Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thinker
great little book which I have used with secondary pupils-all sorts of kids-especially boys just love picking it up and discussing the contents. Lots of little quirky ideas which become much bigger issues when you start thinking about them.
Published on 29 July 2009 by Mrs. L. Paris

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The QI books and similar are just as thought provoking and way more interesting.
The idea of this book is good, but frankly it's more suited to a website, IMO, than to a book. I bought it cheap, and still felt it was overpriced. The only reason it's actually 120 pages is the odd cartoon and the spacing between the 'thunks': it's basically 300 sentences. Some of them are thought provoking, some of them are a bit silly, and while they are on the whole...
Published 5 months ago by tiggrie AKA Sarah


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thinker, 29 July 2009
By 
Mrs. L. Paris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Thunks: Is Not Going Fishing a Hobby and Other Possibly Impossible Questions to Stretch Your Brain and Annoy Your Friends (Hardcover)
great little book which I have used with secondary pupils-all sorts of kids-especially boys just love picking it up and discussing the contents. Lots of little quirky ideas which become much bigger issues when you start thinking about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 16 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Thunks: Is Not Going Fishing a Hobby and Other Possibly Impossible Questions to Stretch Your Brain and Annoy Your Friends (Hardcover)
Love the concept of Thunks and love the website too. (Really interesting to see what people think is a thunk on the website ;-) It's philosophy, but not necessarily as you know it. Great for gaps in the conversation at a dinner party as much as it is for lulls in the classroom. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The QI books and similar are just as thought provoking and way more interesting., 23 Jan. 2015
The idea of this book is good, but frankly it's more suited to a website, IMO, than to a book. I bought it cheap, and still felt it was overpriced. The only reason it's actually 120 pages is the odd cartoon and the spacing between the 'thunks': it's basically 300 sentences. Some of them are thought provoking, some of them are a bit silly, and while they are on the whole mildly interesting, I am far from convinced that they're so interesting or so thought provoking that they deserve to be made into a book!

Even taking into account that I got a previous book of thunks for free - which also, I notice, actually has suggestions for how to use said thunks in a classroom, and as such is a way more useful book at least for teachers - I still don't think this book represents good value for money. Overall, I found it rather disappointing.

I find books like the QI books, the Julian Baggini and Peter Cave philosophy books, etc, are by far and away more thought provoking, and would provide anyone with an imagination plenty of thunks while also being much more interesting to read.

This is just potential lesson material for primary school teachers gussied up a little and sold as a book. If that's what you're after, it might well suit your purposes. If not, leave well alone.

To be worthwhile as a book, it really needs something more - some overarching themes, some answers from various people, SOMETHING. As it is, it's just a bunch of one sentence questiins designed to annoy people into arguments. Potentially intriguing in a classroom scenario, but not really a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars who cares, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a list of questions to which the answer to each is ' who cares '. Might suit a pre teen child but possibly not even that, I thought it was going to be thought provoking thoughts but the only thought it provoked in me is why did I waste £1.19 on it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thunky, 16 July 2009
By 
Mr. P. Girault (Farnham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Thunks: Is Not Going Fishing a Hobby and Other Possibly Impossible Questions to Stretch Your Brain and Annoy Your Friends (Hardcover)
I bought this book to give me topics and themes to discuss in the classroom. My class really enjoys the variety of questions. Some really funny, some more serious. It does the job and make them ponder, think laterally etc... Am not disappointed with this choice. I gave it 4 stars because I would not let my children read it as some of the questions are inappropriate for the school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gets the brain going, 29 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Thunks: Is Not Going Fishing a Hobby and Other Possibly Impossible Questions to Stretch Your Brain and Annoy Your Friends (Hardcover)
Brilliant book to get your brain working. I like to use these to prompt discussion in class. Happy with this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 25 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Thunks: Is Not Going Fishing a Hobby and Other Possibly Impossible Questions to Stretch Your Brain and Annoy Your Friends (Hardcover)
Some good questions in this book but a lot of padding too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Thunks: Is Not Going Fishing a Hobby and Other Possibly Impossible Questions to Stretch Your Brain and Annoy Your Friends (Hardcover)
This was a birthday present and went down well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not very interesting sayings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book to make you Thunk!, 3 Dec. 2012
By 
K. Brennan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Thunks: Is Not Going Fishing a Hobby and Other Possibly Impossible Questions to Stretch Your Brain and Annoy Your Friends (Hardcover)
Great fun in a group to start a debate. I use it at school in tutorials - the students love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews