Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy one non-fiction book this year, it has to be this!
The Little Book of Music for the Classroom has everything you could possibly need to introduce music as an aid to teaching within a school environment.

I am a student and so read the book at a different angle to how tutors/teachers would read it. Nevertheless, it has helped me in my studies to develop my creativity and motivate me in so many different...
Published on 5 Feb 2010 by J. H. Luff

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Featuring the music of Stealer's Wheelers.
You might or might not be convinced about the ways music can help the learning process, but it's hard to trust a person who's so slipshod about her research that she can't even be bothered to get the names of pop groups or songs right, or insists that the writers of songs are the performers. Stealers Wheelers? The Quad City DJs (The Train)? Obviously someone who really...
Published on 2 Mar 2012 by A. Miles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy one non-fiction book this year, it has to be this!, 5 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: The Little Book of Music for the Classroom (Independent Thinking Series) Using Music to Improve Memory, Motivation, Learning and Creativity (Hardcover)
The Little Book of Music for the Classroom has everything you could possibly need to introduce music as an aid to teaching within a school environment.

I am a student and so read the book at a different angle to how tutors/teachers would read it. Nevertheless, it has helped me in my studies to develop my creativity and motivate me in so many different ways.
Even those who do not are not tutors can benefit from this powerful teaching tool. Particularly helpful are the specific named extracts that can enable a class of children to be stimulated in order to complete a task, or calm down at the end of a busy day. The book encourages you to find what works for you - do not underestimate it's power, it is a little book but the ideas contained within it can make a BIG difference.

L. STEVENS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 11 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. Amy Jane Pearce (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Book of Music for the Classroom (Independent Thinking Series) Using Music to Improve Memory, Motivation, Learning and Creativity (Hardcover)
Not being a music specialist I was struggling to engage pupils in music lessons. The solution was this book - it helped me get pupils used to music in the classroom and then created an interest in ALL lessons.
Brilliantly structured, easy to dip in too full of accessible practical ideas!
Thank you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Little Book, Big Passion, 9 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Little Book of Music for the Classroom (Independent Thinking Series) Using Music to Improve Memory, Motivation, Learning and Creativity (Hardcover)
Hang on, I thought books on classroom teaching were supposed to be worthy but imposing edifices of learned thinking, with titles like "Aspects of Perspectives on Pedagogical Practice (27th Edition)" and suchlike. This book by Nina Jackson, however, is the perfect antidote to that. Concise and written from the heart, full of tried and trusted techniques backed up by research, you can't help but be swept up in the joyous enthusiasm for her subject the author demonstrates on every page. The book's central premise is the use of music as a learning tool in the classroom - the crucial point being that this is not to be confined to the Music classroom, but throughout the curriculum. Advice on what music to use for what purpose is clearly given. There is no requirement on behalf of a classroom teacher to be a music specialist. What is required, however, is an open mind, and a love of music. The author lists specific music examples for several different purposes - enhancing study skills, creating a sense of purpose and motivation, defusing negative behaviour etc. - but is at pains to encourage each individual to discover their "own" music to apply to learning. This is subject to specific criteria such as the music's speed, volume, use (or otherwise) of lyrics and so on, all of which is clearly explained and underpinned by research. "The Little Book of Music for the Classroom" sits comfortably in the series of "Little Book" titles, alongside titles by such innovative education practitioners as Ian Gilbert and Jackie Beere. If you are a teacher at any level of the education system that is searching for ways to add a new dimension to your lessons, then I commend this book to you and the journey that it will lead you on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Insights into using music in teaching, 9 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Little Book of Music for the Classroom (Independent Thinking Series) Using Music to Improve Memory, Motivation, Learning and Creativity (Hardcover)
I found this little book very engaging and interesting. There were many aspects of pedagogy which I had heard about but had not seen devloped and this book touches on lots of them. It offers insights and methods of developing lessons and engaging pupils in a non subject orientated fashion. Well written and easy to 'dip' into -a must read for new and old teachers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great "little Book", 10 May 2011
This review is from: The Little Book of Music for the Classroom (Independent Thinking Series) Using Music to Improve Memory, Motivation, Learning and Creativity (Hardcover)
A great addition to the "little book" series. Most people know that music can aid people in all sorts of ways, apart from focused listening. Nina Jackson has done the research and carried out the field trials. A book that you would dip into, and gather useful information each time. Its written in a wonderful conversational style, without unwanted jargon. A fantastic resource for any teacher, be it music, maths, science, primary, etc.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful Book, 9 May 2014
By 
herronrath "Trish" (County Armagh Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Music for the Classroom (Independent Thinking Series) Using Music to Improve Memory, Motivation, Learning and Creativity (Hardcover)
Well packaged and delivery was super speedy. This was just the book I was looking for as a reference book for encouraging little ones to appreciate music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to bring about real change at limited cost!, 1 May 2013
By 
KS Alston (South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great ideas with real application possibilities that can positively change the classroom atmosphere and increase the pupils learning and the teachers enjoyment of his/her teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 1 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Little Book of Music for the Classroom (Independent Thinking Series) Using Music to Improve Memory, Motivation, Learning and Creativity (Hardcover)
Very good book! Gives a menu of songs and ideas to use in the classroom! Had the pleasure of having Nina do a talk on our inset day - very inspiring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Featuring the music of Stealer's Wheelers., 2 Mar 2012
By 
A. Miles (Al Khor, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Book of Music for the Classroom (Independent Thinking Series) Using Music to Improve Memory, Motivation, Learning and Creativity (Hardcover)
You might or might not be convinced about the ways music can help the learning process, but it's hard to trust a person who's so slipshod about her research that she can't even be bothered to get the names of pop groups or songs right, or insists that the writers of songs are the performers. Stealers Wheelers? The Quad City DJs (The Train)? Obviously someone who really knows their stuff.

Apart from that, it seems that you only need about a dozen old pop records and a few dreary new age albums to be completely set up, as the same few records can be used for almost any learning strategy. Essentially you get the same (misspelt and misattributed) list 20 times, apart from the one dealing with dyslexia, which apparently can be helped by singing along to a few glamrock era anti-school tunes by the likes of Alice Cooper.

What a load of old tosh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews