Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Winchester roadtrip: Visit scenic Arizona - and try not to get killed.
The second tie-in novel for Supernatural sees the Winchesters leaving the bustle of New York behind them and heading to a remote town in Arizona. This novel follows on directly from the events described in 'Supernatural: Nevermore' but apart from a brief mention in the introductory chapter of a character from the earlier novel, the two books aren't otherwise...
Published on 5 Nov 2007 by alekto72

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bewitched
an original novel based on the tv show supernatural, about sam and dean winchester, two brothers who hunt monsters across america. this is the second original novel based on the show, and whilst it does follow on directly from the first 'nevermore' it stands completely on it's own and you don't need to have read that to read this.

The plot involves the...
Published on 28 May 2008 by Paul Tapner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Winchester roadtrip: Visit scenic Arizona - and try not to get killed., 5 Nov 2007
By 
alekto72 (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The second tie-in novel for Supernatural sees the Winchesters leaving the bustle of New York behind them and heading to a remote town in Arizona. This novel follows on directly from the events described in 'Supernatural: Nevermore' but apart from a brief mention in the introductory chapter of a character from the earlier novel, the two books aren't otherwise connected.

Without giving away the plot, Sam and Dean are warned that the next bout of savage murders that takes place in a small town in Arizona every forty years is imminent, so the Winchester brothers head over there intending to deal with whatever is responsible. They arrive in time for the first death, and as the body count grows day by day, Sam and Dean are left trying to figure out who or what is doing the killing and how to stop it.

Overall I enjoyed this novel. It was an easy read with a plot that moved along at a good pace. My one criticism would be that after all the build up, the ending seemed rushed and a little abrupt. The characterisation of Sam and Dean was, for the most part, true to how they appear in the series. One of the strengths of the book was the dialogue, especially that between the brothers, which was convincing enough in most places that it didn't take much imagination to hear the actors' voices speaking the words. A bonus on the characterisation front was a couple of brief flashbacks to the brothers' childhood that filled in a bit of background. Supporting characters, even those that would soon contribute to the body count, were described enough that they were more than just ciphers.

As far as tv tie-in novels go, I'd categorise this as one of the better ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a book!, 21 July 2009
This review is from: Supernatural: Witch's Canyon (Paperback)
I just got my order of 3 Supernatural novels and in a space of a week they have all been read. Witch's Canyon is the best one out of the 3 (the other 2 were Nevermore and Bone Key).

If you are a hardcore fan of the series, this is what will surely satisfy your appetite for mystery, murders (plenty of then, trust me), rural setting so typical of the series, excalating plot and great fighting climax. Fast-paced action makes you turn the pages faster and faster, and you find yourself nto only imagining the entire story as one of the filmed episodes, but also speculating if the good guys are really good and who the hell is the villain!

Definitely recommended for all the fans, but also for novices who are just getting into the Supernatural groove. I wish this book have made into an episode!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bewitched, 28 May 2008
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an original novel based on the tv show supernatural, about sam and dean winchester, two brothers who hunt monsters across america. this is the second original novel based on the show, and whilst it does follow on directly from the first 'nevermore' it stands completely on it's own and you don't need to have read that to read this.

The plot involves the winchesters visiting a town where every forty years there have been a series of murders. the cycle of killing is starting again, and it's strange creatures who are doing it. there's a new mall opening in town and the local mayor wants nothing to get in the way of that. can the winchesters prevent a bloodbath?

This runs to just over three hundred and fifty pages, with over thirty chapters, and is a good easy read. it's not great quality literature and the prose is good rather than great. but it does capture the main characters perfectly and does also manage to give some life to the supporting ones created especially for the story. It didn't really click for me till page two hundred when the action really got going, and possibly could have done with being a little shorter in the first half of the book, but this is a perfectly decent tie in novel, has a plot that's a little more focused than nevermore, and whilst it's not great literature it will more than suffice if you want to read more about the winchesters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read! X, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural: Witch's Canyon (Paperback)
Good clean quality arrived in a couple of days and a great read!! Ideal for any supernatural fan who can not get enough of supernatural
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like an episode, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural: Witch's Canyon (Paperback)
Not all books of supernatural series are so well written and easily engaging as this one. I highly recommend this volume to anyone who are interested in supernatural.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!!!!!!!! Great read!!, 21 Aug 2013
This review is from: Supernatural: Witch's Canyon (Paperback)
I'm not an avid book reader, but my brother bought me Witch's Canyon for my christmas a few years ago along with Keith R Candido's Bone Key and to honest I sat there with the books in my hand and i said 'What the heck did he buy these for, I don't read!' Well being the dedicated fan of the Winchester's I decided to give the Witch's Canyon a go.....SSSOOOOOO glad I did! This was one of the most enjoyable books I'd ever read....yes I hadn't read too many book's...Wuthering Heights, Devil wears Prada, Back to the Future etc So not great but this was like watching an episode of Supernatural, characterisation was perfect, the bitching and sniping, great stuff, the story was gripping, I read it in a couple of days. I honestly couldn't put it down. This fired a thirst for more so i started on the Bone key.....hated it and pretty much any book written by Keith R Candido, I just don't like his style, it's very cold and detached. But if I were to recommend any book it would be this one. I liked it so much I read it again! Can't say enough about it! I wish he would write another Supernatural novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural: Witch's Canyon (Paperback)
Don't buy this book if you expect it to be exactly like the show itself but if you want a good read then definitely get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic creepy story, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural: Witch's Canyon (Paperback)
Absolutely love this book, one of my favourite books of the series. I've read this book over and over and keep coming back. Great combo of all story ingredients!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Half Bad., 3 Sep 2009
This review is from: Supernatural: Witch's Canyon (Paperback)
these SPN books are not half bad, I found myself quite enjoying them. I found myself pleased that the humer and overall feel of the show was well covered but their is room for improvement. these books could be fantastic in their own right but their still finding their feet I feel. if your a fan of the show I'd recommend them but if your not you may end up bring a little confused by what's going on within the story's story.

This one thou had the brother pretty much nailed in the way the spoke with each other and how they thought and felt, I found myself laughing out loud and grimacing right along with Dean and Sam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural witch's canyon., 2 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Supernatural: Witch's Canyon (Paperback)
very good book. Sam and Dean are very well compared to their on screen charecters and this book is action packed and full of suspence. couldnt put it down. It had its flaws but a highly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2756450)

This product

Supernatural: Witch's Canyon
Supernatural: Witch's Canyon by Jeff Mariotte (Paperback - 27 Jun 2008)
5.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews