Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent point od reference! Porsche 996
Excellent point od reference! Handy Book. This really goes into detail about the 996 Porsche and shows the bad and the good! If you are thinking of purchasing a 996 then this really is essential reading
Published 13 months ago by David Logan Newby

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than nothing but there are more detailed books..
I had already bought my 2003 996 when I bought this, just wanted some background info on model history.
For the money this is a great guide for the totally inexperienced buyer but it's quite basic.
I ended up buying another book by the same author which went into a lot more nitty gritty detail but cost 5 times more and weighed probably 10 times more!
If you...
Published on 21 Aug 2011 by andrewchapple


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty disappointing.., 27 Dec 2013
This review is from: Porsche 911 (996): Carrera, Carrera 4 and Turbocharged Models - Model Year 1997 to 2005 (Essential Buyer's Guide Series) (Paperback)
This little book unfortunately wastes endless (precious) pages giving generic car buying advice, stating the obvious or indulging the authors own opinions, at the expense of giving the reader any useful information about buying a 996.
So as well as this particular author's trademark bunch of unhelpful b+w pictures of cars from his own photo collection, there is plenty of chat about checking windscreen wiper function, making sure it fits your garage and remembering to take your glasses (no, really) - but nothing, or close to it, about lots of the things that wear out or go wrong on the 996 series, costing you thousands in the process. Stuff like clutch, suspension arms, radiators, coil packs etc. I bought it to help me buy a 996 turbo, but they are only mentioned very briefly, let alone any advice about checking boost, leaking spoiler rams and checking rev range data and so on. I know there is a bigger 996 book no doubt with this stuff buried in there (I can't face the background noise though, to be honest). But I think even for a brief buyers' guide, I suspect you would learn very little from this book that you didnt already know..unless this the first time you ever bought a car (and in this case..great choice of first car, man!). Otherwise..save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than nothing but there are more detailed books.., 21 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porsche 911 (996): Carrera, Carrera 4 and Turbocharged Models - Model Year 1997 to 2005 (Essential Buyer's Guide Series) (Paperback)
I had already bought my 2003 996 when I bought this, just wanted some background info on model history.
For the money this is a great guide for the totally inexperienced buyer but it's quite basic.
I ended up buying another book by the same author which went into a lot more nitty gritty detail but cost 5 times more and weighed probably 10 times more!
If you are studying to be a 911 geek (like me) then this is no good but for a good basic knowledge it's a great start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, 5 July 2014
This review is from: Porsche 911 (996): Carrera, Carrera 4 and Turbocharged Models - Model Year 1997 to 2005 (Essential Buyer's Guide Series) (Paperback)
Prompt delivery, great stuff thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent point od reference! Porsche 996, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porsche 911 (996): Carrera, Carrera 4 and Turbocharged Models - Model Year 1997 to 2005 (Essential Buyer's Guide Series) (Paperback)
Excellent point od reference! Handy Book. This really goes into detail about the 996 Porsche and shows the bad and the good! If you are thinking of purchasing a 996 then this really is essential reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars provided promptly, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porsche 911 (996): Carrera, Carrera 4 and Turbocharged Models - Model Year 1997 to 2005 (Essential Buyer's Guide Series) (Paperback)
this book is not the font of all knowledge it gives basic information there is no mention of how and why earlier engines are at risk from terminal failure, intermediate shaft failings, cracked liners,oil seal issues... pros and cons of tiptronic to manual etc..
all in all wont tell you anything that a few clicks on specialist sites doesnt tell you.........thats not the retailers fault though... they didnt write the book... and they did provide it promptly........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide to 996, 4 Sep 2012
This review is from: Porsche 911 (996): Carrera, Carrera 4 and Turbocharged Models - Model Year 1997 to 2005 (Essential Buyer's Guide Series) (Paperback)
I bought this book a week before buying my C2 Tip S 2000, it gave me lots of good pointers and things to look out for, alot of it is common sense and I would still recommend a vehicle inspection prior to purchase and buy on history and overall condition and feel of the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews