Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have to read this book, not just about bikes, but life too!
I finished this book in a little over a day and thoroughly enjoyed it.

You do not need to be a biker to enjoy this book. So well written and humerous ("You can be my wing man anytime"), love it.

My only disapointment was that the author did not travel further so there would be more book to read.

Another added bonus is the book is really...
Published on 15 Jun 2012 by teddyruxpin

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed
A young man's journal of his month long holiday from the UK to continental Europe aboard his Suzuki 650.
Despite my enthusiasm for books and travels of this nature I was disappointed with Kevin's account of his unremarkable trip. Much of the writing is research blurb about places visited, it feels like padding to bulk up the word count to make it worthy of a book as...
Published 10 months ago by S. SMITH


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have to read this book, not just about bikes, but life too!, 15 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonjour! Is this Italy? - A Hapless Biker's Guide to Europe (Paperback)
I finished this book in a little over a day and thoroughly enjoyed it.

You do not need to be a biker to enjoy this book. So well written and humerous ("You can be my wing man anytime"), love it.

My only disapointment was that the author did not travel further so there would be more book to read.

Another added bonus is the book is really well illustrated. You really do feel like you were riding along side the author, experiencing the trials and tribulations along the way.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ciao! Is this France ?, 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonjour! Is this Italy? - A Hapless Biker's Guide to Europe (Paperback)
Just finished reading this book and whilst I haven't read many travel books it knocks the socks off anything Bill Bryson has done.

I've only travelled a bit and the closest I've come to a motorbike is nearly being run over by one when I was young but the author is adept is explaining things in laymans terms so you don't get lost/bored with technical details of either bikes/motorsport or Europe/travel.

He has a superb writing style with great, short, snappy paragraphs and the book is littered with funny anecdotes which really put you in the picture and which you can relate to. His passion for motorsport and travel really shines though but (as I've mentioned above) you don't need to be overly knowledgale in either to follow this great road trip.

This was recommended to me and I would recommend this to you also.

A real page Turner !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Do It!, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonjour! Is this Italy? - A Hapless Biker's Guide to Europe (Paperback)
Great! no real planning, no back up team, no big adventure bike, no sat-nav, just a guy on tour with his everyday bike...and it's the same bike as mine! Well written, engaging and shows us all that we can just get up and do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tres Amusant - Great even if you don't like bikes!, 23 Sep 2012
This review is from: Bonjour! Is this Italy? - A Hapless Biker's Guide to Europe (Paperback)
Fab book! I borrowed this off my hubby on holiday, as a last resort, with nothing left to read. I love travel but have no interest in motorbikes. Would definately reccomend even to non bikers! If your fed up of pretentious travel literature this is the book for you. It had me hooked; it is a refreshingly honest, witty, account that has you wanting to grab a motorbike & a ferry ticket. It flits between Kevins journey & his very amusing anecdotes, keeping the reader interested. His description of childhood Grand Prix adventures & pilgrimage to the Ferrari garage had me transfixed which is pretty impressive considering I have very little interest in motorsport. Hope there's a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars European motorbike journey, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonjour! Is this Italy? - A Hapless Biker's Guide to Europe (Paperback)
A journey across some European countries, this account is written as seen through the eyes (helmet) of someone who on decided at short notice & without preparation to travel into Europe. As you can imagine, travelling like this provides an insight into what can happen when deciding to do something without actually knowing where you are going or what is going to happen each day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queasy rider on the road to Rouen., 2 Aug 2012
This review is from: Bonjour! Is this Italy? - A Hapless Biker's Guide to Europe (Paperback)
I'm not into travel and, much as I like motorbikes, the thought of pages of prose describing the wind in your hair, the sound of the bike and the eventual self discovery made me reluctant to read this. But, as it was recommended by a friend, I thought I'd give it a go.

I'm glad I started this book. It is as much a dry travelogue as Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance is a Haynes manual. There are no prescribed routes, no lists of sites or copy and paste wikipedia for each town, there's no philosophical staring into middle distance and no motorcycle minutia!

Finding himself jobless Turner makes a plan to take his bike to Europe and that seems to be all the plan he had! Arriving in France he decides to ride away from the sea and from then on we drift south to the Med, across to Italy and meander back up. Throughout the book are Turners own photos which illustrate the story nicely.

There are flashes of Dean Moriarty and Dr Duke in Turners traveler, but more often than not he's stumbled his way into a new campsite or different country (or cold war jet fighter!) and seems to as amazed as us that he hasn't been arrested, broken down or eaten by a wild animal yet.

His easy, conversational, style is addictive and you'll learn about the places he visits and some of the tings to expect if you go there yourself as you read.

You will be laughing with, rooting for and wincing with Turner throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one for the more average dreamer, 27 Dec 2012
This review is from: Bonjour! Is this Italy? - A Hapless Biker's Guide to Europe (Paperback)
Happy with purchase. Found story interesting, a bit more obtainable than some adventure riding books. Only gripe if pushed was the magazine format of book took wee bit of getting used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb!, 24 Dec 2012
This review is from: Bonjour! Is this Italy? - A Hapless Biker's Guide to Europe (Paperback)
An amazing read, cannot fault it.
The only book I've managed to read front to back since Rhoald Dahl -The Twitts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonjour! Is this Italy, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonjour! Is this Italy? - A Hapless Biker's Guide to Europe (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book on so many levels. If this guy can survive travelling Europe then it gives hope to us all. I was captivated from the first page; whether to take him under my wing one minute and wanting to buy him a beer the next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn good read, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonjour! Is this Italy? - A Hapless Biker's Guide to Europe (Paperback)
Despite not being much of a traveler or a biker, I was bought this as a gift and really enjoyed it. It's well written and nicely observed. Good wit and an easy-going writing style makes for a very enjoyable and pleasant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bonjour! Is this Italy? - A Hapless Biker's Guide to Europe
Bonjour! Is this Italy? - A Hapless Biker's Guide to Europe by Kevin Turner (Paperback - 15 May 2012)
£11.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews