Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:£19.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
The Cream of Tank Girl starts off with a funny piece by Alan Martin, looking at their student years, tracing back at how it got started.

After that, the rest of the book is all art. The pages are filled with sketches, cover art, comics, photos, unpublished and rejected illustrations, storyboards, screenplays (for the movie) and a lot of other stuff from random publications. Captions are provided for a few illustrations, looking back to the hectic days when they are trying to get Tank Girl to print.

I still find the kangeroo dude, Booga, disturbing, probably because of the human anatomy without a human head. There are also some refined character designs for Booga, Tank Girl and her tank at the back.

Tank Girl fans will love this book. It's should be pretty inspirational for artists too for the graphic art.

There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 13 March 2010
'The Cream of Tank Girl' is something of a misnomer, to be entirely fair. This book does cover the initial half of Tank Girl's appearances, but a small yet noticeable amount of space in the book is dedicated to other strips Hewlett and Martin created together, such as their pirate strip, and a semi-follow up to Tank Girl which followed fan-favourite character Barney, in an entirely different yet still hilarious set of circumstances.

Despite this, the emphasis on Jamie Hewlett's artwork and his development of Tank Girl - First from the riot grrl, punk rock bitch she started out as (inspiring legions of followers, cosplayers, etc), into an almost hippie-esque, general counter-culture icon is displayed on a variety of stunning pages. Since Hewlett and Martin's work on Tank Girl was recently republished in a new Anniversary edition, spread across three volumes plus the two miniseries developed without Martin, the book wisely chooses to concentrate on cover art from Deadline Magazine and a variety of others, plus concept artwork detailing Tank Girl's latest sexy set of threads. It's an approach that works.

The book also takes on the form of chapters, chronicling both Tank Girl's development, from black and white to colour, and features a smattering of writing detailing Hewlett and Martin's rise in fame and fortune, culminating in the disastrous Tank Girl movie, which soured the character for both creators. Both of them, if asked, are refreshingly blunt about their feelings on the film, and this is presented well here. Those interested in the movie should be aware there are precious few images devoted to the film in here, save for several of Hewlett's impressive panels, which were used in the actual film.

There is also precious little input from creator Alan Martin, but perhaps, in a book that focuses on Hewlett's visual development of the character, this is appropriate. Martin is also working full-steam on his revival of Tank Girl, which has so far seen 'The Gifting', 'Visions of Booga', 'Skidmarks', and several specials published over the past three years. A prose novel, Armadillo!, is also available and equally hilarious. However, one amusing section presented a would-be world where Hewlett writes and Martin draws the character - The results generally suggest the amount of influence Martin had on the character, which is to say, a heck of a lot.

This book is essential, then, for fans of Tank Girl, Gorillaz, Jamie Hewlett, or just anyone that loves good, insane comic book art. The presentation and quality of the images in here is easily equal to the 'Rise of the Ogre' 'autobiography' published by the Gorillaz in recent years, making it a must-have for fans of that book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 12 June 2009
This book provides a great insight into the wonderful and weird world of Alan Martin and Jamie Hewlett. The Cream of Thank Girl is a visual classic- stories and images that capture and hold your attention. The book brings together the history and secrets of Martin and Hewlett partnership. These two creative minds, who made the artistic choice of living from comic storytelling. Whether you're into Tank Girl or not, this book is perhaps one of the most indispensable in any collection, providing a wealth of valuable details about its creators' unique approach and style of visual storytelling.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 26 November 2008
For everyone who sat in their student bar reading Tank Girl in Deadline, or who remembers when standard female dress style was a mohican, a tartan mini-skirt, and Doc Martens, this is a must-have nostalgia trip. A real heroine for our times, this shows you Tank Girl at her awe-inspiring, wonderful, anarchic best ...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 February 2009
The powers and talent of Mr. Hewlett at his psychedelic best on show and interestingly from pre Deadline days. Can't help but revel in feeling old for once and getting nostalgic for the brief Brit comic voyage into the mainstream with Hewlett (and Martin) definitely at the helm!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
You might enjoy it, depends what you want: it tells the story of TG's production really well, but without much focus on the art. Not my bag, but a long way from awful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
Excellent quality. Sublime artwork and snoggable cover. Tank Girl and chums are very much back in business and there is a growing collection to be had.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
Canny little book. Lots of info. Pleased with purchase
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
this was purchased as a gift
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
this is amazing
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Tank Girl 1 (Remastered edition)
Tank Girl 1 (Remastered edition) by Alan Martin (Paperback - 24 April 2009)

Tank Girl 2 (Remastered Edition)
Tank Girl 2 (Remastered Edition) by Alan Martin (Paperback - 24 April 2009)

Tank Girl 3 (Remastered Edition)
Tank Girl 3 (Remastered Edition) by Alan Martin (Paperback - 24 July 2009)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.