Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most vulgar, adrenaliine twisted amazing comic book out there!
The front cover of this comic book, is a big F*** you to the film basically, so do not be put off by the cover. The realy story is about a bunch of crooked criminals that have taken over then world and this young boy in the middle of it has the best super power of all of them and he doesn't even know it yet!!

Just wait and see what it is! A totally...
Published 13 months ago by Cheese time

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, good illustrations, but frankly, the film is better
I'd best get ready for the hate mail.

This is OK. Great drawings, very little attempt at getting coherency into the story. Startlingly violent and foul language as you'd expect.

The real problem is the lack of a coherent string to the story. It's as if huge swathes are missing.

As a result, for me, the film, for all its faults and...
Published 4 months ago by harpoon guns to 'safe', please


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Totally Different from the Movie, 2 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
Don't be misled by the cover of this graphic novel, it has very little to do with the film besides the character names. If you are just looking for a comic version of the film you will disappointed, but if you are looking for a witty original comic you might not be.

Readers should be warned that this comic is aimed at adults, and is even more violent and politically incorrect than Mark Millar's other works. This doesn't stop it being quite good fun even when it is clearly in deliberately poor taste.

Wanted tells the story of Wesley Gibson, an average loser who one day discovers that the world is run by supervillains and that he has the chance to become one of them. This makes for a clever new take on the traditional superhero genre. None of the characters in this story are particularly likeable, but that seems sort of the point since they are meant to be the bad guys.

While some have suggested that this is just an adolescent fantasy where the (anti)hero can sleep with any woman and kill whoever he wants, by the end of this we see that Millar is actually trying to tell us something about our world. The message here is that a world in which a privileged elite can act with impunity while the rest of us meekley accept our lot in life looks suspiciously like our world, even if real power derives from money and not superhuman abilities. That said if you are just looking for a bit of sex and superhero violence you will still probably enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the feint hearted ....., 3 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
If you are looking for this graphic novel because you enjoyed the movie - Don't bother!! The movie is an appalling adaptation of this fantastic novel, there is no point in comparing them so I won't bother.

Wanted asks the question, 'what would you do if all social norms were thrown out of the window, if there would be no repercussions for your actions and if you were offered the chance to have or do everything you ever wanted'. It is dark and thought provoking and I feel that Millar tests the outer limits of acceptability. This is not in anyway a criticism, Wanted is a perfect example of how violence and discrimination can be explored in an intelligent way.

The graphics are strong and clear and reference the style of contemporary superhero graphic novels. The characters are well conceived, and the attention to detail makes it so enjoyable to read.

Wanted is a great story, with some of the best (and creepiest) characters around but it's main strength is that it makes you think long after you put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up!, 8 April 2012
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
Some works move you, some works give you pause for thought. This one spits in your face then tells you to cut your hair and get a job. But you could just follow along passively as a good little reader and enjoy this entertaining romp. It has a great hook after all.

What would happen if super villains took over the world? Not the one dimensional, death-ray constructing, megalomaniacs of other comics but cold, calculating, Machiavellian minds. It certainly makes for an interesting place. Then what would happen if Average Joe Loser woke up to find himself head super villain. Ultimate power and NO responsibility. Hell yeah!

An enjoyable story but who is it really about? In the words of Spartacus "I'm Wesley Gibson." "No, I'M Wesley Gibson!" Mark Millar could very well be our new Jonathan Swift. A really cracking read with excellent art! Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Above standard artwork .... Sub-par and weak storyline, 27 Jun. 2008
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777 - Born again Diver" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
The book comes as a bit of a surprise as it's the artwork that is exceptional and the story is what lets it down. Additionally the book or rather the story finishes 3/4 of the way through. The rest of the book is editors commentary , artwork, snapshots, synopsis of various things. In other words it's bulked out :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 3 July 2008
By 
A. Kaye (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
I was looking forward to reading this and I haven't yet seen the film but I was left very let down. The story is intriguing and the artwork is excellent and I get the point of the story ( wishing you were someone else/somewhere else etc ) but at the end of the story the characters are very one-dimensional, you don't really care for them and whether they succeed or fail. The story is pretty hollow and it just never really goes anywhere. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why you should buy this:, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
I'm going to be quick.

1st - This is better and very different from the movie.
2nd - It's a very original story.
3rd - After reading this comic you will stay with the story in your head for a few days and you will keep thinking about some subjects as for exemple good and evil.

I got the tell you, when I finished the very first time that I read 'WANTED' I liked it but I dind't love it as I wanted to. However, I've noticed that the the story kept in my mind over the past weeks and that's when I realized how much I liked it.
Highly recomended, with no doubt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 13 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
I found this very disappointing as I have most of Millar's other work. It all seems to be aimed at the pubescent male who is angry with his life, his parents, his biology, and woman-kind. The wannabe gangsters. The jokes are obvious, the action is predictable, the characters are two dimensional. Its not an intelligent read. Even the surprise ending was rubbish.

I am left wondering how on Earth he manages to sell these stories to the film industry.

I think this is the last Millar I will buy. Shame, as he works with great artists and the art in this is amazing (hence two stars).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how to be a super villain, 26 Mar. 2008
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
A collected edition of a comic mini series [telling a complete story over six issues] about wesley gibson. an average man leading a downtrodden life wesley thinks he should be doing far more. his life is turned upside down one day when a lady reveals to him that he is the son of a supervillain, and that a group of them secretly rule the world. Wesley gets the chance to follow in his late father's footsteps and become far more in control of his life than before. but will other supervillains let him live happily ever after?

And just who did kill his father?

This comic is strictly for adults only, language violence and the like making it such. And as a result it is not for the easily offended.

But it's never as gratuituous as it could be. the point of is not about wesley getting to be bad, it's about him taking control of his life. and the book does gets this point over well. It's a hugely entertaining read, thanks to great characterisation and plotting, and it does make you think.

The artwork from JG Jones is superb.

The collection also contains the wanted dossier, a one off comic originally published separately. this shows a lot of the covers and original art from the series and design for the characters and the like. this section is an interesting read, showing how it was all put together.

A good read. a real guilty pleasure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing - not worth your time, 28 Jun. 2011
By 
Mr. D. Shaw "Douglas" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
I don't mind comics with immature toilet-humour... in fact I loved Preacher, but the difference between this and Preacher is that the latter had likeable and believable characters... this is just stupid.

It's like Mark Millar wrote this when he was a 13 year old boy and didn't bother to edit it since then, only a child would think this was cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish Film - Great Book, 19 July 2010
By 
Mr. Leighton P. Jones (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
Firstly, if you are thinking about buying this only because you liked the movie - don't! They are almost completely different, and how much you enjoyed the film will have no relevance to what you think of this book. This is a book for those with a, at least basic, knowledge of the world of comic books and the concept of Super-Villains.

The plot follows a regular guy who learns he is in fact the son of a recently killed Super-Villain and is to be inducted into their secret fraternity. At first glance the story would seem just a male adolescent fantasy with loads of swearing and gratuitous violence and, although this is true, it is actually a deceptively clever book, exploring lots of different themes. It explores what might happen if Superheroes and Villains actually existed - and the bad guys won, it references the change of tone that occurred in comic books in the mid-eighties, and has parallels to books like `Fight Club' and films like `The Matrix'.

I enjoyed it. I've seen this book described as `the Watchmen for super-villains', which might be overstating the case a bit but gives you an idea of what to expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wanted
Wanted by J.G. Jones (Paperback - 27 May 2008)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews