Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone who loves learning should read this ! - Get it !
A truly inspirational book for anyone who loves learning - this should be a teacher's bible, compulsory on every ITET Course in the country. Thank you Jim for giving an honest, motivational and fascinating book to the world of education. Jim's book is far from Lazy - it's pure magic that will revolutionize ANY classroom or school. Dare you to read it......I did and LOVED...
Published on 14 April 2010 by Nina Jackson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars New teachers must have
Useful classroom tips. A book that u can dip in and out of. Fun ideas for lessons that do help with workload
Published 4 months ago by Karen Davis


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone who loves learning should read this ! - Get it !, 14 April 2010
By 
Nina Jackson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lazy Teacher's Handbook: How your students learn more when you teach less (Independent Thinking Series) (Paperback)
A truly inspirational book for anyone who loves learning - this should be a teacher's bible, compulsory on every ITET Course in the country. Thank you Jim for giving an honest, motivational and fascinating book to the world of education. Jim's book is far from Lazy - it's pure magic that will revolutionize ANY classroom or school. Dare you to read it......I did and LOVED IT. If you like this book try these too......Rocket Up Your Class!: 101 High Impact Activities to Start, Break and End Lessons (Independent Thinking Series)The Little Book of Music for the Classroom (Independent Thinking Series) Using Music to Improve Memory, Motivation, Learning and CreativityThe Competency Curriculum Tookit: A Competency Curriculum Tookit Implementing the PLTS at KS3 (Developing Plts Through Themed)The Little Book of Values: Educating Children to Become Thinking, Responsible and Caring Citizens (Independent Thinking Series)The Little Book of Big Stuff about the Brain:: The True Story of Your Amazing Brain (Independent Thinking Series)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The teachers' pedagogical equivalent to google maps., 9 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Lazy Teacher's Handbook: How your students learn more when you teach less (Independent Thinking Series) (Paperback)
Truly, this is a breath of fresh air. For so long, excellent teachers have ended each day on their knees, whilst their students skip merrily out of school, still bursting with energy. Teachers continue to exhaust themselves in their efforts to 'cover all bases'; plan for all possible (and impossible) eventualities and make sure that their students depart with their heads full of stuff. Jim Smith's book gives permission to teachers to step back and delight in the opportunities for learning that they create. This book provides a practical, real and valuable set of tried and tested approaches that allow teachers to let the learning flow from and with the students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life saver, 14 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Lazy Teacher's Handbook: How your students learn more when you teach less (Independent Thinking Series) (Paperback)
Even with 18 years of teaching experience this book is a true inspiration! Reminded me of many things done in the past and forgotten and lots of new ideas too!

Totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lazy Teachers Unite!, 25 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Lazy Teacher's Handbook: How your students learn more when you teach less (Independent Thinking Series) (Paperback)
What a great book - but not at all what the main title suggests. The sub-title is what its REALLY about. Teaching (ie talking) less so that they learn more. My pupils are SO much more energised - once they got used to having to think about what they needed to do. The section on 'lazy' tutoring is useful too - my form have really enjoyed doing some of the activities suggested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied Customer, 18 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Lazy Teacher's Handbook: How your students learn more when you teach less (Independent Thinking Series) (Paperback)
Love the ideas and the enthusiasm with which this is written. A lot of thought has gone into becoming a lazy teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for New Teachers, 16 April 2010
By 
B. Cook (Cheltenham, Glos) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lazy Teacher's Handbook: How your students learn more when you teach less (Independent Thinking Series) (Paperback)
This great book provides practical advice and assistance to help improve your pupils ability to learn independently.

As a PGCE student this is a key challenge for me as my tutors really emphasise independent learning.

I am using the Lazy Lesson structure as the basis for all my lessons and it is making planning a whole lot easier.

This book has aided my progression over the last few weeks and has provided real guidance for me as a hopeful new teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The lazy teachers handbook, 12 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Lazy Teacher's Handbook: How your students learn more when you teach less (Independent Thinking Series) (Paperback)
This is an easy-to-read book for the busy teachers Jim is trying to help.
He keeps the focus succinct and relevant, whilst using amusing cartoons to brighten the book. The term `Lazy' may attract many or dissuade some, and perhaps "Maximum Effect - Minimum Effort" is a better description since he is really concentrating on getting the students to learn effectively, whilst maintaining the "Well Being" of the teacher - a major concern in secondary schools. A quick poll of our GTP students indicates that this could fill an important niche in the market and I would also encourage secondary schools to have this in their staff CPD library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lazy Teacher's Handbook: How your students learn more when you teach less (Independent Thinking Series) (Paperback)
Having taught for ten years, I was pretty set in my ways...until I read this! Jim Smith is a flippin' genius. My life is now much easier and my pupils are really seeing the benefit.
I cannot wait for the Lazy Progress book to come out in September.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work it out - lazy teaching gets results, 10 Mar 2010
By 
J. M. Fairs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lazy Teacher's Handbook: How your students learn more when you teach less (Independent Thinking Series) (Paperback)
If you've seen Jim Smith deliver INSET training then you'll know that he is anything but lazy; he's just thoroughly focused on energising students without causing teacher burnout.

I'm relieved to see that his book is equally passionate about empowering students. It's refreshing to read practical challenges and advice from a practitioner who is clearly still experiencing the daily workout of life in the classroom. Vigorous, tested thinking, so no need to beat yourself up giving students centre stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book ever!, 1 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lazy Teacher's Handbook: How your students learn more when you teach less (Independent Thinking Series) (Paperback)
If you are a teacher, parent or carer, this book will give you a great insight into how people learn. If you are a teacher this will change your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews