Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tank Girl Fans will love this book, 3 July 2009
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Cream of Tank Girl (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:20 Mins

The Cream of Tank Girl starts off with a funny piece by Alan Martin, looking at their student years, tracing back at how it got started.

After that, the rest of the book is all art. The pages are filled with sketches, cover art, comics, photos, unpublished and rejected illustrations, storyboards, screenplays (for the movie) and a lot of other stuff from random publications. Captions are provided for a few illustrations, looking back to the hectic days when they are trying to get Tank Girl to print.

I still find the kangeroo dude, Booga, disturbing, probably because of the human anatomy without a human head. There are also some refined character designs for Booga, Tank Girl and her tank at the back.

Tank Girl fans will love this book. It's should be pretty inspirational for artists too for the graphic art.

There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More like the Cream of Hewlett and Martin, but amazing nonetheless!, 13 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. C Statham (Stoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cream of Tank Girl (Hardcover)
'The Cream of Tank Girl' is something of a misnomer, to be entirely fair. This book does cover the initial half of Tank Girl's appearances, but a small yet noticeable amount of space in the book is dedicated to other strips Hewlett and Martin created together, such as their pirate strip, and a semi-follow up to Tank Girl which followed fan-favourite character Barney, in an entirely different yet still hilarious set of circumstances.

Despite this, the emphasis on Jamie Hewlett's artwork and his development of Tank Girl - First from the riot grrl, punk rock bitch she started out as (inspiring legions of followers, cosplayers, etc), into an almost hippie-esque, general counter-culture icon is displayed on a variety of stunning pages. Since Hewlett and Martin's work on Tank Girl was recently republished in a new Anniversary edition, spread across three volumes plus the two miniseries developed without Martin, the book wisely chooses to concentrate on cover art from Deadline Magazine and a variety of others, plus concept artwork detailing Tank Girl's latest sexy set of threads. It's an approach that works.

The book also takes on the form of chapters, chronicling both Tank Girl's development, from black and white to colour, and features a smattering of writing detailing Hewlett and Martin's rise in fame and fortune, culminating in the disastrous Tank Girl movie, which soured the character for both creators. Both of them, if asked, are refreshingly blunt about their feelings on the film, and this is presented well here. Those interested in the movie should be aware there are precious few images devoted to the film in here, save for several of Hewlett's impressive panels, which were used in the actual film.

There is also precious little input from creator Alan Martin, but perhaps, in a book that focuses on Hewlett's visual development of the character, this is appropriate. Martin is also working full-steam on his revival of Tank Girl, which has so far seen 'The Gifting', 'Visions of Booga', 'Skidmarks', and several specials published over the past three years. A prose novel, Armadillo!, is also available and equally hilarious. However, one amusing section presented a would-be world where Hewlett writes and Martin draws the character - The results generally suggest the amount of influence Martin had on the character, which is to say, a heck of a lot.

This book is essential, then, for fans of Tank Girl, Gorillaz, Jamie Hewlett, or just anyone that loves good, insane comic book art. The presentation and quality of the images in here is easily equal to the 'Rise of the Ogre' 'autobiography' published by the Gorillaz in recent years, making it a must-have for fans of that book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars visual overdose, 12 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Cream of Tank Girl (Hardcover)
This book provides a great insight into the wonderful and weird world of Alan Martin and Jamie Hewlett. The Cream of Thank Girl is a visual classic- stories and images that capture and hold your attention. The book brings together the history and secrets of Martin and Hewlett partnership. These two creative minds, who made the artistic choice of living from comic storytelling. Whether you're into Tank Girl or not, this book is perhaps one of the most indispensable in any collection, providing a wealth of valuable details about its creators' unique approach and style of visual storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you remember the glory days?, 26 Nov 2008
By 
Jesse (Richmond, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cream of Tank Girl (Hardcover)
For everyone who sat in their student bar reading Tank Girl in Deadline, or who remembers when standard female dress style was a mohican, a tartan mini-skirt, and Doc Martens, this is a must-have nostalgia trip. A real heroine for our times, this shows you Tank Girl at her awe-inspiring, wonderful, anarchic best ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fnar, fnar!, 21 Feb 2009
By 
J. Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cream of Tank Girl (Hardcover)
The powers and talent of Mr. Hewlett at his psychedelic best on show and interestingly from pre Deadline days. Can't help but revel in feeling old for once and getting nostalgic for the brief Brit comic voyage into the mainstream with Hewlett (and Martin) definitely at the helm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime., 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cream of Tank Girl (Hardcover)
Excellent quality. Sublime artwork and snoggable cover. Tank Girl and chums are very much back in business and there is a growing collection to be had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cream of Tank Girl (Hardcover)
this was purchased as a gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cream of Tank Girl
The Cream of Tank Girl by Alan C. Martin (Hardcover - 24 Oct 2008)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews