recommend it
Martin W
Director and Consultant
MWA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something for us all to learn from!, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outstanding Teaching: Engaging Learners (Outstanding Teaching (Crown House Publishing)) (Paperback)
I've been teaching longeer than I care to admit, but like all professionals, it dpes us no harm to refresh our skills. This is easy to read, full of ideas. Certainly worth a read. I'll be handing it round in the staffroom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good guide, 1 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. P. A. James "PJ37" (Wigmore UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outstanding Teaching: Engaging Learners (Outstanding Teaching (Crown House Publishing)) (Paperback)
this gave me some good ideas and thought for altering my lessons to the more 'engaged' approach. It has good structure and you can dip into the sections you want to focus on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding reading, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outstanding Teaching: Engaging Learners (Outstanding Teaching (Crown House Publishing)) (Paperback)
A great and easy read for any teacher wanting to develop their classroom practice. It really makes you reflect on your current practice as well as giving practical advice on how to improve and engage your students so they make great progress. Aspire to be a black belt in the classroom? This is definitely for you! I used lots of the ideas to deliver an Outstanding Teaching training session to staff at my school. These guys have seen thousands of lessons and worked with hundreds of teachers, they know what they are talking about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for ideas, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outstanding Teaching: Engaging Learners (Outstanding Teaching (Crown House Publishing)) (Paperback)
A great book with lots of new ideas for activities within lessons. Very useful and would highly recommend to anyone wanting new things to try in the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An easy and engaging read. Very helpful., 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outstanding Teaching: Engaging Learners (Outstanding Teaching (Crown House Publishing)) (Paperback)
An engaging read. Lots of practical tips and tools which can be used in the classroom. A useful, practical text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last....common sense, 9 Nov 2012
This review is from: Outstanding Teaching: Engaging Learners (Outstanding Teaching (Crown House Publishing)) (Paperback)
Clearly this is a book written by teachers for teachers. Not only is it full of realistic and practical ideas, it is also designed in such a way as to save teachers time. It uses strategies such as "this chapter in a nutshell", frequently asked questions, further reading suggestions, and bright ideas (with credit to the teachers who used them!). As one who trains teachers for a living, I am already promoting the book to trainees and using some ideas from it to show them what teaching and learning should look like when it is good. This is the best book on the subject I have come across. Well done to the writers. I fully endorse their approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant teaching tool, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outstanding Teaching: Engaging Learners (Outstanding Teaching (Crown House Publishing)) (Paperback)
Have had this book for a few months now and it is one of the best in the business. I have used many of the ideas and strategies in it - particularly the learning grids, which have proved successful with a number of classes. When I first got it, I read it from cover to cover. Now I just dip in and out as when I feel I need to refresh my classroom practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outstanding Teaching: Engaging Learners (Outstanding Teaching (Crown House Publishing)) (Paperback)
This book is full of ideas and methods that can be tried out in classrooms across the country to help engage learners. I cannot recommend it highly enough - even as an experienced teacher it helps to lend weight to what we have known is good practice as well as giving new ideas. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outstanding Teaching: Engaging Learners (Outstanding Teaching (Crown House Publishing))
£12.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews