Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Autumn or Fall, equally amazing
The first thing that strikes you about Mouse Guard is the amazing artwork. The combined forces of the inked linework and the traditional-looking colours lend the book a quietly brooding atmosphere, infused with the colours of autumn. The pace of the story is easy, giving each scene the time that it needs to breath.

To say it's basically about mice with swords...
Published on 16 Aug 2009 by Lloyd Ash Pyne

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Torn
I'm torn about this. It does look beautiful, especially in the scenes where it is raining. But as far as storytelling goes the drawings aren't really very coherent, it's often difficult to tell what is exactly happening, and to whom. The story is ok, it obviously has influences in other adventure and fantasy stories like The Three Musketeers and Lord of the Rings, and it...
Published 7 months ago by ADAM


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Autumn or Fall, equally amazing, 16 Aug 2009
This review is from: Mouse Guard: Autumn 1152 (Hardcover)
The first thing that strikes you about Mouse Guard is the amazing artwork. The combined forces of the inked linework and the traditional-looking colours lend the book a quietly brooding atmosphere, infused with the colours of autumn. The pace of the story is easy, giving each scene the time that it needs to breath.

To say it's basically about mice with swords wouldn't do it justice (though it sounds pretty cool), because there's a fully realised world behind all that, with so much more to the mice way of life and the Mouse Guard themselves that it's more a story about comradery in the face of danger - the dangers faced by the companions who comprise the heroes of the tale to the greater dangers faced by the entirety of mousedom.

It's a tale with honour and heroism faced against dark deeds, but it's down to earth aswell and it's easy to care what happens to the mice.

The characters feel real and well rounded. The world also, with different mice exercising their different opinions on how to face the threats they all .. um ..face.

This has become a fond favourite and I can't wait for the next installment. In the meantime I'll have to content myself with the wealth of information about the world contained in the Mouse Guard RPG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 8 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mouse Guard: Autumn 1152 (Hardcover)
like i said

mr petersen has an ability to create from the mouses point of view! outstanding story line (please someone tell me when volume 2 is out?) but it is the stunning art style that i particularly like. Each picture can absorb you for a good time. it is also particularly refreshing to read a title that isnt grim! i have two copies, one for me and one that i let my daughter read! i file it between the lovely silent owly and the slaine the horned god
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little book., 18 Jan 2008
This review is from: Mouse Guard: Autumn 1152 (Hardcover)
Filled with stunning, evocative images (both the drawing and colouring are superb) that create a fully developed world and atmosphere for the very well written characters to `live' within. Comparisons with Lord of the Rings are easy to slip into, but there is as much of a flavour of The Three Musketeers in here.

The hardback, slightly square format gives a -literally - different feel that all helps create the impression that this book is something special. The author has clearly poured a lot of love and life into creating this and the publisher seems to have recognised this will be something to cherish and have given it the right level of production.

If I have one complaint it would be that it is too long to wait for the next edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 15 Aug 2010
By 
Andrew Kyle "Fangg" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mouse Guard: Autumn 1152 (Hardcover)
Not normally a graphic novel person, i'll admit, but this is something else. Rivalling Lord of the Rings in terms of epic imagination and stunning involvement, you truly are taken into the world of the Guard Mice in this, the first of what i hope to be a sprawling set of books numbering way into the future. The mice are so rounded, the plot so enveloping, the setting so spanning. So kudos, as a book. But as a graphic novel; wow. The art is SO good you find yourself questioning things you've seen before, elsewhere. Each tiny expression, each picture is a dream. "Camera angles" so well chosen and message-delivering, sprawling vistas or close up details. A true expression of genius. I was SO impressed.

Theres simply no other way to put it. You HAVE to read this. And all that follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best Graphic novels I've ever read! (though I am a novice ), 2 Dec 2007
This review is from: Mouse Guard: Autumn 1152 (Hardcover)
as I said am a novice, I've read some of the classics, watchmen, dark Knight returns, LXG and V for vendetta, I would say mouse gruad rivals these, because....

1 the art work is astounding, beautiful always, epic often, savage occasionally. It is akin to those wonderful childrens books we would read with are mothers.

2 the story is captivating I couldn't put it down (I even took it to the toilet with me. narratively the book keeps to the essentials , we get sense the characters very quickly, even see them develop. the world we see is highly original and fascinating (see it for yourself) It should appeal to people of any age child, teen or adult.

It is a bit too mutch to hope that it will join the golden classics, but I hope and pray that it will become a sliver classic of the genre. that said it is mature enough that one can enjoy it without ever having read another graphic,

I hope there is more to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Torn, 9 May 2014
This review is from: Mouse Guard: Autumn 1152 (Hardcover)
I'm torn about this. It does look beautiful, especially in the scenes where it is raining. But as far as storytelling goes the drawings aren't really very coherent, it's often difficult to tell what is exactly happening, and to whom. The story is ok, it obviously has influences in other adventure and fantasy stories like The Three Musketeers and Lord of the Rings, and it builds up the characters quite nicely. The writing and dialogue is understandable but appears quite to the point and dry.

All in all I found it worth reading, i could see it appealing to a younger audience. But overall it gave me the impression that the author was still finding his feet in the medium, if so he has huge potential and I'll look forward to his future work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeously illustrated adventure, 4 May 2012
This review is from: Mouse Guard: Autumn 1152 (Hardcover)
I was familiar with the Mouse Guard illustrations having excerpts before finally buying the book. Am glad I waited because this story is such a compulsive read it is hard to imagine having to wait to get the next installment! My one suggestion would be that they might consider putting supplementary material like the maps and the different trades at the front of the book rather than the back. I found that on re-read they very much enriched the tale. Excellent story, fantastic artwork and I will definitely be looking out for the next books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 20 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mouse Guard: Autumn 1152 (Hardcover)
I found this while searching for a mouse pad! Pure curiosity made me look inside and thirty seconds later I had bought the book. I had never heard of Mr Petersen before or seen any of his work but I was instantly hooked the expressions of the mice, the beautiful colouring and the consistency with which the world is imagined. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Joy!, 20 Oct 2007
This review is from: Mouse Guard: Autumn 1152 (Hardcover)
The drawings in this graphic novel are absolutely superb, the look of steely determination on Lieams face as he shapes up to tackle the serpent single-handedly is one that you will return to again and again. The story is beautifully realised, the world created is believable, and the characters completely identifiable with (especially if you're a mouse!). It is a tribute to this book, and no accident, that it is available in the bookshop of Tate Modern. Buy it now, or have your life remain an empty mockery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love all of the Mouse Guard books they are wonderful ..., 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mouse Guard: Autumn 1152 (Hardcover)
Love all of the Mouse Guard books they are wonderful for all ages. This stunning illustrated volume is suitable for all ages and is an adventure story that will keep you turning the pages. Great as a stand alone story and highly recommended for anyone who wants to play Mouse Guard as a roleplaying game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mouse Guard: Autumn 1152
Mouse Guard: Autumn 1152 by David Petersen (Hardcover - 28 Sep 2007)
£11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews