Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars black eyed girl, 13 Jan 2009
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural: Bone Key (Paperback)
an original novel based on the tv series supernatural. that's a show about two brothers who hunt demons and monsters through the back roads of america. and I'm assuming that if you're reading this review, then you're familiar with the programme, so we won't go into further detail about it.

If you're not then go and get the dvd Supernatural - The Complete First Season and watch it, because it's a hugely entertaining show.

so if you are familiar with the show then read on [although the book does fill in most of the back story so you never know, this might be something that would get you hooked on it. but watch the dvd anyway, eh?]

this story is an all new tale, not based on any tv episode, and it takes place roughly a third of the way through the third year of the programme. sam and dean visit the island of key west in the south of florida, to investigate several deaths that have taken place there. ths island is being haunted by ghosts of those who lived and died there. a strange couple are making sacrifices. and a vengeful spirit is waiting to strike. and when the latter happens, the whole human race might just be at threat.

can sam and dean save the day?

the book is roughly two hundred and eighty three pages long, divided into twenty chapters. and it does have an advantage over the previous two supernatural novels in that's it's a fair bit shorter than them, which makes it much better paced.

the characterisation of the main characters is spot on and you can imagine the actors saying the dialogue. there are a fair amount of supporting characters also, and they're given a fair amount of depth. but where the book really scores is the setting. the island is very convincingly described, with a lot of local colour and detail, and it makes it sound like a very interesting place to visit.

not great literature but a very entertaining read if you're a fan of the show, and a good way to spend time whilst waiting for the next episode.

not one for the very young thanks to some adult themes and moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DeCandido Rocks!, 27 Aug 2009
By 
Catherine Walsh (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read and loved the other book DeCandido has written for Supernatural - Nevermore - I just had to buy this one too. Just as great as the first, DeCandido has managed to brilliantly capture the spirit of the show and its characters, and you can really imagine Dean, Sam and Bobby in the situation he has written for them.
I also absolutely love the playlists he has included at the back of both books, they make the experience all the better!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural Tv series, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural: Bone Key (Paperback)
This series is an addition now and I love every book so far. I will buy the next one as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprsingly Good, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural: Bone Key (Paperback)
With each of these novels I always think that I won't enjoy them because they're not exactly like the show. Sure, there are some things that don't fit the characters and what not but I actually found it nice to read.

Once you don't look too much in to it you'll also enjoy reading it! Easy to read, good storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural, 18 April 2013
This review is from: Supernatural: Bone Key (Paperback)
In great condition and very happy! Received in time frame and has been a good read so far. Will definitely look into purchasing more in the future and plan to read the entire collection.
Thank you
Harriet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural: Bone Key (Paperback)
This is a good book in the Supernatural series but I thought it could have used more action and a faster pace to the story. But saying that I still read it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars if you like the show......, 3 Sep 2009
This review is from: Supernatural: Bone Key (Paperback)
these SPN books are not half bad, I found myself quite enjoying them. I found myself pleased that the humer and overall feel of the show was well covered but their is room for improvement. these books could be fantastic in their own right but their still finding their feet I feel. if your a fan of the show I' recommend them but if you night you may end up bring a little confused by what's going on within the story's story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REALLY REALLY GOOD, 22 Oct 2009
By 
E. Bishop - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernatural: Bone Key (Paperback)
THEY ARE AIMED AT A YOUNGER MARKET THAN ME BUT REALLY ENJOYED IT, A GOOD PAGE TURNER.
PLOT WAS NOT QUITE AS GOOD AS THE OTHERS BUT A MUST READ IF YOU ARE A SUPERNATURAL FAN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural rocks, 27 Sep 2009
By 
S. Owen "Winchgal" (Stourbridge, W.M. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural: Bone Key (Paperback)
Although i have not read this book yet as i'm taking it on holiday with me in november, i'm sure it will be good as i'm a big supernatural fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supernatural: Bone Key
Supernatural: Bone Key by Keith R.A. DeCandido (Paperback - 26 Sep 2008)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews