Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off.
Firstly, DO NOT be put off reading this by the negative reviews here. It's all subjective anyway and I can understand why a few people were disappointed. Secondly, this is TOTALLY different from the film; the two do not even compare -as other reviewers have already mentioned- in quality or plot.

Working under the premise that the reader has in fact read a comic...
Published on 13 July 2011 by Mr. A. S. Zahedi

versus
10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not vintage
I'm a big fan of the sick, gory, lurid and depraved but Wanted just seems to be trying a bit too hard. Characters are constantly casually killing innocent bystanders, mentioning recent rapes they've enjoyed, tossing around photos of child murders, but it's not really disturbing or sinister, just... desperate. I think maybe Millar's just too nice a guy to write this sort...
Published on 13 Oct 2005 by Black Mask


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off., 13 July 2011
By 
Mr. A. S. Zahedi (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
Firstly, DO NOT be put off reading this by the negative reviews here. It's all subjective anyway and I can understand why a few people were disappointed. Secondly, this is TOTALLY different from the film; the two do not even compare -as other reviewers have already mentioned- in quality or plot.

Working under the premise that the reader has in fact read a comic book and is aware of basic plot sequence, Wanted is a truly brilliant piece of work. Without divulging too much information, you are essentially presented with a complete subversion of the typical comic; Super-villains have replaced superheroes and rule the world from the shadows.

READ THIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most vulgar, adrenaliine twisted amazing comic book out there!, 4 Jun 2014
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
The front cover of this comic book, is a big F*** you to the film basically, so do not be put off by the cover. The realy story is about a bunch of crooked criminals that have taken over then world and this young boy in the middle of it has the best super power of all of them and he doesn't even know it yet!!

Just wait and see what it is! A totally unpredictable story and worth reading again and again!

I recommend this to everyone! A must read, even if it's just something to talk about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cool book, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
I bought this for my husband's birthday and ended up reading it before he did... Cool book. Liked the story but didn't "love it". Still recommend it though! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 29 Aug 2013
By 
D. Burkmar (hampshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
If you have already seen the film then you will find this to be very far from what you already know about the story, but it is still very good, and being a mark millar fan, this is a must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the elements of a classic, 25 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
Some people are never pleased and they always point out some kind of flaw and this book does have a couple.
But for me it's all about suspending disbelief for a while and wishing you were somewhere else and someone else. Surely as comic book readers we all wished our parents had super powers and had passed them onto us. Surely we all wish that we could escape the mundane 9 to 5 routine...and this book tells that story with a good measure of hero double crossing and novel concepts thrown in. The plot is solid and keeps you gripped until the end. Not my chosen style of art work but good enough and more than compensated, as I say, by the plot. Definitely worth purchasing. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Suprised!, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
I've read a few reviews before buying this. There's not to many good reviews out there honestly. Like many others I watched the movie first and wanting to read the original piece. Unlikely many others though, I loved both the comic and movie. I dont see the shock value that others see however as a lot is done in such a way that u dont see the really bad stuff mentioned (e.g. rapes etc.), and honestly I think if villians really did rule the world they wont satisfy themselves with stealing old woman's handbags. My only complaint is there is no sequels or that its pretty short which fair enough is to be expected from a Millar comic. Either way I loved it, and hopefully another gets made though I'm not sure what direction that could go into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Kick Ass, you'll love this book..., 30 Nov 2011
By 
Bryan (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
Mark Millar's Wanted ticks all the right boxes. The story makes a good read, the artwork from JG Jones and Paul Mounts is visually beautiful and as a graphic novel is perfectly presented. The graphic collects the six-part series of Wanted originally produced by Top Cow and includes the Wanted Dossier, which introduces the main characters with some beautiful artwork by JG Jones, Jae Lee, Frank Quitely and Brian Michael Bendis, to name just a few.
The story itself tells of the fall-out following the death of the Superheroes in 1986, by the Supervillains, and the subsequent death of The Killer and the rise of Wesley Gibson following in his father's footsteps. The Supervillains rule from behind the scenes but Mister Rictus wants that to end. The story comes to a head after a massacre of the Supervillains and a revelation which ensures the destiny of Wesley Gibson.
Throughout the novel, there are hints to the Superheroes we are familiar with - Thor, Wonder Woman, Black Widow - but the best hint comes in the form of Adam West and Burt Ward, who played Batman and Robin in the 60's tv series, and their fate with "a good old-fashioned supervillain death trap", old chum.
Great stuff and a brilliant read. Maybe a sequel?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not vintage, 13 Oct 2005
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of the sick, gory, lurid and depraved but Wanted just seems to be trying a bit too hard. Characters are constantly casually killing innocent bystanders, mentioning recent rapes they've enjoyed, tossing around photos of child murders, but it's not really disturbing or sinister, just... desperate. I think maybe Millar's just too nice a guy to write this sort of stuff. The emotional interplay between some of these degenerate characters is just ludicrous. He's trying for Jim Thompson but it comes over more like a teenager swearing in front of an elderly aunt. The 'dangerous' pay-off is a bit much to take, as well, considering Millar will already have your money in his wallet by the time you read it. It's a fun, schlocky read but taking itself a bit too seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What is this I don't even..., 29 Oct 2011
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
I saw the film adaptation first. It pretty much sucked. Sure it had it's moments but mile-a-minute thrill ride it ain't.

The only reason I bought the book was I happened to be in a shop and it was in a buy 2 get 1 free offer and this was the only thing that really interested me having bought all the good ones in the offer. It's not the first time I've seen a film then read the graphic novel (in fact a large amount of my graphic novels have had film adaptions at some point) and they were mostly good so I bought it.

It took me well over a year to bring myself to read it and I can honestly say I haven't the faintest idea how anyone read this book and turned it into that film. Literally NO idea. It starts off pretty much the same way, dumb kid hates life meets weird woman joins fraternity quits job. Done. That's where the similarities end.

Forget 'assassins' try interdimensional supervillains. I'd say more about the plot but really it's just cruel to do so. I read this whole book and could scarcely believe what I was reading. It is some kind of brilliance and why they churned out the god-awful film with the same name I will never understand.

This book is WELL worth buying and reading if just for the 'what did I just read' factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Completely different to the movie, 11 Jun 2009
This review is from: Wanted (Paperback)
Completely different to the movie, this is a black novel with nihilistic overtones and set in a world where the superheroes lost and the supervillains won.

Inverting the trope of the hero destined for greatness but ignorant of his past, Wesley Gibson is a corporate drone with a girlfriend who has sex with anyone but him, a boss who dominates him in every way and who takes everything that life throws at him without a complaint - until the day the Fox, a stunningly beautiful woman arrives to shoot up a sandwich shop and take him away from his life. Wesley discovers that his father was the Killer, a vicious supervillain, and that he's inherited his father's killing abilities. With the help of the Fox and the Professor, he rids himself of his conscience and inhibitions to assume his father's role. However as he sinks deeper into a world of violence and deprivation, questions start to rise as to who was responsible for his father's murder and Wesley begins to have doubts about the world he's joined.

There are some wonderfully dark ideas at work here - particularly some of the villains, including one made from the faeces of the 666 worst humans in history and the cloned Down's Syndrome brother of a well-known superhero. Millar, Jones and Mounts take obvious glee in their world and there is a lot of violence on show here.

Although lip service is played to Wesley having doubts about his new life, there is little real emotional depth to this novel so if you're looking for something more sophisticated, this isn't for you. Despite some nice touches of black humour, the bleakness can be a little wearying at times and I'd have liked to see more about the inter-dimensional element to the storyline.

It's not a bad read but lacks the complexity to make it a truly great graphic novel. Still, it's worth checking out and personally, I found it a lot more interesting than the movie adaptation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wanted
Wanted by J.G. Jones (Paperback - 27 May 2008)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews