Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off.
Firstly, DO NOT be put off reading this by the negative reviews here. It's all subjective anyway and I can understand why a few people were disappointed. Secondly, this is TOTALLY different from the film; the two do not even compare -as other reviewers have already mentioned- in quality or plot.

Working under the premise that the reader has in fact read a comic...
Published on 13 July 2011 by Mr. A. S. Zahedi

versus
10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not vintage
I'm a big fan of the sick, gory, lurid and depraved but Wanted just seems to be trying a bit too hard. Characters are constantly casually killing innocent bystanders, mentioning recent rapes they've enjoyed, tossing around photos of child murders, but it's not really disturbing or sinister, just... desperate. I think maybe Millar's just too nice a guy to write this sort...
Published on 13 Oct 2005 by Black Mask


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Above standard artwork .... Sub-par and weak storyline, 27 Jun 2008
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
The book comes as a bit of a surprise as it's the artwork that is exceptional and the story is what lets it down. Additionally the book or rather the story finishes 3/4 of the way through. The rest of the book is editors commentary , artwork, snapshots, synopsis of various things. In other words it's bulked out :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 3 July 2008
By 
A. Kaye (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
I was looking forward to reading this and I haven't yet seen the film but I was left very let down. The story is intriguing and the artwork is excellent and I get the point of the story ( wishing you were someone else/somewhere else etc ) but at the end of the story the characters are very one-dimensional, you don't really care for them and whether they succeed or fail. The story is pretty hollow and it just never really goes anywhere. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing - not worth your time, 28 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. D. Shaw "Douglas" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
I don't mind comics with immature toilet-humour... in fact I loved Preacher, but the difference between this and Preacher is that the latter had likeable and believable characters... this is just stupid.

It's like Mark Millar wrote this when he was a 13 year old boy and didn't bother to edit it since then, only a child would think this was cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 13 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
I found this very disappointing as I have most of Millar's other work. It all seems to be aimed at the pubescent male who is angry with his life, his parents, his biology, and woman-kind. The wannabe gangsters. The jokes are obvious, the action is predictable, the characters are two dimensional. Its not an intelligent read. Even the surprise ending was rubbish.

I am left wondering how on Earth he manages to sell these stories to the film industry.

I think this is the last Millar I will buy. Shame, as he works with great artists and the art in this is amazing (hence two stars).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They turn this into a film., 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
Seen the film great so now got the graph novel to read and see if it better or not well still reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why you should buy this:, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
I'm going to be quick.

1st - This is better and very different from the movie.
2nd - It's a very original story.
3rd - After reading this comic you will stay with the story in your head for a few days and you will keep thinking about some subjects as for exemple good and evil.

I got the tell you, when I finished the very first time that I read 'WANTED' I liked it but I dind't love it as I wanted to. However, I've noticed that the the story kept in my mind over the past weeks and that's when I realized how much I liked it.
Highly recomended, with no doubt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
Wasn't anything like the film but enjoyable none the less! Worth what I paid and found it difficult to find at bookstores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great comic, unfortunately ruined by some colour spills, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
Wanted was a brilliant comic, but unfortunately my copy was ruined by some colour spills on a couple of pages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up!, 8 April 2012
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
Some works move you, some works give you pause for thought. This one spits in your face then tells you to cut your hair and get a job. But you could just follow along passively as a good little reader and enjoy this entertaining romp. It has a great hook after all.

What would happen if super villains took over the world? Not the one dimensional, death-ray constructing, megalomaniacs of other comics but cold, calculating, Machiavellian minds. It certainly makes for an interesting place. Then what would happen if Average Joe Loser woke up to find himself head super villain. Ultimate power and NO responsibility. Hell yeah!

An enjoyable story but who is it really about? In the words of Spartacus "I'm Wesley Gibson." "No, I'M Wesley Gibson!" Mark Millar could very well be our new Jonathan Swift. A really cracking read with excellent art! Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the feint hearted ....., 3 Sep 2011
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
If you are looking for this graphic novel because you enjoyed the movie - Don't bother!! The movie is an appalling adaptation of this fantastic novel, there is no point in comparing them so I won't bother.

Wanted asks the question, 'what would you do if all social norms were thrown out of the window, if there would be no repercussions for your actions and if you were offered the chance to have or do everything you ever wanted'. It is dark and thought provoking and I feel that Millar tests the outer limits of acceptability. This is not in anyway a criticism, Wanted is a perfect example of how violence and discrimination can be explored in an intelligent way.

The graphics are strong and clear and reference the style of contemporary superhero graphic novels. The characters are well conceived, and the attention to detail makes it so enjoyable to read.

Wanted is a great story, with some of the best (and creepiest) characters around but it's main strength is that it makes you think long after you put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wanted
Wanted by J.G. Jones (Paperback - 27 May 2008)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews