Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book
Well researched and written, this book does indeed make a valuable contribution to pulling the rug from under the feet of the dominance-based theories of dog training.
Published 13 months ago by Sasha

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too promotional
It was interesting but there was very little detail or good science used.
I disagreed with some of it. It was promoting one particular training method.
Dogs and owners are all different. One approach for all is not appropriate.
Published 6 months ago by S Page


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The truth about wolves and dogs: Dispelling the myths of dog training (Paperback)
Well researched and written, this book does indeed make a valuable contribution to pulling the rug from under the feet of the dominance-based theories of dog training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Written and Informative, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The truth about wolves and dogs: Dispelling the myths of dog training (Paperback)
I found this book to be well written and easy to understand. I learned a huge amount about how perceptions of wolf behaviours and dog training methods have changed over the years and also how to help read my dog's body language. It is not full of over technical explanations which many books written by "professional" dog trainers tend to be. A refreshing perspective and a big help to me. Whether you are a "mere" dog owner or work with dogs professionally, I would say this book is a must-have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars learn the real truth about your dog and live a better life, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The truth about wolves and dogs: Dispelling the myths of dog training (Paperback)
The truth about wolves and dogs , like it says, dispells myths of dog training. what a brilliant read , the pictures are amazing and you can see all the dogs' body language . If you are a dog trainer to a pet owner, this is the book for you , teaching a new insight into the dog , and settling the myths of old school thinking , learn about the dog in a new way that will open your eyes and your heart even more into the world of the wolf and dog. giving you a better understanding of your best friend, your dog.

Kind regards David Turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read., 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The truth about wolves and dogs: Dispelling the myths of dog training (Paperback)
I have to say this is an informative and easy to read book for both the casual reader and also those looking for something more informative who work with dogs. Does what it says on the tin. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 9 Jan 2013
By 
L. J. Tenzin-dolma (Bath, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The truth about wolves and dogs: Dispelling the myths of dog training (Paperback)
This visually stunning and beautifully written book eloquently explores the differences and similarities between wolves and dogs. Subtitled 'Dispelling the Myths of Dog Training', the book reveals and clearly illustrates the real dynamics within interactions in both species, and clarifies why the outdated and scientifically inaccurate 'dominance' methods used in dog training are inappropriate and ultimately damaging to the very special human-canine bond.

Toni Shelbourne's understanding of the behaviour and body language of wolves and dogs is based on many years of studying and working with both species. The gorgeous photos are accompanied by clear interpretations and reinforce the extensive information in the text. I've highly recommended 'The Truth about Wolves & Dogs' to my clients, my canine psychology students, and my colleagues who work in the areas of dog behaviour and training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vet Approves, 5 Nov 2012
This review is from: The truth about wolves and dogs: Dispelling the myths of dog training (Paperback)
This is a fascinating book helping to dispel a lot of old wives tales about wolves and what motivates dogs. Who'd have thought Pugs were closer, genetically, to wolves than German Shepherd Dogs? This well thought out and beautifully illustrated book helps to orientate dog behaviour in the context of their wolf ancestor. As a veterinary professional, I can most certainly recommend this book to anyone who really wants to know about dog behaviour, not just about someone's opinion on dog behaviour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and fascinating book for people who love wolves and dogs, 23 Oct 2012
This review is from: The truth about wolves and dogs: Dispelling the myths of dog training (Paperback)
This beautiful book gives a wonderful insight into the behaviour of wolves and their close cousins dogs. The pictures are amazing and the explanations of your pet dog's behavior make real sense. I am looking at my dog now with a new understanding.
Once I started reading this book I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully insightful book, 17 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The truth about wolves and dogs: Dispelling the myths of dog training (Paperback)
Every line is written with love and respect. This is a book which takes the reader on a journey of understanding, dispelling the myth that all dogs want world domination. It gives us a fresh approach and shows us a way to live with our beloved four legged friends in an environment of mutual care and respect. And, if like me, you love Wolves, some of the photography will enthrall you. I love this book and would recommend it to all those who choose to share their lives with dogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 25 Jan 2014
By 
S. Tatters (Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The truth about wolves and dogs: Dispelling the myths of dog training (Paperback)
This is a great book, although perhaps not up to the level of detail of the Coppingers' book (Dogs - A New Understanding of Cannine Origin, Behaviour & Evolution: A New Understanding of Canine Origin, Behavior and Evolution), but then it's not aimed at the same audience, so why should it be?

Nonetheless, it's got some good reminders for those of us who may normally want/need that level of detail but are looking for something to suggest to "the man on the street", or it has some brilliant information for that man on the street (for whom this is new information).

It's also nice to have another book using progressive reinforcement training and nothing else (which there's never a need for). Now if only Toni (or someone else!) could write a book dispelling the fallacies of force/fear/pain/intimidation-based training...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding your Dog better, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The truth about wolves and dogs: Dispelling the myths of dog training (Paperback)
For anyone interested in dogs, this is an excellent book with beautiful illustrations depicting the differences and similarities between dogs and wolves. You will understand your dog better after reading this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3d233fc)

This product

The truth about wolves and dogs: Dispelling the myths of dog training
11.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews